Help with an eco building project, planting native trees and creating a wild garden in ancient woodland near Tarbert, Scotland, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 113 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Thirty years ago, I built two large sheds in mature ancient mixed woodland, on the sea, a mile north of Tarbert village on Loch Fyne. Candles, rainwater, and wood provided the basics. Over the years, we have planted thousands of trees in open spaces, left by the areas used for livestock. Five years ago, as the huts composted into the hillside, we decided to come and live here full time and replace / repair, as well as continuing to care for the extensive woodland.

    Steve is a boat builder/engineer/ sailor... I care for the woodland and continue to write novels. We have a flock of hilarious bantam hens that hang out in the woodland by day and roost high in a tree house at night. Our two cats come on long walks. Steve has put in a water system. We now have electricity a compost loo and the large hut is near completion. But there's a long way to go. We plank our own wood and a digger and dumper and all the tools you could dream of help, but extra pairs of hands managing the woodland, planting trees, creating a wild garden, log collection and hut renovation would be invaluable.

    To this end, I've just bought a neat two-man caravan. Not sure what will work best, prob a mixture of eating together and cooking alone (we'll buy food). I bake and cook everything from scratch. Sometimes we eat our cockerels and organic meat, but mostly we are vegetarian. I guess we'll discuss, and find out what suits.

    Anyone eligible for the covid vaccine, must have taken up the offer. Thanks.

    We are not running a business here.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our woodland is extraordinary. Tree and land management, woodwork etc

    We have a small sailing dingy on our beach and a rubber dub with outboard. Also a quad bike and flailer which I use to maintain pathways through the newly planted areas of woodland . The ancient woodland is a perfect balance of wild flowers beneath a canopy of oak etc. It's a magical place, but doing everything ourselves is hard and slow!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Native tree planting and protecting. Tree care. Collecting seedling. Gathering fallen wood from the woodland. Helping with basic DIY. Using a chainsaw, driving a quad would be useful. We are not running a business here.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Clean, neat 2 man caravan with views through the woodland to the sea. We can chat about food... probably share our lunch, maybe the odd evening meal too, but the caravan has full sized cooker, so probably provide veg, etc for self catering. Workaways need to enjoy being independent. I bake sourdough bread or yeasted bread every day, do a power yoga hour every third day (welcome to join in). We have eggs from the hens etc

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Kintyre is a fabulous area for cycling, walking, exploring. Tarbert, a fishing village, is just a mile away. We have a sailing dingy and rubber dingy and lobster/ crab pots.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have good wifi. We almost always stream or download. The caravan has wifi, chromecast for streaming and a good mobile signal.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Any size van should be fine here.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Would need to discuss, but in principal, yes, well behaved hen/cat friendly pets would be welcome.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 271342379295