Help us with restoration projects at our historical home in beautiful Midi Pyrenees, South-West France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 35 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.06.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We (Tim and Adrienne) are two artists, both Australian, who have lived in France and UK for many years - (English and French-speaking). We are looking for a couple, or two friends to help us with restoration and maintainance of our 13th-18th century chateau and grounds in beautiful South-West France.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are native English speakers, but are both fluent in French. Michael and Christiane who work here part-time are French and so there will be opportunities to learn and practice French. Our property is very old - first records date back to 1214 and we are still discovering its history through research and via our restoration. We are both artists, exhibit regularly , and we can offer insights into the practice of art-making. We have a piano (Tim plays) and musicians, ideally jazz, would be particularly welcome.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have a lot of windows that need painting so experience with painting would also be valuable. And we are restoring a 17th-century kitchen, removing plaster, replacing broken floor tiles and repointing stone work. Also some heavy work involved depending on the skills and abilities of helpers - clearing out woodland, moving stones. Experience with a chain saw would be a great bonus. Otherwise, some help in our (very small) organic vineyard, general gardening and care of the grounds, mowing, raking and composting leaves, vegetable garden maintenance. Occasional help with cleaning, laundry, and general household chores. 25 hours per week, subject to how we negotiate arrangements with food etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Workawayers will have their own private apartment - two bedrooms, a living room with space for creative work, and a bathroom, their own outdoor space, and shared use of our pool (heated and generally in use till mid/late November). The house is isolated ( a 30 min walk to the nearest village) but use of a car is available for short trips. Meals would be shared or provided, depending on everyone's schedules. We have two adult children (30 and 28) who occasionally visit from the UK, and other visitors from time to time. And we travel, so there may be periods where we'll be away and workawayers will need to cook for themselves (we will provide food) and feed our two cats.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our region is very beautiful but also very quiet. There are places to explore during the day, (historic villages and towns, and nature sites, but no local night-life to speak of, and we are fairly isolated. So we are looking for resourceful independent people who are happy with their own company, hence the need for a couple or pair of friends. It would be ideal for writers, students or creative people who want to use their free time for their own projects.. There is space in the apartment provided and tables and chairs in the garden which for working or relaxing. During the day we work in our studios. We will share evening meals when we are at home, (and we expect everyone to share meal preparation and clean-up) - otherwise we will provide food for workawayers to prepare their other meals. The apartment doesn't have a kitchen as such, but does have a sink, kettle, and small fridge so is suitable for preparing simple meals. And an out-door gas-fired barbecue plancha is available for workawayers' use.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 272655485566