Come and share family life and help around the house in Port Stephens, Australia.

Country

Australien

Bisher 154 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.11.2018

  • Abzeichen

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    FULL UNTIL MID 2013.
    PLEASE CHECK THE CALENDAR.
    WE ONLY TAKE ONE WORKAWAYER AT A TIME.

    Hi :) We are a family of four (though our eldest daughter has moved out) living in the beautiful seaside town of Port Stephens in NSW, Australia. We are Larry (57), Carol (53), Kelly (24) and Jodie (20).

    My husband and myself run our own business in carpet and blind cleaning and so are often quite busy. I do all the bookwork from home and find that a little extra help around the house would be greatly appreciated.

    There are many small suburbs in Port Stephens (none further than a 15 minute drive away and all accessible by bus) with plenty of shops, restaurants, pubs and 2 “nightlife” places for young people (but Newcastle is better). Port Stephens is a popular holiday destination so in summer the main part of town is busy, while winter is relatively quiet. We live one hour (by car or bus) from Newcastle and one hour (by car) from the Hunter Valley (countryside with wine and cheese tasting etc.). From Newcastle you can catch a train to Sydney – roughly 2.5hrs. We could possibly pick you up from Newcastle train station depending on your arrival time, or there are buses from the station to our local shopping centre.

    Depending on our own work schedules, we would be happy to show you around town in our spare time. We also have one bicycle and female helmet for your use if you wish – helmets are compulsory in Australia. We live in a lovely spot with bush behind us and in front, and we are only one street back from the water. There are plenty of swimming and fishing spots close by and we would be happy to supply you with fishing gear (minus bait), or if we have time, take you out in our boat (a small tinny).

    We have a gorgeous Labrador who loves affection and who warms to anyone the instant he meets them. If you are allergic to dogs or are afraid of them, this is not the place for you! We also have 2 chickens who provide us with eggs and who get along with the dog so they can all enjoy the spacious backyard together. Our house is far from fancy but our guest room is nice and comfortable.

    We would treat you as one of the family and, if you would like to, you would be more than welcome to join us on any outings or social gatherings (with the exception of weddings due to cost) – including Christmas day if that is when you are here!

    We are not exotic cooks, usually eating the classic Aussie ‘meat and 3 vegies’, but if you would like to share your cuisine we would love to try it! Breakfast and lunch won’t be anything fancy as we are usually busy with work (toast, baked beans, eggs, cereal, sandwiches, fruit, etc.). Work hours would be very flexible, just as long the work gets done during your stay we are happy :) We would like to share dinner (or ‘tea’ as we call it) with you, but breakfast and lunch in this house is often a different time for each person, so help yourself.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for someone to help with basic household tasks (e.g. laundry, dishes, vacuuming, lawn mowing, spring cleaning, sewing, washing/walking dog, picking mulberries in October, or helping with odd jobs like building a simple vegie patch, etc.). It is not exciting work but at least it is easy! And if you can’t do something (e.g. sewing) that is fine. There would not be a huge amount of work, just whatever needs doing. Our main purpose is to meet other people from all over, to enjoy their culture and company and to simply provide a happy place for you to stay on your travels :). Also, it would be great if you could teach us any particular skills you have (cooking, gardening, mechanics, guitar, meditation, etc.).

    Our youngest daughter is at university and has a passion for travel and language, so she would also love to exchange some English lessons for lessons in your own language.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, some French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Bedroom in house with either single or double bed. You may stay from 2 nights to 2 weeks and if you would like to stay longer we will talk about it then (it will depend on our own schedule). The bathroom and kitchen are shared with us (though there is an extra toilet downstairs near guest room).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    NON-SMOKERS ONLY.

    NO drug use or EXCESSIVE alcohol consumption.

    Must be 18 years or over.

    Please check calendar before contacting us.

    LIMITED CATERING FOR VEGETARIANS – we eat a lot of meat in this house, however, if you would like to teach us some of your recipes that would be great!

    Internet access.

    We can only take ONE workawayer at a time.

    We ask to see a copy of your travel insurance.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 336138469856