Help me build stuff and enjoy my Quinta in Póvoa de Midões, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 13 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.09.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I'm Dylan. Hi! I live in probably one of the most beautiful places I've seen. This is a fact. For the time being I'm using my Quinta here in Portugal as a base to enjoy life when I'm not away filming music gigs which is my 'day' job. I moved here from the UK three years ago and things have been developing slowly on the land so I'm looking to pick up the pace of building and creating. I have a number of small projects I'd like to start which require more hands than just myself to complete. Basically I'm trying to build things on my own at the moment which isn't particularly efficient so I'm after some help in exchange for sharing the beautiful place I live for those looking for a break, or offering a base for someone who would like to explore more of this area of Portugal. Pictures often speak louder than words so I'll post a few to give more of an accurate feel for the place. The Quinta is located on Portugal's longest river, the Mondego, and has a private river beach.

    This isn't a project with a mission, or a business - I'm just sharing the space I live in and am pretty open to ideas about what can be done with the land. My priority for the moment is building a shelter for my caravan which will in the future host travellers from Workaway and also more long term guests who can keep an eye on the Quinta when I am not there. I also have a mobile sauna to build, an outdoor shower to construct, two ruins which will need converting, a balcony, yoga deck, new kitchen & bathroom to build, and some general landscaping, plus more I've probably not thought of yet. I'd like whoever comes here to enjoy it as much as possible so although there are some projects that need doing there will be more down time than work time. Come hangout here, you'll probably like it, I do.

    A bit more about me: I'm vegan and a raw food enthusiast. I enjoy slacklining and have two lines setup on the land. Travelling on two wheels is great, I've cycled through Europe on a few occasions. I'm always planning the next step of the revolution. I love to build stuff.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Usually a culturally diverse environment is restricted to cities and the countryside is often regarded as being more conservative. This area of Portugal is attracting people from all over the world and is therefore a host to multiple nationalities and all that they have to offer alongside the rural Portuguese community and their traditional ways of living. We're seeing a big shift back to the land at the moment with people moving here to seek out new and innovative ways of living based around self reliance and communal exchange. Local artisan and flea markets are popping up all over and provide a place for individuals to earn a living selling their creations, digital community exchange hubs are helping to keep residents connected, and communal work days on neighbouring lands are helping to keep productivity and morale high.

    I love hosting people and sharing my space for others to enjoy. Staying with me can be a great introduction to the community and the area I live. On my land travellers will have a space to relax in a beautiful natural environment. I can share my knowledge of campervan conversions (check out 'The Sprinter Guy' on Facebook) for those wanting to learn how to build their own DIY campervan. I can also share information and experiences of my usual job of concert touring video direction having toured the World many times over with artists including but not limited to Beyoncé, Rolling Stones, P!nk, Mumford & Sons, Gorillaz, Tame Impala, Arctic Monkeys, Bastille, Queens Of The Stone Age.

    This is a place for people to simply 'be'. Or it's a place to to hang out, somewhere to have fun, somewhere without any obligations. I enjoy having people around and people always enjoy being here.

    I'm a native English speaker so anyone wanting to improve on their English language can practice here with me.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Hands on skills or an enthusiasm for practical tasks is really needed right now. I have no formal training with building stuff but I have a basic knowledge of how to build a structure that won't fall down and I've converted a number of panel vans into campervans to a high specification as a professional business. I'm happy to lead some of the building projects that need doing but anyone with carpentry or building skills would be a valuable addition to me right now. Like I said above, I really need to build a caravan shelter as a matter of priority so this will be the first thing I need help with.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I would love to be able to speak Portuguese. I am learning, slowly... I can offer English lessons in exchange for Portuguese lessons!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Once the caravan shelter is finished that will be the main accommodation for travellers but in the meantime I have a bell tent which can be setup on the land or there is space for own tents and vans. There is a toilet and shower in the main house as well as compost toilet on the land.

    I will supply ingredients for all food throughout a persons stay on work days. I'm up for communal cooking and eating as well as private cooking. Open to discussion and ideas regarding meals as and when is necessary. Fridge is usually stocked with cold beer.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is a good place to relax and recharge. There's also local yoga classes available, endless river activities and hikes nearby, mountains and gorges to visit; basically anything nature related.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    My internet connection isn't great but I'm working on having fibre installed. It's currently operating from a dongle which sometimes works well and sometimes struggles. I usually am able to have Zoom meetings but on the odd occasion the internet doesn't like Zoom I go to the local cafe and use theirs.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Yeah I definitely have space for a few campervans! I love vans, I actually convert them as a side project!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dogs with travellers are welcome if living in their own accommodation such as a van or tent :)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 366472162466