Language Exchange and also looking for photographers/designers for projects in Salvador, Bahia, Brazil



Bisher 123 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 33 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    (Before applying check during covid19 situation, we are not hosting - be patient and things will be better soon. PLEASE DO NOT COPY AND PASTE A REQUEST TO BE HOSTED AND CHECK MY CALENDAR - I HAVE JUST UPDATED ON JULY 2021)

    " Se for de Paz, Pode Entrar...."

    Ola!! My name is Sayuri and I work as a tour guide in Salvador. I have my own little company and I am specialized in cultural tours and afro tours in town or nearby cities.

    I live with my mother (around 70 years old) in very local area, but far from old town or Barra (2 famous places to visit in town). My mother is a senior that loves to cook, talk and she is just starting to develop a better communication skills speaking English. She is very independent but a slow learner, needs help with English and a bit computer skills.
    WE love travelling - I am also an active couchsurfer in my hometown and we love learning languanges.

    I am looking for a professional help in languages, English is fine to teach my mother, but for me I prefer to speak Italian, French or Japanese.

    The help would not be more than 3 hours per day, during weekdays. you will have free weekends or we can organize the best time for both of us.

    Basically planning one or 2 classes per day, and help a bit with housework + gardening, helping my mother. The idea is that you could speak English as much as possible with her, but we can also teach you some basic Portuguese, if you want. Please do not just speak Portuguese with her, she sometimes complain that she ends up more teaching than learning English while we host... (hahahaha)

    Besides that, I might also need help with my little business in tourism, so if you are a photographer or designer, help will be also welcome!!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am a tour guide in Salvador, Bahia, so for sure I can help you to explore the city and the state of Bahia. I help, I wont guide you or privide 100% info about the city. If you are not able to read anything about Salvador, I guess it means you are not interested about our history and culture.

    Also, you will live not in a touristic place and will be able to see real life in Bahia. If you are thinking on nightlife everyday or party time - this is NOT a house for you. We are not close to the very famous party places and we all sleep quite early. You are free to take your time out party with friends, in the boehmian area is fine, but if you want to do it everyday that might make my mother worried about you coming back home, etc. I would like to avoid that kind of situation. Here in the house you are free to have your activities, but we prefer a workaway that is looking more for a family experience in Salvador.

    We live just 1 block from the beach, sunshine here is beautiful and winter is never colder than 20C. This is a very nice house for daylife activities, have a bit of local life in Bahia and explore other areas in town that is not Barra, Pelourinho and Rio Vermelho (touristic points in town)

  • Arbeit


    Ola! I live with my mother that is always trying to improve her English and I am learning French, Italian and Japanese. So anyone that is fluent in those languages and have a teaching background is welcome!

    The help we would need more in the morning, but we are flexible to let you also explore the city:
    1. Main help is teaching. I would appreciate if you prepare a lesson for my mother - basically English. She loves talking about travelling and cooking. If I am not working I would like to help with lessons preparation. Please take time to prepare the classes - I understand that it is also your vacation time, but I guess teaching needs a bit of preparation.
    2. Help a bit in the garden (mommy loves if you water her flowers) and maybe some house light cleaning (we have a cleaning lady coming once a week - so it is not a heavy cleaning, basically tiding up things around)
    3. Prepare a lesson for myself - that would be basically conversation to help me (I might not have it daily, but lets try). I prefer italian, spanish, french or Japanese lessons. We can also do the lesson as a tour in town, as I use languages to work.

    ps1: Working these chores should not take you more than 3/hours per day, 5 times a week. So you may have a free weekend to enjoy yourself in town or close in day trips.

    ps2: When we are cooking, a help is always welcome. Even if you cant cook, it is always possible to help. Please dont wait for your food to be ready like a restaurant, without being part of the house daily chores.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Japanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Private room, with limited internet (internet works near the living room). You will also have your own private bathroom - we expect that you keep both clean during your stay and before you leave.

    We will provide for sure breakfast - that is the main meal that I have at home also. Our baianese standard breakfast will include coffee, break, milk, eggs, maybe some cheese and ham and for sure fruits. My mother also likes cooking aipim, inhame and banana (you will see when you arrive). However lunch and other meals are NOT provided by us but you are more than welcome to cook in the house (ask always my mother before you start cooking).
    You will need to buy some groceries to cook, if you plan to prepare your meals at home - we share a lot of our food but we can't really provide all 3 meals for workaways. I have a very crazy schedule, most of the time you will be only with my mother at home.
    There are also lots of restaurants (some per kilo) very close to my house.. sometimes, when I am home, I prefer to eat out instead of cooking.

    My mother is a senior and retired and she has her activities (course, meeting friends, etc) - I dont want her to worry about guest meals while you are in the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    On your free time, you can explore the city touristic center (aroun 40 minutes by public transportation), enjoy the beach area or just relax at home. I am happy to help you plan your days in Bahia.

    You will have plenty of time off - we dont need more than 3 hours per day (2-3 hours of teaching and helping a little in the house - cleaning, gardening, helping with some house work in general)

    Please when you request the workaway, make sure you will have money to pay for your own expenses in town (transportion, food, etc). We share the house and our hospitality, but we expect that you have also your own money to travel.

    We are very independent, I work a lot and we expect you also to be independent in the house and city.

    Check before visa rules in Brazil and telephone sim cards, if you want to have internet in your smartphone. Brazilian rules are different from other countries. Highly recommend that you have internet to help you to explore the city and communicate with locals, if you cant speak Portuguese.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I work with tourism if there is anyone that can help with my business I would love to host them.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 348731998225