Tierlieber Workawayer gesucht in Abruzzo, Italien

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 73 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.08.2017

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    181

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Jane and Sue and we're both in our 50s. After spending 8 glorious years in Italy, and having some brilliant Workaway helpers there, we moved back to the UK for a while before starting on to a new project here in Languedoc Roussillon in 2014. We have a tiny two room cabin which we've extended so that we have a slightly less tiny cabin! We also have some woodland garden to tame and a new, bedroom cabin that needs some finishing work. We plan to rent out a cabin to walkers/pilgrims as soon as we can so getting things finished is a priority.

    We're located in a small village in the Haut-Languedoc Regional National Park. It's a very beautiful and wild area, popular with hikers (including pilgrims on the Chemin de St Jacques de Compostelle). It's in the middle of chestnut forests and hills, at the meeting place of two rivers, with some interesting historical remains to explore. The village has useful amenities and some transport links to the main town in the area. Our nearest city is Béziers.

    The kind of skills we are looking for are building, carpentry, tree-felling and general practical things like that - plumbing or electrial knowledge are also useful! We can offer you some good home-cooked food, plus accommodation in one of the cabins, in return for your expertise and enthusiasm. We have 2 very friendly small dogs and 2 cats, so you must be an animal lover.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Sonstige Arbeiten

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would really welcome experienced Workawayers with practical skills that are a good fit for our needs. There is some heavier work like mixing cement, helping to clear trees and dig ditches or moving earth to create some level ground. We have to carry materials up from the road too so this can mean some lifting if you're able to do it. We do have some lighter tasks so if you are a couple we could probably find you both different kinds of work to do.

    We would nearly always be working alongside you as Sue is an experienced carpenter and builder and Jane normally does the lifting and assisting, but we have found as we've got older that we just can't do as much as we used to plus we both have things that no longer work properly - bad backs and worn out knees!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, plus some French, Italian and German

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We don't have a lot of space here but you would have your own room and share the rest with us. At the moment we have a shower/toilet which is not finished but offers some privacy at least! You will have somewhere comfortable and clean to sleep and we're both good cooks - helping with a bit of food preparation might be something we'll also need, by the way.

    We may ask you to feed the cats and dogs sometimes, or take the dogs for a walk.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The village is small but has some amenities that are useful to anyone staying with us: post office, pharmacy, library, doctor, tourist information and a limited bus service. There is a bar brasserie, pizzeria and 2 bakeries (one of them is organic), a little grocers and a small weekly market. We also have a very good restaurant in the village if you want to treat yourself!

    During the summer months in particular there are a number of fêtes in the village plus lots in the surrounding villages. You can walk to the next village, approximately 4.5km distant, where there is a bar which hosts meals and entertainment most Friday nights from June to September.

    You will be within easy reach of a number of walking routes and footpaths - many routes from the village itself - so it would be ideal if you enjoy hiking. If you don't have your own transport it may be possible to get a lift sometimes but we can supply you with the bus information as we're sorry but we can't promise to take you all over the countryside.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    11 until 5 (with an hour for lunch), 5 days a week

View from the new cabin
The village centre
The main cabin (we said it was small!)
View from our garden - looking towards the Caroux-Espinouse mountains
Our cats. Mother and daughter
Our dogs. They are sisters and we call them the PIgs :)



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 2577754474c6