Help us care for our equine family in Normandy, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 110 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.07.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi! We are Sarah, husband David and our dear friend Erica. We are very lucky to live on a beautiful farm in a picturesque part of south west Normandy, which we share with Cosmo the dog and a herd of twelve rare Rocky Mountain horses. The farm is less than one kilometre from the village of Ger, and comprises twelve hectares of undulating pasture and woodland and three large ponds - two with carp and one for swimming. We met in Devon, England, when Sarah and Erica’s children went to the same democratic school. Erica moved to France in 2017 with her ten horses, and now Sarah and David have joined her with their two, and co-own the farm. David is a healer and Erica a psychotherapist, and we all agree that La Volée, with its abundant natural life and peaceful hidden valley, has a special healing magic. David has led a residential retreat here and we hope to run more in the future. We have hosted many helpers from around the world, both here and in our previous life in England, and love to share our home and get to know such a wonderful variety of people.

    Although we love working on the land and with the horses, it is too much for us (young in spirit but not in body) to manage without help. So we are needing people who love horses to help us to care for our equine family, and to help us with maintaining the land and the buildings. The horses are all individual characters and love to be with people. They are kept out at pasture in a natural herd, with access to shelter if they need it, and are ridden mainly western style, without shoes or bits, using Natural Horsemanship techniques.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are all warm and friendly and love getting to know our guests and helping them to feel at home here. Erica is very passionate and knowledgeable about horses, and many other subjects too. Sarah loves conversations about different cultures and languages and is a qualified teacher of English as a foreign language. Both Erica and Sarah are happy to help guests (informally) with their English. David is a Craniosacral therapist and Reiki healer, and is always happy to give visitors a taste of his healing if desired. He also loves to share his bad jokes ;-(

    There are many things to enjoy at La Volée, including spending time in the beautiful valley and woodland, swimming (in the summer, unless you are very brave!) feeding the carp, sharing conversation around a cosy woodburning stove on winter evenings - and, of course, getting to know the horses. We can take you for visits to nearby towns (mediaeval Domfront is worth visiting) and there is good walking and riding (for experienced riders) in the surrounding countryside.

    We will spend time with you as you familiarise yourself with the horses, and although we are not qualified riding teachers, Erica and Sarah may be willing to help with some beginner’s riding, or if you are experienced we may be able to take you on rides out (please note that for various reasons we can’t guarantee that it will always be possible to ride).

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The main help we need in the winter is feeding the horses and cleaning out the barn, but in the Spring and Summer the focus is more on the maintenance and improvement of our land, gardens and buildings. Previous experience with horses is definitely preferred, but not absolutely essential as we will teach you how to interact safely with them. You will need to be calm and sensible, able to work outdoors even if it’s wet or cold (though many of the tasks can be done in covered areas), and willing to learn. If you are an experienced rider, exercising our riding horses is a possibility (if you are not familiar with riding horses with a bitless bridle we will show you the technique).

    Experience with a chainsaw and/or large brush cutter would be great.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    In the winter helpers will probably stay in our large comfortable guest house, which has a good kitchen, large living room with wood fired heating, five bedrooms and bathroom. There’s often at least one other person sharing the house. If the farmhouse is fully occupied, you might stay in one of Erica’s guest bedrooms, sharing her kitchen. Sometimes in the summer accommodation is in a comfortable caravan with easy access to kitchen and bathroom. Please note, no smoking in the guest house or caravan please.

    Regarding catering, we find it works best for us if helpers are fairly independent. We prefer you to prepare the majority of your own meals (we take you shopping and pay for your groceries), but we do enjoy sharing some meals together, and always pleased if you want to cook something for us! Although we eat (ethically sourced) meat ourselves, we are happy to host vegetarians and vegans.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We can collect helpers from the station in Flers (about half an hour away). There are regular trains from Paris, which is 2-3 hours away. There are also buses and trains to Flers from Caen ferry port.

    CORONAVIRUS - As we have two people living here who are in the high risk category for COVID-19, we may not be able to accept helpers for some time. However if you are very interested in coming here, please contact us and we can see how the situation develops.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 289997876541