Volunteer on our organic haskap orchard and pastured livestock farm in beautiful Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 29 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.10.2019

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 4 (Joe, Stephanie, Luke and Sadie) with a 10-acre certified organic haskap orchard and small pastured livestock (chickens, small herd of dairy and beef cattle and Berkshire pigs) farm in the Cobequid Hills of northern Nova Scotia. Joe is home farming full-time and Stephanie works off farm part-time and on farm full-time. Luke (13 years) and Sadie (10 years) are homeschooled so we spend a lot of time together as a family!

    Our days are always full and always a little different, depending on what needs to be done in the orchard and the needs of our animals. In the summer, we are typically on the go from dusk until dawn as there is always something that needs doing and never enough time to do it all! In the Fall and Winter, life is a little slower and we tend to focus more on building projects and pruning our orchard and other odds and ends, depending on the weather.

    Despite our busy lives, we make it a priority to always eat meals together and squeeze in fun family time as well, whether it be a hike, swim, bike ride, family yoga session, card game or visit with friends. We also spend a lot of time making good food – including preserving vegetables and making cheese. We try to grow as much of our own food as possible and often eat meals of ingredients that are sourced 100% from our farm!

    We can host one female work-away at a time in our off-grid tiny house until April 2020 - for a minimum of two weeks at a time. You will have a female roommate - who lives there full-time.

    We will do our absolute best to welcome you into our family and help you to have a wonderful experience while here.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Working with us you will learn about organic and biological farming practices. We work very hard, and get enormous fulfillment from doing so. Our children absolutely love visitors and will be eager to play music with you and teach you about whatever you’d like to learn, and in turn, learn from you whatever you can share. They will be your hosts as much as Joe and Stephanie.

    Tatamagouche is a very active community, with many residents who have moved here from other countries, as well as part-time summer residents and visiting tourists. There are many community events, particularly in summer, that celebrate our culture, our food and our people. Earltown, where we live, has a lovely little general store, maple syrup farm and restaurant, as well as a large network of public trails and swimming holes.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need general help with everything! We are always building something and we always have animals to care for. If weather permits, we also have lots of work to do in our orchard - pruning, spreading manure, etc.

    We also welcome help teaching the kids (especially about where you are from, the food you eat, the music you listen to, etc.).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a tiny cabin (10' by 16') in a very quiet and private portion of our farm. The cabin is off-grid - without electricity, internet or cell reception (you may use the telephone and WiFi at our home, down the road). There is a simple two-burner outdoor stove, outdoor shower, nearby brook and outhouse to help make your stay more comfortable. You are invited to join us for meals at our home as often as you wish (which can be 3 meals a day if you like!).

    There is a wood stove for heat - you must be comfortable operating a wood stove. And you must be comfortable living with few amenities.

    You are welcome to use our facilities – bathroom, laundry, etc. – though we ask that you be mindful of our resources and not waste water (ie. by showering and/or doing laundry more than necessary).

    We normally eat all three meals together as a family every day. Breakfast is typically eggs or homemade granola or oatmeal – with a special and more elaborate Sunday Brunch. Lunch is typically humus, vegetables, cheese and other finger foods. Dinner could be anything – but as much as possible we try to eat what we grow on the farm (pork, chicken, vegetables, fruit, eggs). We have all you can eat seasonal vegetables, eggs and raw milk. We can easily accommodate vegetarians – but no vegans please.

    Guests are expected to pitch in with kitchen tasks, including meal preparation and cleanup. Please don't apply if you are not willing/able to help out in the kitchen or if you have never cooked your own meals before.

    Absolutely no smoking or drug use will be tolerated.

    We have about 100 acres or more of woodlot, with trails and a river to explore. It's a beautiful spot!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our property is over 180 acres and includes woodlot and pasture. The scenery is beautiful and you can spend hours just exploring our property on foot.

    We are located 1.5 hours from Halifax, ½ hour from Truro and 15 min from Tatamagouche. There are lots of outdoor activities to do around us – hiking, bike riding, swimming and general exploring. Tatamagouche has a wonderful library, micro brewery and many other attractions.

    There is no public transportation, however, hitch hiking is fairly common and there is also a semi-organized rideshare group on facebook.

    You are welcome to spend time in our house during your time off, providing you are respectful of our family, other guests and our belongings. We also ask that you provide a good example for our children - this is very important to us - otherwise you will be asked to leave. This means no cursing, not spending all of your time off on your phone, cleaning up after yourself, etc.

    2019 will be our first year hosting Workaway travellers. We really look forward to meeting you!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Minimum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 342287367145