Help me with landscaping and outdoor tasks to experience a remote, eco-minded community, Slocan Valley, West Kootenays, S.E. British Columbia, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 127 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.12.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I have been hosting Workaway guests since 2016, but this is an entirely new message, as husband recently passed away.........hence writing this as a single person...... no longer part of a "newly retired fun loving hard working couple"...... although same location, same properties, same tasks.

    My project for the summer of 2022 is to plant a permaculture food forest on land I have owned and enjoyed for many years now. The 3 A. piece of land is on a bench above the Village of Silverton, in the Sloan Valley, West Kootenays in S.E British Columbia. (gokootenays.com).

    I am located midway between Vancouver and Calgary about 1 hour north of Nelson, and welcome visits from people wanting to experience a beautiful, remote, progressive, creative, eco-minded community.

    The land above Silverton houses a rustic cabin which I use as a studio, but I live lakeside in the Village of New Denver about 3 km north of Silverton.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    People in this region are friendly, progressive, creative, and practise sustainability. Lifelong friends can be made here.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am a recent widow looking to host travellers seeking a pristine, mountain experience beside Slocan Lake of the West Kootenays, in the Rockies region of BC..... about 8 hours west of Vancouver , BC.

    I have a lovely heritage home beside Slocan Lake in the small village of New Denver as well as a 3 acre clelaring of land on Red Mountain above the village of Silverton. The two properties are about 3 km. apart.

    For the summer of 2022, I need help on the land which would include cutting slash, digging holes, planting fruit bearing plants, as well as other landscaping type activity. I have a small tractor to help moving earth, but need help with preparing holes and the actual planting.

    I have found survival hardy food bearing plants which are ordered as of Fall 2021. I'd like my legacy to be a permaculture food forest.

    May also want to do fire mitigation type land clearing which involves branching trees, bucking dead wood, taking wood to slash piles for burning in November when fire risk is zero.
    I regularly use a chain saw and am very used to bush work. You can be too!

    You all may have heard that BC has experienced wildfires and most of us with land are doing are best at fire mitigation. To understand more about this, you can read about the Slocan Integral Forestry Cooperative at sifo.ca.

    Summertimes, I tend to work hard in the mornings when cooler; afternoons dedicated to paddle boarding, kayaking, swimming, biking, hiking.

    The area is rich with music festivals (Kaslo Jazz Festival, Salmon Arm Roots & Blues, Starbelly Jam, Unity Festival, Shamballa) & local concerts, farmer's markets, art shows, hot springs, ghost towns which we attend as often as possible. Since COVID most events have been cancelled, but we are all hopeful for summer 2022.

    I am involved with a Japanese Garden run by volunteers in New Denver. I may need help with gardening chores in the Kohan Reflection Garden which was established by volunteers to honour the Japanese-Canadians interred here during World War II.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I have nice bedrooms in the house (New Denver), nice accommodations in an outdoor coachhouse, or sleeping arrangements in the cabin (above Sliverton). You can also camp near the house or in the bush, if that experience is desired.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The easiest way to get to the Slocan Valley is to find a ride to Nakusp (from either Vernon or Revelstoke) or Nelson and I can pick you up. Kootenay Rideshare" is a web platform designed to offer rides between Vancouver (or Calgary) to the West Kootenays. This is by far the most affordable way to travel. Since Greyhound stopped running, we have offering a bus service from Calgary or Vancouver, landing in either Nelson or Kaslo from where I can pick you up.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Have high speed internet service and plenty of quiet work space.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Vans can park on the 2 A clearing above Silverton, but should be off-grid. The New Denver property has a massive yard which can also house campervans, and is closer to amenities.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Love dogs.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 311377552554