Working with artistic family and small farm, Jokkmokk, Sweden

  • Schweden
  • Bisher 53 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 30 Sept. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    We are a Swedish/Sámi and French/Breton family living in the center of the beautiful Lapland. We speak mostly swedish in the house, but also french and some sámi. Would be nice of you speak french and english and wants to learn some swedish or sámi language while you are here.

    We are a family with 2 adults and 1 child (10 years) with 2 dogs and some sheep- living in Lapland at the countryside surrounded by forest, moors and with a lake in front of the house. Our place is really beautiful and offers a lot of peace. There are hiking trails directly behind the house and more around the area. Canoeing, fishing and bathing in the area are other activities you could do in your free time. Cycling too.

    In our family we spend a lot of time outdoors with the animals, or in artistic project as well as officework.
    I am a freelance artist and writer and have a collection of different instruments if you like to play (piano, guitars, accordions, flutes, framedrums and more.) We also like to do some crafting, scetching or painting, fishing, talking or watch movies.

    We like to cook at home, both meat and vegetarian meals, and we eat together in the evenings. One favorite is of course the Bretonic crêpes. Besides from cooking and daily life-routines at the house we need some help with the animals, building fences, and making family activities with our child.

    Also we have the wish to grow some vegetables and flowers in our garden, or make suryp or tea from the flowers and berries we find in the forest and the moor during summertime.

    I have a very sensitive nose and react to strong fragrances, especially artificial ones but also to certain natural ones. The best thing is to leave perfumed products and incense sticks at home right from the beginning. This also applies to perfume in shampoos, shower gels or especially perfumed washingpowders. This is very, very, very important, so please take this seriously.

    Our closest town is Jokkmokk, with basic shops, some restaurants and of course the museum: Ájtte, sámi and mountain-museum. There are also a lot of handcraft, swedish as well as sámi, and outdoor-activities for you who are intrerested.

    I work half-time in the house and some times on tour. My partner works full time at an office, fixes a lot on our cars and vehicles and also with local politics. We have two cars, so if you have a driver-license you could make some shorter trips as well. There are also buses and trains that passes Jokkmokk quite frequently. You will have your own room in the house or in a caravan next to our house.

    The experience is suited if you can recognize yourself as a person who:
    - Appreciate living close to nature.
    - Have some experience of building, children and animals. 
    - Enjoy your own company and doing things on your own in your free time, but still sociable.
    - Know how to clean and cook basic dishes.
    - Are self-going and can identify what needs to be done. 

    If you are this person please apply now!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You'll have the experience of being part of a french/sámi/swedish family and life above the Polar circle. Learning some Swedish or other languages. Meeting the nature in times of midnight sun, mosquitos, flowers and fruit that we can pick. Being close to animals and nature in a quiet place. (Hardly no traffic or artificial light or sounds). You'll have some nice time of your own if you want to write, study or do arts. We also welcome digital nomads.

  • Arbeit


    The main task is fixing things, animal care and some building of fences and spaces for the animals alone or together with us. Sometimes walking the dogs, spending time with our family on hiking and other outdoor activities. We also appreciate help with gardening and the major cleaning in the home as well as cooking.

    We need you to be self going.

    The helping hours are 25 hours per week. It's possible to help more some days and get an extra day off or to reduce the amount of hours and work more days a week. We want to take your needs into consideration and make your stay as pleasant as possible. Some of the housework is normal daily activities (as human), so cooking and cleaning your room will not be considered as working time. We take turns and help each other with the household.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend
    Sami: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We are used to teach and support someone that is learning languages. It´s a lot of fun and music can help to learn new words too. It would be nice if you speak French so that we can speak more French in the house.

  • Unterkunft


    You´ ll have your own caravan here at our place. With beds, table, sofas and small cabinets. There is electricity and a heat-system if needed. If you like to bring your own tent for camping there is also a lot of space around the house. You can also stay in your own camper van if you wish, we provide you with electricity and you'll share bathroom and kitchen with us.

    Our house is quite small, with three rooms and a kitchen. We all share the kitchen which serves as “living-room” (as well as the garden and the small forest behind the house.) You share with us a small bathroom and then a simple shower in the basement, where we also have a washing machine and a dryer. We also take baths in the close-by lake in summer or goes to the outdoor swimming-pool in Jokkmokk, that also have saunas.

    The internet connection is good, not perfect in the caravan, but very good in the house and outside too.
    We are non-smokers, and if you smoke you are welcome to do it outside.

    Very important: You need to be perfume-free a while before your stay and during your stay with us. We have a glass of wine occasionally, but no parties in the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Travel to Jokkmokk (around 2500 habitants) is easiest done by train from Stockholm. Book by traincompany. Just add Jokkmokk as your destination. You arrive by bus or train to Jokkmokk, and we´ll be happy to pick you up. Our place (2 habitants and some summercabins) is 15 kilometers outside the town. It´s a good road for biking too, and you can borrow a bike or car sometimes during your stay.

    If you come by plane you land in Kallax/Luleå and then take a bus to Jokkmokk (around 3 hrs).
    We prefer that you stay at least 2-3 weeks, and that same period works as a trying-period. Hopefully we click and have a good time together and you can stay longer if you wish. You must be happy being on your own at times as we only host one volunteer at the time. There are often other work-awayer´s in the area of Jokkmokk if you want to meet new people.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have good internet connection "mobilt bredband" 4G.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a lot of space around our house, so we accept camper vans of any size. Of course we provide electricity for you if you wish to stay in your camper van, instead of our caravan.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    A dog, if it's trained to accept other dogs. We have two male, friendly dogs.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 418653764857

Feedback (2)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Living in an eco-village on the island of Orust, Sweden
Dog-sitting my Newfoundland and Huskies in in Västra Götaland, Sweden