Come and help us with urban homesteading in Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 76 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    31.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi Workawayers! We are a couple in our 30s urban homesteading on 1/2 acre in beautiful Western Massachusetts, just blocks from the the sweet downtown of Greenfield. I work for a retreat center and the regional Symphony, and my partner is a singer-songwriter and political activist.

    We always need help with big and small projects around here, like prepping and painting a carriage house from 1900, replacing some shingles on our house, helping raise chickens, building a root cellar, starting a hive, painting murals, endless jobs in the garden (we a little food forest), food preparation, and so much more. If you have experience in building, repair, healing herbs, animal care, and so on, that's great! If you don't, that's also great--we can teach and learn together!

    We live an organic lifestyle, our food is sourced carefully and humanely, and we provide as much of our own food as possible. You can eat fresh fruit and vegetables from our garden and fresh eggs from the chickens. We are happy to share meals, if you are into the same kind of food we are.

    You will do well if:
    -you enjoy working outside
    -you enjoy working with your hands
    -you can laugh at yourself
    -you are humbled by nature
    -you enjoy political discourse
    -you enjoy working with others AND by yourself
    -you are cool eating, or being around people who eat, humanely raised, pastured, organic meat
    -you want to learn new things and just give things a try

    You will probably not do well if:
    -you don't want to get your hands dirty
    -you are afraid of failing
    -you are uncomfortable living with unapologetic radical leftists
    -you use nicotine products
    -you can't do without your perfume (we need to keep our home free of artificial perfumes due to allergies)
    -you travel everywhere with a horde of cats (again, allergies)
    -that's probably it

    Our home is 420 friendly (legal in our state) and we enjoy a nice glass of wine sometimes but are not huge drinkers. LGBTQI friendly.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You could learn about permaculture, farming/gardening, chickens, homesteading, fermentation, and other things... And we'd love to exchange language, culture, skills mutually! When you write to us, tell us what you are good at and enjoy and we can come up with a plan together. There's so much to do around here, and you may be able to identify projects that we haven't even thought of yet!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    With guidance and working alongside us:
    -prepping and painting a carriage house from 1900
    -replacing some shingles on our house
    -helping raise chickens
    -building a root cellar
    -starting a hive
    -painting murals
    -big weeding, mulching and harvesting jobs in the garden (we have a mini-farm and mini-orchard on our little spot)
    -food preparation
    -and so much more.

    If you have experience in building, repair, healing herbs, animal care, and so on, that's great! If you don't, that's also great--we can teach and learn together! We learn so much every day.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a small but very sweet house. You will have your own furnished, private room on the 1st or 2nd floor. Kitchen, bathroom and living room are shared, including TV and wifi. Our kitchen is fully stocked, and we will decide together whether to share meals for full board or some other solution (for example, if you want to buy your own food, we can decrease the weekly hours or reimburse you some amount). Several grocery stores within walking distance of our home, and of course all the fresh stuff from the garden!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are 2 hours from Boston, 3.5 hours to NYC and 4 to Montreal or Ottawa. Buses and trains take you to all the major cities around here, and a local bus system can take you to a few of the towns and cities nearby. If the schedule works, you can possibly borrow a car. There are great swimming holes, hikes, and adventures in short walking, biking or driving distance. Just google "things to do in Western Massachusetts" and you'll be overwhelmed by how gorgeous and fun and friendly our region is :-)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    The normal thing: 25 hours per week for room & board or 15 hours per week for room only




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 298395573667