Eco- Farm in Central Portugal - Come and soak up in our river!!!

Country

Portugal

Bisher 526 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    56  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.01.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    1101

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Dear workaways,

    After years of hosting volunteers in the UK, we managed to secure a piece of paradise and we would love to share it with you!!

    We are looking for people to share and love our land. We are at the very beginning of our project, so you can be part of it from the start.

    A bit about the land:
    Poldras de Beira (boulders by the river) is a really unique area that was highly inhabited 100 years ago. The last people living in the area moved about 15 years ago in town, therefore everything was left to mother nature!
    Unfortunately, mimosa and eucalyptus had been taking over the local flora but nothing that cannot be dealt with (see in the picture how much we have done in 4 days with only hand tools). The river Ceife used to flow all year around but nowadays only for winter after rainy season. We believe the over plantation of Eucalyptus and the quick spread of the mimosas have lots to do with that, therefore we want them out of our land. Both we will be using as building materials. We believe in the permaculture principle of using what surround us.
    The surrounding area is stunning and hopefully you will feel in love as we did!
    The closest town is Pedrogão de São Pedro. Penamacor is only 10 minutes drive.


    Short term plans
    Get rid of the mimosas. Turn them into fences, material for the roof, tree house, toilet area….
    Build a hot water shower with nature materials and a wood burning stove fed by our firewood.
    Rediscover the stone walling
    Dig irrigation channel around our trees
    Reforestation of indigenous plants (already have lots of cork ready to be planted in)
    Trim the Olive grove and prune the vineyards
    Reinforce and fence our well(s)
    Fire- proof the land by weed control
    Create natural compost piles for the material to compost and avoid unnecessary burning
    Plaster inside and re-roof one of our houses.
    Build a round house with materials around the land
    Dig the veggie beds

    About us
    Lief is a carpenter, builder and eco-landscaper that had been looking after land since he was a child. He loves to work in co-creating with mother nature. Had been living off-grid for most of his life, he is also a good hunter and a very hard-working person.
    Noelia was a full time traveler and love to get to know deeply the culture and at most as she could of the language of the area. Now she is into herbs and permaculture and other ways of sustainable living. She enjoy spotting mushroom around the land. She loves chocolate
    Lyanz, nearly 4 years old, had been growing traveling around, so we are glad that we have finally found a place where he can root and grow wild and free. This little chap has probably planted more trees that many adults already. He is a solar powered wild child and we love him just the way he is! His Spanglish is irresistible.

    About you
    We are hoping that you are at least 18 (unless you come accompanied of an adult), strong bodied will be an advantage but also light jobs available.
    We obviously will be sharing our meals with us and you will be eating exactly the same as us. Please note, we are not vegetarian, but do cook quite a lot of pulses and vegetarian meals and there always will be a veggie option.
    A part from the land, we have a house in the town of Penamacor, where we will be staying at night. The house has hot water, washing machine and internet nearby if being fully off-grid is too much for you. We accept single applicants, but you might be have to share your room with another male or female (depending who is coming at the time that you apply) Families more than welcome, especially if you have little kids under 5 that can play with ours. Please note, the accommodation will be bunk beds.
    No minimum stay, explain us your situation and we can decide if it is worth hosting you for just a couple of days.

    PLEASE READ THIS:
    We are not looking for free labour. We genuine want to be surrounded by good people that loves what we are doing. We want to be selective about who do we let into our lives, as we are looking to make a long term friendship.
    We also work all day long, non stop. It's a basic when building up your own life. We do not expect you to do the same.

    If you are looking for your own land and applying for a workaway stay while you find your land
    Please contact us, we feel you, we had been there too! We might be able to arrange a way to stay in our place while you look for your land, instead of work a couple of hours a day just work full days so you have more days off to look around and have meeting with sellers/agents. We are quite accommodating people, so for sure we can find a deal that works for all! We had been looking for 3 years, happy to share the secret we have learn!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you are Portuguese, you can practise your English with us while you reconnect with your amazing countryside.
    If you are a foreigner, we will teach you everything that we know about looking after the land.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Helping with building, looking after the land, watering and pruning trees (we will teach all), collecting firewood...

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend
    Hungarian: Grundkenntnisse
    Tagalog: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation will be in glamping tents. Friends or couples accepted. Families more than welcome.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You can arrive to Porto or Lisboa airport, take a train to Castelo Branco and then a bus to Penamacor. We will pick you up from there :)
    In your days off, you can explore Penamacor or Castelo Branco (CB), Monsanto is also stunning!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    max 25 hours a week





































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 226497386755