Peaceful homestead, mountain retreat in Zamora, Ecuador

  • Bisher 33 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 13 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Bienvenido!!
    A Shangrila-la is a 'remote beautiful place where life approaches perfection; a hideaway of idyllic beauty and tranquility; where everything is pleasant and you can get everything you want. That's the goal!

    We are peaceful freedom lovers - Doug, Crystal, & our friendly shihtzu Rawsha. We share the farm with our 2 mules: Ferris Mueller & Atilla. Also on the land is a growing community of happy chickens (for eggs, and the love of a good rooster wake up call!). We are currently looking for a new puppy to watch over our chickens, and a couple of cats.

    We started homesteading in Canada on 2020, and within a year were 100% self sufficient in growing our own fruits and vegetables.We relocated to Ecuador in August 2023, to continue our self sufficiency goals in a year round growing climate - and for the adventure!
    We have a 35Ha retreat of Jungle, fresh spring water and clean air. The property is bordered by small rivers and cascadas. Some of the land was used for cows in the past, and we are inviting the jungle to grow back in these areas.
    Our intention with this land is to create a place of peace, to be enjoyed by us, but also for community to grow.

    CABINS & COMMUNITY
    The grand vision for the property is to be self sufficient; to welcome the energy, creativity and inspiration of short and long term community; to have cabins (which will be completed March 2024) - each with its own garden and magical view - scattered around the property.
    *March 2024 Update: the cabins are now completed, so we can accommodate a community of 14 people.
    There is a larger family cabin, and some smaller cabins perfect for 1-2 people. The next step is building the gardens and fruit trees around each cabin.
    ** Most of the cabins are built within a 5 minute walk of each other - providing a balance of privacy and community. However, we have built one cabin lower on the land, which has a slightly different growing climate. This cabin is about a 15 min walk down /a 30min walk up to the other cabins. We would love to have a longer term person or couple live here for a while and set up and take care of the gardens. So if you are looking for a home away from home for a while, where you can have your now space, but be close to community - this might be perfect for you! As this cabin is lower on our land...it also means it is only about a 30 min walk up from the main road.

    A DAY ON THE FARM:
    We start the day with leisurely coffee and breakfast. Then set out to whatever tasks call to us that day - be it toiling in the gardens or going for a walk. A big lunch is usually around 1pm. The day always ends by the fire. We don't eat a big dinner, but usually have a small snack. (But food will be avail if you need a bigger dinner)

    Things we love: sitting by the fire everynight, reading, music - Doug is learning to play guitar (by the nightly fire) and we would welcome any other musical talents and instruments, baking sourdough, yoga/movement, simply being outside.

    Some things to consider while deciding if this is the right place for you:
    * We have chosen to live off grid, and free of EMF, as such the internet is joyfully not available or part of life here. We also live free of any artificial light, choosing instead to follow the light patterns of the moon and stars. This provides a beautiful opportunity to reconnect with nature, with yourself and your own circadian rhythms, and with true human interaction when freed from the distractions of technology. Phones, computers, and any other smart devices (watches etc) can be kept is a secure space in the city.
    *From the farm, it is a 25-35min min walk down the mountain, and then an hour on a paved to the town of Zamora
    *To the farm: from the paved road, there is a 45min-1hr hike up the mountain for those who are in good shape and enjoy hiking; If you are not used to hiking it can take longer, but there is no rush and the scenery is beautiful. It's very steep in parts, and can be mucky. A combination of good strength and spirit is needed!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are happy to share from our experiences in organic gardening, and from our dabbling in permaculture techniques.
    The space is also a mountain retreat. Our remoteness and freedom from electricity provides the opportunity to reconnect with your own natural rhythms, to enjoy living by candlelight and the light of the moon.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    This is what currently fills our days:
    *Current gardens need to be maintained and weeded
    *Planting fruit trees and vegetables
    *Prepping soil and garden beds for more gardens
    *Builidng composting toilets
    *Creating and maintaining trails on the property
    *Creating our compost system
    *Digging trenches and building berms

    We welcome the creativity and visions of all who stay with us.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We are in the process of learning Spanish and welcome any help!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Cabins: we have private and family style cabins.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Possible day trip adventures close by: hiking Podocarpus National Park; Swimming in Rio Bombuscaro; Touring the beautiful botanical gardens of Finca Monay (which is between Zamora and our farm).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    2-5 hrs. We take each day by day. We get what needs to be done, and we make sure we enjoy our time. We extend the same freedom to all on the land.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 267818391135

Feedback (1)


Weitere Bilder

Feedback



Give a hand on our beautiful land while exploring Ecuador, Vilcabamba
House and pet sitting at my ranch on Santa Cruz Island, Ecuador