Help with animals and landscaping on an eco farm in the Pyrenees, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 285 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.08.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello there. We are a Matt, Ali, Olea (8) and Simeon (6), who in 2015 bought a large hill farm in the Vallespir, and we have been working hard and renovating it and creating holiday accommodation ever since.

    We are a British family living in France; so the language at home is English.

    Matt has done lots of things including working as a diver, a Marine, then a computer technician and is now a forester/farmer/builder!

    Ali worked for many years as a chef on private sailing boats all around the world; and we have now settled with our family up a very beautiful mountain, near to mount Canigou. We enjoy the great outdoors, long lunches, friends, family & animals!

    We live in part of the main mas and Ali's parents live in their own house, which is in one of the outbuildings. We have no neighbours, and the village is only 5 minutes away down the track, the Mediterranean coast (and Collioure) is only 1 hour drive away and we are very close to the Spanish border so trips into Spain are very easy, even just for lunch.

    Now we having finished building Ali's parents place, and have completed building 4 holiday gites, plus the platform and summer kitchen for our yurt which we rent out too. Now we are improving our own house and working on marketing the gites and the woodworking department.

    We have our own forest, saw yard, and a good workshop for making anything out of mostly chestnut & oak.

    We also have a poly tunnel and large organic vegetable garden, and are starting to learn about and adopt permaculture methods.
    Our aim is to become self sufficient, both terms of food and energy, and create an inspiring eco environment for restful breaks and various activities and to start making an income from fire wood and carpentry.

    We have lots of animals; 2 donkeys who we take for camping trips, 2 dogs, 4 cats, various chickens, a flock of Cameroon sheep and 2 pigs. It's a great place for animal lovers!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Apart from exploring this beautiful part of France, you could also learn about animal care, organic vegetable growing, the English language! This is also a perfect place for people interested in forestry, ecological farming & permaculture.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our set up is best adapted to host a couple. We like our helpers to have a friend to go exploring with and to enjoy their free time together.
    We need help in June to get ready for the season; a little painting, possibly some varnishing and gardening.

    Any French speakers would be very useful to help kids with school work as they are not at school at the moment.

    We are behind building pool so practical guys who can give us a hand with that would be very useful!

    We also need help in July & August as we get very busy with guests in the gites. We organise activities for guests and kids; things like walks with donkeys and stopping for a picnic, guided hikes, tours around the animals and lessons is taking care of animals, and showing kids how to tend to a vegetable garden. There will be help needed with animal care, taking kids to the pool etc and doing light domestic chores (a bit of washing up after meals and getting kids to tidy up after themselves!).
    We can use pretty much any practical skills and can adapt jobs to peoples interests or skills. People who can speak French and English is helpful.

    Spring and Autumn is retreat season for us and half term holidays so we are still busy with guests doing yoga, meditation etc and can use help around the farm, prepping/serving meals and with the animals etc.

    Most of all we like positive, independent, practical and fun people who work well as part of a team but also enjoy some quiet time, and would enjoy sharing this wonderful place with us for 3 weeks- 2 months or more.
    Best suited for a couple who have their own car who don't mind living remotely and enjoy nature, hiking etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can offer a basic mobile home in a secluded spot with double bed, South facing terrace, compost toilet and hot water shower. Double bed and kitchenette with fridge. Comfy sofa on terrace. Wifi. Over the winter, we can offer one of our very comfortable gites.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are buses that go from the village into Perpignan for 1 euro and we can offer lifts wherever we are going. There could be occasional use of a car when it's not needed; but having your own car is best!

    This location is ideal for walkers, mountain bikers & climbers and lovers of peace and nature. There are many beautiful villages and small towns up & down the valley to visit, all the way to the white sandy beaches on the coast of France & Spain. Collioure is 'our St Tropez' (1 hour drive), Ceret is our biggest local town (30 mins drive) which has a great Saturday market, art galleries, restaurants etc. Barcelona is 2 and a half hours drive away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our sheep
That's us!
Amazing hikes close by
The wonderful Dani (one of our workawayers who never left!), planting potatoes on a very sunny day in March
This is the pool at Corsavy; 5 mins down track. Open & free every day July & August. Brilliant!
The lovely Robson warming up around the fire after a day in the forest.
We get a lot of sunrises like this one!

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 242995296227