Help build our off-grid finca and take care of our animals in Matarraña, rural Spain

  • Spanien
  • Bisher 150 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 16 März 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat



  • Beschreibung


    We are Simone and Julie, a German and French couple who chose to build our little off-grid finca in rural Spain, with a permaculture garden, fruit trees, and a straw bale house with dry toilet and grey water recycling. We moved here at the end of 2020 and have already set up a lot of the initial infrastructure. We have a small house where we both live at the moment, with electricity, decent internet connection, and (limited) running water.
    We are building our home on six hectares of olive and almond orchards and woodland and always have big or small projects going on. We have three adopted dogs, five cats, a few chickens, a small vegetable garden and a some young fruit trees. We both volunteer at the local animal shelter, mainly with communication, the website , and we sometimes foster dogs in our home.
    Our place is around 2 km from the nearest village, set in the beautiful landscape of the Matarraña, with old olive trees and amazing views of Els Ports natural park. What you hear when you wake up in the morning is our rooster crowing, the birds in the trees, the bells worn by the nearby cows, and maybe the tractor of one of the small farmers from the village driving to work.

    We have a lot of respect for any life so we eat almost exclusively plant-based food, although we do eat the eggs from our own happy adopted chickens.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will see an alternative lifestyle in rural Spain, learn about water recycling, gardening, building, olive cultivation, enjoy some peace and quiet in nature, and probably get an impression of animal rescue and shelter work.

  • Arbeit


    The main area where we need help right now is taking care of and training our pets, especially the dogs. This includes "babysitting" them so we can be more flexible leaving the place, either for going to the shops or for spending a day out with friends. It also includes walking the dogs and doing short education/training sessions with them. Ideally, you have some experience with dogs and dog training (based on positive reinforcement and team work, not punishment), or at least have an interest in learning about it.

    Aside from this main task, you might help out with other things we have going on at that time. Depending on the season and our progress with construction, that could be:
    - pruning almond or fruit trees, harvesting and processing almonds
    - watering fruit trees
    - continue refurbishing the old stone cottage where our volunteers sleep
    - rebuild dry stone walls on terraces
    - build a straw bale house
    - taking care of the chickens
    - gardening and landscaping
    - cleaning the forest area from dead wood
    - cutting firewood

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You will sleep in a little stone cottage with beds (ok for two friends or a couple), basic camping style lighting and cooking equipment, camping shower and tap, and a basic dry compost toilet outside.

    The place is cute, but really simple, you should not be afraid of the occasional bug. It can get cold at night. We provide blankets, bed sheets and a wood stove for the cooler months ;-)
    We also have space for people who might want to live in their own camper van.

    The place is set up so you are basically independent to prepare all your meals. Of course, we will give you space in the fridge in our house. And sometimes we might cook together or just share some drinks. But sometimes we also want our own space, especially in the evenings. So we are looking for independent volunteers who enjoy alone time and/or who mostly organise their own activities in their free time.

    Apart from small solar lights, there is no electricity in the volunteer accommodation. You are welcome to charge your phones and computer at our house of course. The water for cooking, drinking and shower will be provided (from the village and with your help) according to your needs :-)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    if you like hiking, you are in the right place. We have beautiful walking and hiking opportunities in the area, some of them starting right on our doorstep. A section of the Via Verde passes by the village, with beautiful views. In the warmer months, you can also visit one of the many natural pools in the rivers around here. Cretas, Calaceite and Valderrobres have cute historic centres.
    This is a rural area and public transport is very limited. You will be much more flexible if you bring your own car. However, if you don't, we will probably be able to show you some nice places using our car on your days off.
    You should not be afraid of large dogs. One of our adopted dogs is afraid of men and might bark and try to defend his territory against them. We expect our male volunteers to have a bit of patience and go along with our little introduction ritual which is necessary in the beginning so we can all relax with each other afterwards.

    Our scarcest resource is water. We have dry toilets here and we take great care to not waste anything. This means short and efficient showers, for example :-)

    Travelling to and from Cretas is easiest by car, but buses get to the nearby villages from Barcelona and Valencia, for example. We can pick you up in Valderrobres, Calaceite or other villages in the area.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have internet via a mobile contract with unlimited data. This is ok for sending some large files and for streaming of films etc. The Wifi is in our house but does not reach the volunteer cottage. If you need internet for your job, please tell us in advance, depending on your needs we will see if we can make it work.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have more than enough space for a van or caravan to stay on our land for a short time. We can help out with electricity if needed. It is better if you bring your own water, as this is a very limited resource here.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 378944836831

Feedback (6)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)

Enjoy Spanish life with our family in the countryside near Madrid, Spain
Eco family project in Pinoso, Valencia