Large food forest project near Montevideo, Uruguay



Bisher 631 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung



    Are you interested in the concept of food forests on a large scale (47 hectares)?

    Are you prepared to work hard from 07.00 in the morning until 12.00 each day followed by brunch when the work is finshed? Volunteers are expected to help prepare, serve and clean up during meals. This time is not counted as the 5 hours volunteer work.

    Are you able to eat delicious and healthy food what comes from our garden (we use flour, rice, and purchased items as little as possible)?

    We are a German couple and we have lived in Uruguay since December 2008. Living with us means adapting to the hard work of a farming family. The advantages are: comfortable accomodation, a family atmosphere, free afternoons and evenings, wifi, access to a nearby town (Atlantida next to the beach), access to domestic animals, a swimming pool and two horses.

    Work on this farm starts early. You will help clean the areas where the animals eat and help feed them and take them to pasture. You will then be assigned to work with one of the experienced persons on our team doing work such as mulching, watering, weeding, pruning, planting, and other tasks of the farm.

    You will not feel on holiday. You will feel like a farm hand working hard. You will feel tired at the end of each day but you will have worked outdoors and in nature using your hands. If you understand and look for the satisfaction of this experience then we welcome you. You will also learn about gardening and farming, about different species of plants, about insects and about organic farming. But this is not a course and you will learn slowly. Ideally we are looking for people who will stay a minimum of 2 weeks with us so that you can learn and so that we can benefit from the training and teaching we give you.

    We work hard and expect others to work hard as well. We have a lot of experience and expect those who come here to be self-motivated and looking to learn, but we require that you adapt to us and our working methods as we cannot adapt to each person that volunteers with us.

    If you have previous gardening or farming experience this would be a plus. Spanish or German is absolutely necessary, as one of us doesn´t speak English. If you have a skill such as carpentry or as an electrician or construction worker we would also be happy to receive you as there are always things to fix and/or build around the farm. Also if you know how to paint is very helpful for us.

    Please do not come here just to have a landing place in Uruguay or South America or a holiday as you will be wasting your time and ours. We are looking for people who want to work hard and to learn something about permaculture and organic farming. If you have the right intention you will get a lot out of this experience.

    You will need rain gear, rubber boots for working in muddy and wet conditions and gardening gloves.

    We also always need people with experience in house maintaining and reparations. Currently (June2020) we need people with experiences in bio-construction because we have a small building project going on!

    We look forward to welcoming you.

    Uta and Fred

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We can show how it is to be self sufficient and how to live from your own production, we want to show a new (the old) way of agriculture and we think food forests are the solution of the world hunger problem. But it is not easy to live with what you have, without needing a lot of stuff from the supermarket and we can show how it is possible, after living a few weeks with us you will have many new ideas about living from and with nature and you can make your own decisions about your future lifestyle.

  • Arbeit


    Typical help includes weeding, harvesting fruits, mulching, pruning, and planting vegetables and fruits. Working time is around 5 hours per day and the schedule changes according to the season, we try not to work during the hottest part of the day in the summer. After work we have a brunch and clean and then the volunteer has free time. In the evening we usually cook an early dinner together. In your free time you can use the facilities of the house or invent activities that suit you (making a bonfire, cooking outdoor, singing, meditating, doing yoga or sports, using the horses, playing ping-pong, swimming etc).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We have two sets of very nice acommodations for volunteers. One is an apartment with two rooms, bathroom, kitchen and stove. The other is a large room with a private bathroom and two beds. We have a swimming pool . Two horses for riding in free time.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Uruguay has one of the most beautiful skies at night and you are living in a very quiet area with only the sounds of nature around you. There are wonderful horseback rides and we also have a swimming pool. The next town is 5 kilometers away with beautiful beaches and a lot of things to see. Montevideo, the Uruguayan capital is one hour away by bus.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    no more than 5 hours, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 391346364959