Please come help in our lovely creative chateau in Central France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 210 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Please come and help in our lovely chateau! We bought the deserted chateau three years ago in the beautiful Indre et Loire region of France, and have been doing it up with the object of hosting creative courses and events, as well as running a bespoke chambre d'hôte. It is a stunning area of lakes and hills, pretty little towns and villages, just over two hours south of Paris. We have the Creuse river very close to the chateau, it flows through our local villages of Rivarennes and St. Gaultier. A 'voie vert', a green lane for walking and cycling, that runs for 60 kilometres along a disused railway track is also close. We're in the Parc National de Brenne, famous for wildlife and butterfly species.

    We opened August 2019 with a singing course which was great fun and very successful. We've created a concert hall in the enormous rear grange as part of the renovations. We're trying to be as eco friendly as we can, and have installed a geothermal system in the grounds and have a puit Canadien (heat exchange) system in. The major works are pretty much finished, although there's more to do, but the main emphasis right now is helping everything come together for whatever the situation is. The help we need is general: gardening; setting up rooms; helping with courses; doing things in the workshop if someone is interested in woodwork and carpentry (below). You'll have your own room and loo. There'll be a double bed in the room, so it's possible a couple could be sharing the room, and if we don't have courses on, it's also possible to host more than one workaway and use another room.

    We want to create a beautiful place - we are creating a beautiful place :-) . There's also a large swimming pool on site, as part of our courtyard.

    There's a lot to do, and a good variety of things to get on with. We would love you to come and help us!

    I'm a New Zealander (Kate) who has been living and working in London for a long time, principally mental health, but into music and other things too, and Mick designs and makes furniture (hence woodwork).

    We have cats, in case anyone either loves them, or has an allergy....two wild cats adopted us and one has had three kittens....

    UPDATE - Naturally with Covid courses had to be cancelled. Hopefully in 2021 that side of things, courses and events, will be up and running again. Lots to do though, it’s looking more beautiful all the time.

    Thank you, look forward to meeting you!
    Kate and Mick

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Well of course if you want to practice French it's ideal! We work with both French and English people.

    If you're musical and want to bring an instrument you're very welcome. We also have a baby grand piano which plays well.

    This part of France is very interesting, it's rural but yet not unsophisticated, and there are beautiful villages and towns to explore, many dating back to medieval times. If you're interested in WW2, central France is where the resistance was very strong, and there are a lot of memorials around. De Gaulle's family was sent here, the chateau they lived in is by. , George Sands family lived in the region - you can visit the Sand's exceptional family house , and explore Gargilesse (now an artist's town with music festivals in summer) where George Sand, and her son had workshops. Oradour-sur-Glane is a village that was completely wiped of it's inhabitants in WW2, and has been preserved as a memorial - it's an extraordinary place, perfectly preserved and eerily quiet, it's said even the birds never fly over it.

    This area is also interesting archeologically: Indre is where the earliest sapiens arrived in Europe, and there are many Gallo-Romaine sites also. One is Argentomagus, , which covers 70 hectares. There are many chateaux, and ruins to explore dating from the 10th century.

    The region is a beautiful walking area, and great for naturalists. Central France is famous for it's butterfly species, there are over 500 here. The chateau is in the Parc National de Brenne, so you not only have the Creuse river, but also this wonderful nature reserve on your doorstep to explore.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The help we need is general: gardening; helping keep things tidy; setting up rooms; doing things in the workshop if someone is interested in woodwork (below).... you'll have your own room and loo.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Own room and bathroom on the second floor.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    As mentioned, there are many interesting and pretty local villages, towns, chateaux. We're very happy to help with transport so people can get around and explore. Argenton-sur-Creuse - a beautiful town - is the best local train station, and Limoges has an airport.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.4)

Kommunikation: (4.7)












Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 277948134574