Help me to transform my home into a hostel in Antofagasta, Chile

  • Chile
  • Bisher 51 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 24 Dez. 2022



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    Dear Volunteers,
    I'm in the process of transforming my home into a hostel. After taking care of my family for many years, I'm now trying to give my house a new vibe after my children moved out, my dog died, and I separated from my husband.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    In return for your help, I would like to offer you the chance of learning traditional Chilean cooking (and eating), and also arrange for you to take a city tour with a local person (it can be me or my daughter). And hopefully share with you the history of our city, starting from our ancestors the Chonos, a tribe in the city that lived from the ocean and moving forward to the steaming mining business, and its pros and cons for the environment and people.

  • Arbeit


    I'm transforming my house into a hostel/bed & breakfast. I need help with different projects inside the house. The most important at the moment is woodwork/making some furniture for the kitchen. I love cooking and I plan to offer cooking lessons to travelers as soon as I can set a more comfortable space to teach.
    I also need help painting the walls in several areas of the house. Most of the common areas in the house need to be repainted (living room, kitchen, outer walls) this job also includes moving around furniture to carefully paint the walls, clean and put the furniture back after the job is finished.
    I need to install floor titles in the main hallway of the house. As well as fixing doors, windows. There's plenty to do!
    There's some delicate work to do in the main bathroom, where I need to install a Jacuzzi tub, but also keep a regular shower.
    There's a lot of reorganizing, designing spaces to be done and much decoration!
    I'm also evaluating the idea of having a small organic hydroponic garden in my backyard. If you have the knowledge to do this I will be happy to listen to your project. In my city there is not much water, water quality is poor, and on top of everything water is expensive.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You will sleep in one of the bedrooms of the house. Beds are full or queen size. I will provide you with 3 meals a day and enough drinking water.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My house & city:

    My place is very well located. It's within walking distance from the main bus terminal which can land you anywhere in the country. It is 3 blocks away from the Hospital, 5 blocks away from the Farmer's market "La vega", supermarkets, petrol stations. The closest beach is 10 minutes away by car or local bus. You can also go walking, but put some sunscreen since the sun will burn you!

    Also, 10 minutes away taking a local bus you will find our Historic neighborhood where you can find History museums, and heritage sites such as the main railroad station. There is a fish market 'La caleta' where you can taste many seafood & fish dishes while listening to the creative ways in which sellers announce their products. You can also see the seals and local birds lurking around La caleta. From there, you can take a boat and go around the bay. You can visit 'La plaza colón' and appreciate the classic Spanish colonial design of our city, have a drink at a fancy hotel if you like that, play chess in the main plaza, and so much more. My city is small, but there's so much history attached to it and many things to do.

    My way of living:

    I live my life in a relaxed way. I took care of my family for many years and also have been a business owner for over 30 years now. First I had my own restaurant which I sold because I was diagnosed with several herniated discs in my spine and could not handle heavy work anymore. And now I run a small canteen at an Elementary school. I wake up early, though you don't have to, especially on your time off. I will not wake you up unless you have asked me to, or there's something we planned to do together. Breakfast is usually served at 8.30 am. If this is too early, you may eat later.

    There is absolutely no smoking inside the house. If you smoke, you can do it in the garage area which is open. I have an occasional cigarette but always outside the common areas since the smoke usually stays inside.
    Drinking a glass of wine is something I do occasionally too, mainly on the weekends. You are welcomed to join me. You are welcomed to have a drink or a beer at home if this is something you like to relax, to watch TV, to talk, etc.
    If you expect to return to the house late at night please let me know in advance. I can help you arrange for a taxi if you need it. I will probably give you a set of keys for you to access after midnight. Absolutely no outside guest are allowed. I can suggest some places for you to go out at night.

    I expect you to be mindful of the space you are using since my goal is to improve my home. I will appreciate if you are mindful about the usage of water. Water in my house comes from a water facility that treats salty water from the pacific. Do not drink tap water, the government says is drinking quality but this is not true.
    Finally, I expect you to commit to the project you'll agree to do, no matter if short or longer term, I will really appreciate that you finish what you have agreed to do. I also promise to offer a safe home and environment for you to spend your time, have proper rest, food, and share as much as I can as to provide an interesting cultural exchange.

    Overall I hope you have a wonderful time in the city and that we get to share as much as possible.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 311422881922

Weitere Bilder


Looking for volunteers to help in construction with recycled materials, adobe, and eco- friendly sustentable solutions n Sa Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Help build a sustainable farm near Coyhaique, in the heart of Patagonia, Chile