Family really need help with sorting out our olive grove in the beautiful mountain village of Galilea in the southwest of Mallorca

Country

Spanien

Bisher 222 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 12 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello,

    We are a family of 4: Emma (British), Eladio (Spanish), Emelie (7 years old) and Elia (3). We live in the beautiful mountain village of Galilea in the southwest of Mallorca. It's a very quiet, peaceful location with spectacular views down to the sea and offers complete tranquillity for nature lovers. Palma, the capital is only a 25 minute drive away, as are the beaches of the southwest coast. The village has a couple of bars and a pizza restaurant, there is also public transport to Palma but it is not especially frequent. This is a place especially suited to nature lovers. Hikers and keen cyclists (who don't mind serious hills) will love it but those wanting a great social life will find it a bit boring!
    Our house is a traditional stone cottage of over 100 years old with a lovely olive grove where you can see enormous centuries old olive trees. It was abandoned for around 30 years and we are slowly getting it back into shape. Many of the drystone walls have collapsed so they need repairing and the land is completely overgrown so we are doing a lot of pruning and cutting down of trees to get to the old olives trees.
    We run a small bed and breakfast and hope in the future to be able to produce our own olives, honey, fruit and vegetables but we need a lot of help before we can get to that stage!
    We are looking for a couple who can help us during the atumn, winter and early spring with gardening, cooking, cleaning and childcare. We offer independent accommodation, self service breakfast (we'll supply cereals, milk and general breakfast things), and a cooked lunch and light dinner with us in our housewith shared cooking and clearing up duties. On your days off lunch and dinner will not be supplied.
    It might be a nice project for friends - the rooms can be made into twin rooms. It could also be good for a couple. If the woman feels strong the work is fine for her - I do it all with no problem, but there could also be the option of looking after our daughter and the house while I do the work outside if you prefer.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We'd like people to come for a week or two at most from now.
    What we really need help with is the olive grove, cooking and childcare. The gardening is quite hard manual work involving dry stone walling, pruning trees, strimming the land and burning. You may need to lift heavy stones, dig, move around wheelbarrows of soil and stones - it's not work for the weak and feeble!!! It is however quite satisfying.Help is also needed with cooking and cleaning our house and entertaining Emelie after school.
    If the weather is bad there are always other things that can be done - we also restore furniture and you can help us out with that. You could also give us a hand with some bits of DIY- here'll always be something to keep you occupied!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The accommodation is in our bed and breakfast rooms which are spacious and comfortable. They are en suite and have internet access, fridge, air conditioning/heating and coffee making facilities. There is no kitchen or television, so bring your own entertainment for the evenings! We have two rooms which can be made into twins and each one has its own independent terrace area. If friends or a couple come you will be in a twin room. We expect you to keep the room clean and also to help us with cooking and cleaning up after eating.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    It is very quiet here and transport is not the best. There are buses to Palma everyday but they are quite limited (4/ day monday - friday and 3/day at the weekend). It costs around 2.65 single. A lot of people hitch hike down to Palma and it's pretty easy to get people to pick you up. We also go out quite frequently and are happy to take you somewhere on your days off. We have a mountain bike you can use but as I said, it's not easy cycling here. If you are feeling rich, the best option is to rent a car and at this time of year it's actually pretty cheap. This will give you the freedom to explore the beautiful island and it is well worth the effort.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

View of the village and surrounding mountains.
Terrace and outdoor are of the room
View over our land
Your hosts: Emma, Eladio and Emelie
The private room as a double
The en suite bathroom
The private bedroom - as a twin room
The village of Galilea
The old trees which need pruning and clearing
Example of the dry stone walls that need repairing
The view from our house

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 293295825535