Visit our rural farm in south of Norway and help us out with a wide range of tasks

Country

Norwegen

Bisher 117 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.08.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are continuing a legacy from the father and forefather of my wife, a small scale farm. We are a family of 4, with 2 kids aged 4 and 7, a boy and a girl. The mother of my wife is still living here, in the house next to us.

    We started up with a small herd of sheep a year or so after the farm was handed over to us. We have several projects and have set many goals we would like to achieve, and welcome any help we can get :)
    Current projects: Establishing new areas for the sheep to graze on in the spring/autumn. Maintenance of existing fields (fences).

    We chop down trees (birch) and produce firewood for sale. We also normally have at least one environmental/culturing adjustment of some area of landscape we own each year. We also try to plow, harrow and sow one of the fields of grass that we own each year. We own 4 cabins that need attendance and maintenance.

    Dependable om the time of the year we might need help with the sheep and the cows.

    Hopefully will some of these tasks be of interest for you :)
    I am an agronomist and will of course share the knowledge I have gained through studies and from farming, through discussions and through the work we do at the farm.

    Our most hectic period is during lambing. We expect about 170 lambs in april-may 2017. The lambing can occur both day and night so it can be an effort to get through it :)
    We also have a small herd of cows, these normally give birth around march-april.

    We have a wonderful nature here, and we live in a quiet, peaceful area. There are many possible activities naturewise in our "backyard" :) During winter the most popular activity around here is probably skiing or going on trips with the snowmobile. We have a lake close by for swimming etc during summer.

    My wife has a job outside the farm, she works as a teacher. I also work as a teacher 4 days a week (part time).
    Lodging: We have some seperate buildings you can sleep in.
    Food:
    Normally you will eat dinner with us. We will provide you with food for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. We welcome you to introduce us to cooking from your country if you feel like it.

    Food: We eat "normal" norwegian food; Healthy, nourishable food:
    Fresh vegetables, fish, fruit, meat, bread etc.

    Other things to note: We live far from shops and even farther away from cafees, cinemas etc :) It's about a 15 km drive to nearest grocery.

    Note that our kids are still small and require a lot of attention, they take their toll on us parents. Due to this we prefer for you to leave our house in the evenings when we put the kids to bed, so that we can have some time for ourselves as well :)

    Note: All people that would like to come to us must have an insurance that can cover any eventual accident.
    BIG NOTE: We normally only host people for 10-21 days, not more.

    To ensure that you have read our presentation, please write the word "Grond" when you apply to be hosted by us.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn about how farming is done in Norway, how we live here and how the Norwegian society works. Learn about the ways of nature and how we can use these to our advantage to create nourishable food, income, good health.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    A wide range of farm help including feeding/handling sheep and cows, forestry, maintenance, carpentry, painting, masonry,

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Norwegian, English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Cabins in close proximity to our house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a secluded area with sparse population. It is 15 km to nearest shop/other services. We live close to nature and have wonderful view out our window: Fresh air, clean environment, an abundance of water (lakes, rivers etc.), mountains, trees and grass.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Minimum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 259542358548