Enjoy nature and help at our home in the Poqueira valley in the Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain

Country

Spanien

new host  

Bisher 19 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I was born in Canada and grew up in England where after leaving art school I earnt my living as a school photographer, I bought my first property here in the Poqueira valley in the Sierra Nevada National Park, 20 years ago, but have only been living here permanently for 12 years, I spend my time in my organic garden and orchard, propagating my own plants to sell or out with my 2 horses in the mountains around us. I also attend flamenco classes in the village, and love to go to any musical/cultural events in the area.

    For the last three years my 93 year old mother has lived with me for the 6 winter months, since her dementia means she can no longer live on her own and needs someone nearby at all times. My partner of 20 years is Chilean but he often has to be away working which is why I now need help so that when I attend to the horses my mother is never left alone. I love the Alpjujarras with wild mountains and ancient mulepaths, small villages with Moorish archicture, mostly still unchanged by the passing of the years, eagles flying overhead, wild ibex and boar all around, shepherds still walking with their sheep.

    I particularly like this valley and its 3 villages because you can have a good life without the necessity to drive, plenty of bars, cafes, restaurants and social events nearby, fresh fish and weekly market, local bakeries and even a health shop. I do eat fish but haven't eaten meat for 46 years, although my partner does when he's home. During the summer I rent my cortijo to tourists who like to come to this area for the wonderful walking, everyone loves my garden and house which is ideally situated just outside Bubion with only a few minutes walk to the shops or 15 minutes walk to the next village Capileira. I have many repeat visitors,

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Altenpflege
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Here is a paradise for nature-lovers, both in my garden and in the spectacular countryside all around us, there are many people like us, including Spanish people who came once on holiday and then decided they wanted to live here permanently, we have friends from all over the world living in the vicinity and they care about the environment as we do, I recycle and re-use any way I can. I have had horses and mules for over 40 years, am a self-taught gardener and love sharing my knowledge and experiences. Travellers can improve their English or Spanish whilst staying here.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    What I need primarily is for someone to be in the house/garden with my mother whilst I attend to my horses, they spend the night up the hillside and if not going for a ride it takes me about an hour in the morning to collect them after breakfast and then again another hour just before dark returning them to their field each evening, this routine is 7 days a week for approximately 2 hours a day, never before 9.00am. I really hate cooking, so want someone to cook supper 5 days a week, meat-free meals only (my mother doesn't eat meat either) I would rather not have a vegan helper simply because meals would be more complicated.
    I'm looking for a friendly outgoing non-smoking female, in case my mother needs unexpected personal help and also someone who speaks and understands English, this is a necessity because of my mother's condition, however I do speak Spanish (my mother doesn't). Other hours and tasks are flexible, but mainly helping in the garden or orchard for a couple of hours a day
    p.s. my mother used to have a great sense of humour and loved meeting new people and chatting but because of the dementia she can no longer start conversations, she has a very placid, kind and tolerant nature and is still very appreciative, she was a teacher and artist all her life and still loves to sit sketching and colouring happily for hours.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    english, spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    My main house (cortijo) is 80 square meters, and is built in the traditional style with wood and stone and consists of a large open-plan kitchen, dining and living room with wood-burner, 2 double bedrooms and a shared bathroom, toilet, shower-room, travellers would be sleeping in my garage conversion (situated about 50 meters away at the entrance to my property) it's very basic but has a double-bed, cooker, microwave, fridge and television, it does not have a toilet or bathroom so they would need to share ours down in the main house, it has its own small garden and I am waiting for planning permission to enlarge it and add a bathroom.
    Suppers will be cooked by the traveller 5 nights a week and by myself 2 nights per week, other mealtimes are flexible but we normally eat leftovers, sandwiches or soup at lunchtime ( I prefer to continue working outside during the daytime) breakfasts are help-yourself, we can shop together so I can buy whatever food is required for the week, we like to have one glass of wine with supper or an extra glass on special occasions, but I do not like excessive drinking, (my grandfather was an alcoholic). Travellers are welcome to spend their free time down in the main cortijo with us or up in the studio/garage when they feel like some private time. We have wifi in both places.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    It is a rural area so any traveller would have to feel comfortable with the quieter life, especially in winter when there are less social activities. Excellent for walking. My life is mainly spent outside unless raining, cold at night from autumn onwards but daytime is usually sunny and pleasant, I also like to eat outside whenever possible.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 345914438685