Small farm needs help with care of house, animals, garden and various projects. Darfield, near Christchurch, New Zealand

Country

Neuseeland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 266 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.10.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    369

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We have a beautiful and picturesque small sheep farm (50 acres) located near Darfield, which is about 45 mins from the edge of Chistchurch. The farm house is a 4 bedroom Victorian style period villa with lots of character and wonderful views. Some of our land is leased out, but we farm on the remaining 20 acres. All the sheep are very friendly, most have names and their own stories to tell. We also have 2 horses and a pony, lots of free range chickens, 2 goats, 2 dogs and a cat, all of who are friendly and love attention. There is also a large vegetable garden, a young fruit orchard, a couple of farm buildings and a river that runs through the farm.

    Celia (Mum) works 5 days a week (both from home) providing operational and accreditation support for Medical Centres, as well as running the farm, looking after the kids and everything else!
    John (Stepdad) is a Hiab Truck driver who works very, very long hours.

    Leon (9) and Freya (6) both attend Darfield Primary school and play rugby for Darfield, go to hockey (turf not ice) training, have dance lessons, attend gymnastics club and are learning to play the recorder, drums, guitar and piano. This is in-between spending most of their awake hours outside on their bikes, or getting wet in the river, or helping out on the farm!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This would be the chance to experience a real kiwi rural family lifestyle. We can share our knowledge of farm skills, animal husbandry, gardening, environmental management, sustainable living and maintenance skills. Celia can speak basic French and Welsh, John can speak 'real good' kiwi and can teach some authentic phrases and comments that definitely are not in the dictionary!!!
    Helping us would mean you could become part of our household and family. Previous helpers remain in contact with us and some even plan to return to visit us on their next trip to NZ. We've made some wonderful friends through hosting our previous visitors, and we hope that you could become friends for life.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with the following....

    -Basic help around the house (cleaning, vacuuming, washing etc)
    -Help looking after the animals; dogs, cat, chickens, sheep and horses.
    -Exercise and help look after the horses and ponies, but only if you are an experienced horse person.
    -Cooking meals some days
    -Farm and outside jobs - for example: gardening, weed and bush clearing, stacking wood, landscaping, river management, fencing, sheep work, house and building maintenance. We never run out of jobs outside the house!
    Lastly, not essential, but would be a positive...
    -French lessons/tutoring if you are a native French speaker

    This is ideal for either one person or for couples/friends. The farm is isolated but we always have someone around, and then there are always the dogs to keep you company!
    The help we need would be approx 20 hours each week....depending on what projects we have going on at the time.

    So, if you want to stay with us and have access to family and farm life then this may be just what you need!

    We would need you to:
    -speak a fairly good standard of English
    -be a non-smoker

    If you are vegetarian this is not an issue for us, but you'd need to understand that our family will be eating meat, however we would not expect you to :-)
    We are also fine to accommodate gluten free and Coeliac diets.

    We have two (very friendly) dogs and a cat who live in the house too, so you need to be happy to have animals around you.

    We can collect you from Christchurch if you have no transport of your own.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Everything would be provided for you including fun, food, internet, washing machine, bikes, fresh air and mountain views!

    You would have great company, lots of new experiences, a room/bed to stay in and no living costs.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are close to the mountains, Arthur's Pass, Castle Hill (features in Lord of the Rings & Narnia), Cave Stream, 2 Ski fields (Mount Hutt and Porters ski fields), Rakaia Gorge (Salmon fishing), Waimakariri Gorge (swimming place), local amenities at Darfield (big ice creams at the dairy, shops, library, post shop, mechanincs etc), and only an hour from Christchurch City centre.
    Canterbury is the best place to live in the world. Celia can vouch for this as she's lived in and visited many countries.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    20 hours per week, Monday - Friday.

The property needs a lot of landscaping and tidying up. There are lots of jobs that you could potentially help with
There are two very keen helpers on the farm already, but we need a bit more man power than this 5 and 8 year old can offer!
Freya is the best little helper and loves being involved with everything.
This is the view from the back of the house, the conservatory overlooks this view and it's something we never get tired of seeing.
This is Artex with a fairy Freya on board. If you have any equestrian experience then Freya would love your hrlp with her pony and the other two horses need riding as often as you like!

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 243694144434