1 / 5

Join our family and experience the outback in Central Australia

  • Bisher 351 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 25 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are an outback Central Australian family living on a camel farm about 20 minutes drive from Alice Springs. We are in the rural area away from city lights and shops, and there's no need to travel into the town centre unless you want to.
    We enjoy watching the stars that blanket our big skies, listening to the sounds of the birds and gazing at the changing colours of the MacDonnell Ranges that surround our home, preferably while floating in the pool during the hotter months.
    We'd like some home help, such as housework, garden, cooking and maintenance as an exchange for board and food; no paid work available. Our workaway projects do not include work with camels as we have experienced staff who are responsible for our lovely camels. However, our charismatic camels love a chat so that you can learn some of their quirky behaviours.
    Our home suits people who are looking for somewhere quiet to stop during their travels and are happy to have some connection with us but not feel they have to always be on show. We run our own business and acknowledge that we are pretty hectic without much down time. We will share loads of great stuff (if you are into nature!) to do in our area but may not be able to accompany you. The kids are now teenagers and into their own lives!
    If you're someone who is independent, mature in their self knowledge and appreciates their own space, yet happy to share a meal and stories, you will enjoy being with us.
    Please research what weather to expect in Central Australia during your visit. It's no fun if you find the weather too hot or too cold and we can't change the weather!
    Happy travelling.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We enjoy meeting people from around the world and showing them our bit of the outback Central Australia, especially introducing our camels. We hope you like hiking as there's so many wonderful hikes in our local area of the Western MacDonnell Ranges. If it's cool weather time, we'll sit around the fire outside under the blanket of stars, and if it's hot weather time, you can float in our pool looking up at the Milky Way. If English is your second language, every day we'll teach you a phrase of Aussie slang.

    Our home suits people who are looking for somewhere quiet to stop during their travels to have some alone time out of busy hostels. You are the type of person who is happy with their own company. While you appreciate the connection with us, you don't always want to be on show.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Join our family on an outback camel farm located 17km from Alice Springs. We are on a lovely rural property located in a valley within MacDonnell Ranges. Very picturesque and quiet.

    We are looking for gentle, quiet, kid-friendly, humorous, mature people to exchange 4-5 hours work for 3 meals per day. Jobs are based in / around the home include gardening, maintenance, cooking, cleaning, feeding the chickens etc. We are always looking for help from trades people such as builders, plumbers, painters, gardener and general repairs and maintenance.

    NO work is available with camels or camel farm operations, for pay, or for visa requirements.

    3 day minimum stays. Camel rides offered to long stayers! Maximum number of guest is 2 persons travelling together.
    Sound like you? Please get in touch by email, thanks

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your space is separate to main house and includes a bedroom: double bed, air-con, desk plus a breeze way kitchen / sitting area with fridge and cooking equipment. We have a swimming pool, laundry facilities, bikes to borrow and a home gym. Our home is suitable to those who don't drink or only moderately.

    Breakfast and lunch are supplied for you to make in your space: tea, instant coffee, cereal, milk, bread, butter and a choice of spreads. Lunch is a what's fresh in the garden plus other yummies. Dinner: we try to eat together at least twice a week due to our busy family responsibilities. Anyone can cook! We love to taste your home country. Depending on various things, sometimes dinners are vegetarian. You are welcome to cook your own meat if you want. We don't supply fruit, snacks, yogurt, chocolate, soft drinks, coffee beans, alcohol or cater to specific diets. If you need something bought in town, please give us a list and cash.

    We are in the outback in a rural setting. We do have insects, spiders etc that live alongside us in the outback.

    Bring your own internet provider please. Telstra service works best for mobile phones.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are very close to the Simpson Gap Nature Park in the Western MacDonnells National Park. There are many interesting hikes to do there including the Larapinta Trail. Alice Springs town is about 20 minutes drive. If you don't have your own vehicle, there are always opportunities to get a ride into town that coincides with our commutes. We have bikes to borrow and our helpers enjoy riding in the local rural area.
    We have been hosting helpers since 2015 with much enjoyment and have met so many fascinating people. Our household is a busy one with teenage children, work days and activities. We find that the happiest helpers are those who are content to immerse themselves as a part of our household rather than looking to be at the centre. You must be someone who is happy with their own company as due to our busy lives we can't promise to be your entertainment constantly.
    We try to live lightly within our environment with kindness to all beings.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 227259451622

Feedback (8)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.4)

Kommunikation: (4.4)