Rescue dog care and permaculture helpers welcome in Dobromirka, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgarien

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 91 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I'm Ashlee, from England, and in March 2021 I moved into a beautiful house with barns, outbuildings and two orchards (consisting of apples, pears, plums, peaches, cherries as well as walnut, elder, grapevines...), in central Bulgaria. The house is situated at the top of a hill, surrounded by fields and forests. Just one neighbour who I rarely see and whose house is not in view. It is the most southern house in the village and is in a really peaceful location, surrounded by trees and in the midst of an orchestra of birdsong. On our daily dog walks we see hares, deer, squirrels, pinemartens, buzzards and more.


    My main priorities/ projects here and in life in general are -

    - ensuring all animals have the best life possible (this includes but is not limited to the 4 rescue doggies who live at the property)
    - living sustainably and self-sufficiently, while having the lowest impact on the environment
    - creating from and within the bountiful paradise provided by nature

    Together all these things keep me alive and give me purpose. Let me elaborate :--)

    1. ANIMALS + LOVE/CARE

    There are currently 4 permanent rescue dogs resident here (furry guests are always welcome and a regular occurence) who are really good pups and all super friendly, cuddly and intelligent.
    Duponavon is from Bulgaria and is old, fat, blind, has a spinal deformity, a heart problem, farts a lot, loves eating and loves waking me up at 7am every day with his sweet morning song. Falk is nearly 5 and from sunny Cyprus. He absolutely loves adventuring and making friends, but also enjoys sleeping a lot and being wherever his mummy is (that's me!). Benjali MC (Bulgarian) is very old and some friends found him last summer, dying in the village. They kindly fixed him up and now he lives in my kitchen and sleeps for 98.3% of the day. He is so happy to have cuddles and kindness and an undisturbed place to snooze. Lady Lumpz (Bulgarian) is about 1 and is a naughty but lovable and affectionate teenager. She was left at my gate in July. She is the only female animal in the house and she loves teasing the boys. Her favourite thing to do is bark at jackals and bite other dogs legs and try to pull them out from underneath them so they collapse (it is funny).

    I really want the best life for the dogs. They live in the house, they are allowed on my bed and on the sofa and they are treated like humans (but they don't wear clothes). They generally don't go upstairs (I sleep downstairs) so don't worry if you don't want them in your bed with you! I go out twice a day for a walk and this is a big part of my daily routine. The dog walks are an amazing way to start and end my days. I care a LOT about animals and struggle emotionally when I see stray dogs so I'm always trying to care for the street dogs I see by helping them out and feeding them where I can. A lot of my money goes towards the dogs (mine and the street dogs)- defleaing them, feeding them, generally caring for them etc, and it's really important that you share my love for the furry friends. <3 <3 <3 Other animals around are insects which I welcome with open arms...... any visitor to the house will be loved and cared for (with some exceptions.... sorry Mr Mosquitoe).


    2. THE ENVIRONMENT + LOVE/CARE

    Together we can live with in harmony with nature, by treating it with the love and respect it deserves. I practise low impact living, zero waste, and I strive to be as self sufficient as possible.
    I would like the land on the House on the Hill to be providing an abundance of food for humans, animals and insects and my goals for 2022 are to -
    - increase the number of birds, bees, butterflies and insects that frequent the place
    - produce a higher yield of crops
    - expand the mushroom growing project (last year I had indoor and outdoor oyster growing projects, this year i'd like more varieties)
    - to be more creative with and waste less fruit from the orchards (of course no fruit was completely wasted as it all goes back into the system, but this year I want to make more juice, sauces, vinegars, etc)

    I don't follow any particular approach to how I utilise the land, but instead I see it all as an experiement. Over the years (I had allotments in the UK) I've developed a particular interest in gardening by the moon and I have a penchant towards permaculture. As the land is so vast, there are nooks and crannies about the place that host my various gardening experiments.
    Foraging plays a big role in my life and in the spring/summer/autumn I can eat fully from the wild and the back garden, which is quite satisfying :p


    3. CREATING CREATING CREATING

    I'm a perfomance artist (circus, physical theatre, music) and a yogi who also loves arts and crafts. I want to develop this space so that performers and artists from around the world can come and stay here for an affordable training vacation, away from the hustle and bustle of cities, finding inspiration from the fresh air, birdsong, peace, tranquility, trees etc. I've always struggled to find sufficient training space so now I want to create this for myself and others. I will get builders to turn some barns into dance/circus/yoga studios and living accomodation that is separate from the house. The idea is we can train acro, pole, aerial, yoga, and all sorts of circus disciplines. It will be available for artists of absolutely any medium to use! People can come here to work on their personal projects in a peaceful place with lots of space and inspiration. Ideally by Summer 2022 the space will be ready for visiting performers and artists of all mediums, and in the future i'd like to create a performance project where we create shows together for the local communities. Right now, if you are someone who trains a movement art, I have a studio inside the house that you are able to use. I currently use it to train circus and yoga, although the ceilings are not so high for throwing things.





    The place is situated 25 minutes by car from Veliko Turnovo , 15 minutes by car from Sevlievo, 20 minutes from Pavlikeni, and 30 minutes from Dryanovo.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    It will be a peaceful retreat where you can be creative and relaxed and work alongside nature.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Firstly, you need to love dogs and love nature!

    I live on the edge of a village in the middle of the countryside so don't come here if you want a city holiday and want to go out partying, shopping etc. You can do what you want in your free time of course but I want you to WANT to be here, in nature. Occasionally there are power cuts.... occasionally there is no water..... Please only come if you are OK with this and you are not a '2 shower a day' type of person and you enjoy playing board games by candle light.
    In keeping with my low impact living philosophies, I try to use the car once a week max, or only for emergencies, washing machine is used once a week..... you get the idea :D

    I'm looking for the right person (or couple), who wants to be here, to help me free up a bit of my own time. By myself I can spend the entire day walking the dogs and working on the house and garden, but I do need time to create/ train/ study. If you can do any of the following, and like the sound of me and my little family in our bountiful paradise, then do get in touch :)

    DAILY JOBS----- Walking dogs, cooking, cleaning, harvesting wild food (for tea, medicine, oils, dinner), watering plants/gardening

    MAY/ JUNE/ JULY------- DOGSITTING when I am away. Painting walls in house, painting signs/decorative stuff around house and garden, create a social media for The House on the Hill.

    CAN YOU BUILD? I have various PAID building opportunities for the right person. To be negotiated. :)

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Bulgarian: Gute Kenntnisse
    Niederländisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Bulgarian/ English I love languages :)

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have a nice room to yourself.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If you want to go out and about then you might need to hitch hike, i'm not sure about public transport around here. It is pretty remote (no phone signal at my house!) but it's also a very large village. I know a few people who could give you lifts into Sevlievo but I also recommend hitch hiking. There are loads of beautiful places nearby, such as Emen canyon and waterfall (10 mins away) which has caves full of bats :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I actually think this would be a great place for a digital nomad, I have high speed internet (I actually provide the electricity for the village internet transmitter as it is right next to my house).

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Get in touch for more info about this

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Yes.The more the merrier!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 393315397479