Picking olives and learn to preserve food in Calabria, Italy

Country

Italien

Bisher 191 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    86.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This is Simone, first son/nephew of a humble family from Calabria region, living in a small village situated in a hill, with a few pieces of land with more than 200 olive trees, many different fruit trees, few chickens and two small vegetable garden areas.
    The valley in front of the house, almost buildings-free, faces the sea (20 mins driving distance away).
    When the time of the year comes (around November) dad and grampa need to pick all the olives, to make mainly olive oil, but we also like making preserving olives to eat in different styles, as well as medical oils using powerful local flowers.
    We also make red wine in September and It should be soon ready to taste :)
    We will proudly feed you with our amazing tasty food :)

    Foods to harvest in these upcoming months:
    Pomegranates
    Figs
    Grapes
    Almonds
    Walnuts
    Cachi

    I am also looking for capable people to help me build a small kuti in a magical place by the Olive trees, and other "dirty kind of type" farm works.

    Travellers knowledgeable and with previous experiences in the application of PERMACULTURE principles are very welcome

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am very passionate about hethy living and eating. I practice and teach yoga, breathing exercises and meditation.
    Of course you will learn a lot about olive trees and olives, how to transform olives into olive oil, and how's the life of a real south Italian farmer :)
    You can also be introduced to everyday gardening (organic vegetable, beans, roots) and to wild edible plants (how to recognize them, clean them and of course .... Eat them!) And, last but not least, you will learn about organic wine production, and how to enjoy it with a good meal.
    This experience will definetly enrich you in many ways: powerful connection to nature and getting your food straight from the soil or picking it from the tree, just to mention a few...
    So be prepared for a beautiful adventure, full of daily mouth orgasms :-D That's the natural consequence of eating REAL FOOD.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    HELP NEEDED AT THE MOMENT:

    * Harvesting and preserving food from Sept till end Oct, including wild edible herbs
    * Rain water collection projects
    * Harvesting olives to preserve during October
    * Making a proper winter veggie garden
    * Cracking walnuts and general organization of the garage



    Experience is required
    --------------
    DURING OLIVE SEASON (mid October till end Nov):
    The help required is simple: getting the olives down the trees (or picking them from the ground), and take them to the oil mill...
    Big nets should be accommodated on the ground sorrounding the trees, the branches shaked with a special machine but also using normal long sticks, and the olives are to be collected inside 15-20kg sacks, then each sack carried and loaded on the car.
    It is a tiring job, rewarding, but very tiring, especially if not used to work in the field...

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a couple of spare rooms to offer, in the nice fully equipped apartment, with sea view.
    Bathrooms and common areas are shared.
    Food and drinks are obviously included: breakfast, lunch and dinner :)
    Sometimes we go camping in the olive field, i have tents and sleeping bags for everyone

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are very close to the coast, but also to one of the most beautiful mountain of the region: Sila piccola.
    My friendly family will be happy to taking you around whenever possible :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 25 hours / week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 313833229989