Help on a homestead in the beautiful Interlakes area of BC, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 22 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 16 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Currently looking for volunteers from September-October for this year, and April-October next year :)

    Hi, I'm Ali! We used to be a commercial farm, but circumstances have changed and no produce from the farm is sold. I am a homesteader now, focused on providing all of my own food and trading for what I cannot produce myself. I am relocating from my parents ranch to my own property and I will be setting up the homestead from scratch (again!).

    I am 25 years old and I am a Stay At Home Mom to my animals, after a car accident left me unable to work. I am extremely passionate about animals and farming and I can talk for hours about them. I love to cook and am a firm believer that when someone is in your house you feed them! I'm very passionate about health and wellbeing and like to focus on Intentional and low impact farming.

    The farm - I raise sheep, goats, turkeys, chickens, and ducks on the farm! I also have mini pigs, dogs (both guardian and pet), cats, and rabbits! The animals are my family and I make sure any volunteer who joins us will treat them with kindness and respect. I focus on natural/sustainable practices and animal welfare and environmental impact. I am now working with a small community group aiming for complete local sustainability through food and services. The farm could play a major role in educating and including many community members as a co-operative effort towards this goal.

    Come visit the farm in beautiful Fawn Lake, British Columbia, become a part of our small family and help in rebuilding the homestead! I love sharing knowledge about homesteading, animal care, building, basic veterinary care, nutrition, sustainable farming and more. This would be a great learning experience for anyone interested in those topics.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I have lots of information and skills to share with you! While I am limited in what I can do physically on the farm now, I have lots of information when it comes to animals, animal care, sustainable agriculture and basic veterinary care. We are also in a very culturally rich area, full of history and natural beauty.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am just starting out on the new property (house is still being built) so it is a blank slate. We will need to plan paddocks and buildings for efficiency and health of the animals, then install fences, build a simple barn, cut down/clear trees, collect and stack firewood, landscape, and set up the garden. I can teach you what I've learned about farming and animals in previous years so you don't make the same mistakes I did haha.

    I'd prefer to have volunteers who already have experience with the following things for safety and efficiency, but any volunteer will be considered if they have a "can-do" attitude and are willing to learn.
    - Animal care
    - Farm help
    - heavy lifting
    - chainsaws
    - Other tools
    - gardening
    - fencing
    - building/carpentry
    - cooking (for other workaways)

    Specifically hoping for volunteers who don't mind getting "stuck in" with heavy lifting as my car accident left me unable to do much in that way.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    As I am only now setting up and the house will be under construction, I am planning to set up a cool off-grid living space for our volunteers this year! I will provide private sleeping tents and a central living tent with kitchenette, sitting area and games. It'll be a fun experience for volunteers and a great story to take home to your friends!

    3 hearty meals a day are provided for volunteers. Anything special or additional volunteers want, such as alcohol and candy, they can purchase for themselves from our local store.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our community is brimming with things to do. We are so lucky to be surrounded by some of the best fishing lakes in the world, as well as miles and miles of hiking trails. It is very beneficial to come to this area with a car due to the distance between things, including our nearest town, but Fawn Lake is walking distance for fishing, swimming and relaxing.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Lots of space! Bring your rolling home and join the team!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    I may be able to accommodate pets! On a case by case basis!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 323754361337