Help at a Retreat - Sanctuary in Wainui, New Zealand

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 88 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.09.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    718

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    OUR DATES===> start July 2018 or later.

    In our availability for June we are looking for help from people who can do a bit of heavy work, and/or some skill with working with wood, or who can cook.

    Kathy is away in Bali so it's just Bruce here for July-August.

    July-August I am putting in a hard wood floor. Other possible work activities include firewood stacking, log splitting machine, clearing brush, digging earth steps and then preparing to do ferrocement to make the steps permanent.

    You are perfect for this Retreat if: you identify as an introvert, you are a hard worker, don't mind spending a large part of the day by yourself or with your fellow helpers, and are interested in reconnecting with nature and having a bit of a retreat.

    We describe ourselves as a self arising spontaneous retreat center. We do have occasional events but it is often a chance combination of visitors and circumstances which creates a retreat environment.

    We are an American (San Francisco) ex-pat couple, no kids, on a lifestyle block over Akaroa Harbour, Wainui Valley; our home is our sanctuary; lots of interests and projects and try to cater to work-awayer interests. All skill-sets welcome. Couples or self-guided individuals. Short or longs stays okay. We enjoy intellectual conversation, metaphysics, meditation, making and eating good food, & board games.

    We follow the workaway guidelines asking for help 5 hours per day, 5 days per week, or we often prefer 4 hours per day 6 days per week, or flextime is also possible once you know your way around. Help in the kitchen and cleaning up after oneself is also expected.

    We used to help organize Kiwiburn, the New Zealand regional Burning Man event and are still a part of the burn community, now attending Southern Smoulder annually and Kiwiburn occasionally. We are planning on having a 100 person burning man style event here where we live in October or November 2019

    Happy to host French speaking helpers but be warned-- Akaroa is not very French, just some street signs, despite what the tourist advertisements may say ;-)

    PS: we have internet access but no wireless. If you have a LAN port or USB you can plug in to our network. We also have a spare computer that you can use to connect to the internet.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are expert micro-organism based cooks-- that includes bread, kombucha, kefir, and a growing list. Our cooking repetoire also includes Weston Price inspired meals as well as adaptations of classic favorites with local or home grown New Zealand produce.

    Kathy teaches yoga at the community center. Bruce is developing an expertise in meditation instruction and both are artists. Kathy favors transformative mixed media and Bruce sacred geometry sculpture.

    The land is mostly organic and a bit wild-- learning to forage and eat what grows naturally has been a big part of our transformation from city into country people.

    Our interests and expertise are varied and eclectic and we like to share with interested helpers.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Most work is either gardening or tree related-- weeding, mulching, composting, planting, harvesting, felling, brush clearing, chipping, log splitting, chainsaw milling.

    We are working towards a lot of ferrocement work- paths, outbuildings, sacred geometry structures.

    Working with permaculture and forest gardening.

    Those with general maintenance, building, art, cooking (household), or other skills in the areas we have ticked for workaway should contact us and see if we have projects to suit.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We share evening meals together; other meals at your time. Vegetarian and Vegan OK. Vegans may have to do some cooking for themselves. Good cooks welcome as lots of emphasis on good eating here.

    Accommodation is your own room in a sleepout, either in an outbuilding next to the main house or in our self contained bungalow which we also list on BnB.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are 2.5 km from the shore, at 200m elevation. Walks around the countryside or enjoying our sacred spaces are the easiest option. Akaroa is 18km away, about a half hour drive. There is a pub, shop, and cheese factory 9km away. Closest local transport from Christchurch will drop you off at the cheese factory, where we can pick you up if you don't have your own transportation. We sometimes drive to Christchurch so can pick people up there if it fits with our schedule.

    Really, it's mostly the sounds of nature and lots of quiet time away from the rest of the world that is the main attraction here. The views are beautiful and we are in a patch of forest and native bush, with a small stream.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 321732734633