experience the benefits of a hands-on, truly sustainable lifestyle in Queensland, Australia



Bisher 84 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Hello. My name is jayn. I live near Stanthorpe , Queensland. Tumbledown is a pristine, exceptionally peaceful, 100 acre granite bushland Nature Refuge, like a national park. It sits on a granite ridge overlooking a valley and is situated at almost 900 m above sea level. It is hot in summer with cool nights and quite cold in winter. Sometimes we even have snow.

    I have two sons, Bran and Calam, 24 and 21yo, who have now left home to go to university in Brisbane, but occasionally come home to reboot with some of their old country life.

    I am 52 years of age, fit and active and keen on bike touring. I aspire to and live in a sustainable, low impact way and manage all aspects of this lifestyle independently, believing strongly that if I cant do something myself, perhaps I should live elsewhere and in another way. I share my skills by guiding others gently through their own projects to completion. I am presently building a small log cabin, one of many projects that I keep myself busy with. I also host intermittent guests and backpackers holidaying or working in the area. I was a successful host on an online rental website but closed my doors when it seemed I no longer had my own house to live in, with so many groups wanting to come here.

    I built our sustainable, off-grid family home with my sons from local granite, adobe and almost 100% recycled materials. It features huge industrial style timber trusses, stone and adobe walls, high ceilings and earth floors. The outbuildings are also built from cob and recycled materials, including the quaint self-contained cob cottage where you will have a place of your own during your visit or the large self-contained guestroom in the homestead. You can also help yourself to the organic garden and orchard and, by all means, plant something and weed it too. I sure could do with the help.

    The property has many tracks through ancient forest and visitors often see kangaroos, koalas, possums and sugar gliders as well as the great variety of birds and reptiles that live here. There are many rare species of plants and animals that give the refuge its unique environmental status. Nearby the homestead, there is a marvelous rocky outcrop where it is possible to take in 180 degree views of the fabulous sunsets, advancing storms and the western and northern escarpments.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers will experience the benefits of a hands-on, truly sustainable lifestyle. They will be able to take skills such as a variety of building techniques, organic gardening, track work in the Nature Refuge, plant and animal ID, forest and fire management techniques into their future lifestyles and also to their next Workaway where they can build further on what they have learned here. I havent had a guest yet, who doesnt love staying here for the peace and quiet and beautiful, natural setting. Workawayers can also explore the vast National Parks in the area and visit local wineries and enjoy the local orchid and vegetable produce in a variety of restaurants and cafe's. Our town supports a multicultural diversity of Italians, German, Korean, Japanese and Chinese food outlets.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    I am especially interested in workawayers who have some building experience and are fit and agile enough to help me construct the various projects here or do some track work and fire and forest management. If you like gardening, there is always something to do in the vegetable patch. There are also opportunities at the right time to work with honey bees or help with joint family projects ( my parents live on an adjoining property) which are always fun and inclusive. I would expect about 3 to 5 hours per day , 4-5 days a week, depending on the task, but so saying yu'll have plenty of spare time to do your own thing too. I manage to get most things done myself, but I have to admit that an extra pair of hands or two is a wonderful way to get it done more efficiently and sociably. I mentor people in the art of DIY and home maintenance, and have a large range of practical skills that enable me to maintain this large property alone. I can probably teach you some new and valuable skills to take to your next Workaway, or maybe you can contribute your own expertise to a fascinating project which aims to build a tiny dwelling almost completely from forest materials at hand. I encourage female workawayers to come here and join in the fun of self-empowerment through practical skills. All genders welcome. Couples and families are also welcome

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    If it isnt occupied by guests you will stay in a pretty little solar powered cob cottage with your own semi detached bathroom, composting loo and kitchen. Otherwise there is a the large semi self-contained guest room in the main homestead nearby. The cottage is furnished with a queen size bed, desk and chest of drawers. The kitchen has all the pots and pans you will need, a microwave, toaster, gas cooktop, fridge and electric kettle. Linen is provided. There is a woodheater in the bedroom. I can provide the basics - bread, cereal, fresh fruit and vegetables, cheese and condiments - for your meals that you might like to prepare yourself, but if you need extra such as meat, and sweets and snacks, I dont supply them.. I am happy to share a meal with you sometimes. Note that I am vegetarian. have to avoid gluten and do not cook meat meals.

    You will have to provide your own Telstra network mobile internet as there is only a limited satellite connection here.
    Maximum two week stays preferred.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In your spare time you can visit the local National Parks, wineries and other food outlets. There are local produce markets on the weekends and you can also visit outlying towns and sights near Warwick, Tenterfield, Texas and Inglewood. Brisbane and the Gold Coast are about 3 hours away if you want to see the bright lights.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 325357452968