General help at a hostel with an on-site micro brewery in Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Bisher 36 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a young couple originally from Canada running a tiny hostel with a micro-brewery on site. The brewery is very tiny, basically the size of a bedroom. We brew less than 40 gallons per month and don't have any industrial sized equipment which qualifies us under the artisanal beer category and currently only selling at artisanal markets.

    This is a hobby, but it's something we are currently building upon. While Roger brews and works on the maintenance of the building/property, Malena works remotely as a designer. Together we maintain the hostel. We are located in a very small town in Ecuador surrounded by mountains.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are located in a small town, primarily indigenous communities. Our hostel will run small walking tours, as well as tours to local communities. We also speak both English and Spanish. We run daily word of the day and 10 minutes of practicing common sentences in Spanish.

    We go to the local organic markets every Sunday to buy our weekly groceries where we have made it a habit to have local breakfast. Every Thursday we sell our beer at a local market and sometimes barter for other local goodies, mainly food.

    We also make our own soaps, deodorant, talcum and other home made items as we are trying to live plastic free as much as possible. We also enjoy cooking and have learned a few local dishes that we can teach as well. There is a soup kitchen you can volunteer to feed the local senior indigenous who live higher up in the mountains. There are also many indigenous festivals in town, mainly following the solar calendar.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need general help around the hostel/micro-brewery which are located in the same property and steps away from each other. We have a medium yard with a few plants but our plan is to expand to a small garden that would need general maintenance. We have two dogs, and two cats, so dog walking/clean up would be great.

    Hostel has 3 bedrooms that need general cleaning and maintenance, as well as a shared study room and kitchen. We may occasionally need some assistance with fixing or building needs. Since the hostel is new, anybody with an eye for architecture and general interior design would be great as well to help create a cozy and pretty atmosphere for other travelers or remote workers.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a private room available with a futon that turns into a bed. This is located on the main floor. Bathroom/shower is shared with owners, and separate from rooms.

    We are early risers to do chores, and will provide breakfast to guests around 7:30am - 8am. It usually involves bread, eggs, coffee or tea, fruit, trail mix or oatmeal. We tend to do lunch around 12-1pm. You can join us for lunch, or if you have special nutritional needs, you can prepare food yourself with any ingredients we have available. We mainly eat vegetarian dishes, but occasionally we have meat options as well. We also always have bread and bananas laying around for people to snack on. We don't usually cook dinner so you are welcome to prepare a coffee/tea and snack on any remaining left overs or prepare your own snack with any ingredients we have available.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are pretty relaxed people. Roger will mainly be brewing or attending to hostel needs while Malena will most likely be on her computer working Monday to Friday. It is very easy to walk to bus stop, 5 min walk, which takes you to nearby towns. Cost is anywhere from $0.35 - $0.55. If you wan to explore further and go to major city Quito (2.5hrs away) cost is about $2.50. Town of Cotacachi is small so you can walk to most places. Malena does yoga 3 times a week at a studio, and sometimes goes swimming at a nearby pool. We also love to run, usually 3 times a week with our dogs, distance being around 5km on average. We have a netflix account and at night enjoy watching shows occasionally or simply sitting outside and chatting around a fire about all sorts of topics and experiences.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 292955868389