Join our family and help us to restore our Dutch farmhouse in Lutjewinkel, Netherlands




Bisher 365 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    95.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    We are a family of three (mother with adult daughter and son) following our dream having bought a 170 year old traditional Dutch farmhouse (stolp). We really fell in love with the place. The house is at the end of a road and in the middle of the fields. Peace and quiet and privacy all around. It's one of the few places in Holland where you can still see a lot of stars at night!
    After buying the house we discovered there were a lot more problems than we were initially aware of: the roof leaked in several places, there were rotten floors, and we have had to deal with tons and tons of junk and unexpected amounts of asbestos.
    We have worked really hard and many friends have helped us but this project is far from being finished. We started a little vegetable garden and have some happy chickens who run free on the farm and provide us with eggs every day.
    Soon after we moved in our husband and father died unexpectedly. He loved looking after the garden and the chickens. We are trying to move on but miss him a lot!
    At the weekends we are all at home, but during the week we are often away at work. That means we need you to be trustworthy and to be able to work independently. It also means there are days when you get to enjoy our beautiful house all on your own.
    There is limited public transport but we can pick you up at the station on arrival and there are bikes you can use.
    We live a quiet life and welcome like-minded people.

    Unfortunately we find we are unable to cater for special diets, so although we applaud the concept of veganism and sympathise with those with food allergies we cannot offer you a place to stay if you are vegan or have a food allergy.

    Besides Dutch we also speak fluent English and French and some German.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We speak French and English so conversation should be easy. We are good cooks (largely vegetarian). Our mother teaches celtic design drawing and can give you lessons in this technique when she is not working.
    If you are interested in learning about tree pruning/gardening/growing vegetables/beekeeping Ioanna would be glad to pass her skills on to you.
    We have four lovely cats, so sorry no dogs allowed.

  • Arbeit


    A contractor is helping us with structural tasks, but we are doing the finishing touches ourselves and could use some help.
    Anyone skilled in carpentry, (basic) plumbing, gardening, painting and decorating is welcome.
    We could use help in the garden, digging out trees and preparing the soil for planting grass, laying garden tiles etc.
    We could use help with painting, both inside and outside, wood and stone.
    We need people who can help do up the bathrooms; they have basic plumbing but the toilets and showers need updating. Ideally we would like to finish the bathroom with natural clay plaster - so we would love to learn this from someone who has experience with clay plastering.
    The entire first floor is empty, there we have started building and insulating bedrooms and could use help with finishing these off.
    There is enough to do ;-) we would like to discuss what your skills are and what our ideas are.
    We are cat lovers - so not suitable if you're allergic to cats.
    No drug use or excessive alcohol use please.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    There is a double room in the farmhouse with an en-suite bathroom (that still needs some renovation). There is a second spacious room next to it. If there are more workawayer volunteers staying at the same time, you may have to share the bathroom with them.
    It is also possible to come with a camper/tent.
    We usually agree on a two week trial to see if we match well.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Schagen is a very nice city only 35 min bikeride away, from Schagen there are trains to Alkmaar, Amsterdam, Haarlem, Den Helder. There is a bus stop easy reachable by bike with a direct bus to alkmaar aswell.
    From Den Helder there is a ferry to Texel. Hoorn is also a very nice harbour city with a port.
    There are bikes that you could use to see the lovely countryside.
    The coastal villages and beaches of Petten, Callantsoog and Schoorl are just a bike-ride away (1 hour) to the west, and to the east are the historic cities of Enkhuizen and Medemblik.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Plenty of room around the house for a camper/tent

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 357554889933