Come help out at our beautiful family home near Zagreb, Croatia

  • Kroatien
  • Bisher 283 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 01.01.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi! We are a young (ish) English couple living in rural continental Croatia with our two rather ferel young children, three dogs and two cats (one old and grumpy, one young and cuddly)

    We live on an old farm situated in a beautiful location surrounded by rolling fields and forests yet only 45 minutes from Zagreb and 2½ hours from the coast.

    Our property consists of a large farmhouse, barns and outbuildings surrounded by 10 acres of orchards, vineyards and agricultural land.

    We settled here 9 years ago with the hopes of renovating and creating our perfect family home and developing our timber reclamation business.

    We came to Croatia to take a step back, to live sustainably, more in harmony with nature and raise our family in a simple rural environment..... In reality we've never worked harder in our lives and are still far from completing the project but it's been an awesome journey so far and the kids are still alive so....... #winning :)

    Invariably the arrival of the two small/not so small anymore children has slowed developments somewhat and our need for extra hands has become increasingly apparent!!!

    Since the onset of this whole Covid business we've been a little off the grid just trying to maintain our sanity and look after our little family and local community........ But we've missed the Workaway vibe and as far as we've come in the last couple of years we are now ready for extra hands to push this little project forward.

    We have become, in the last few years, a predominantly meat free house (one vegan, one vegetarian, one pescatarian and one carnivorous little boy) but my lovely wife is an awesome chef so you'll not be disappointed or ever go hungry....... But should you wish to cook then great, the kitchen is yours.

    Lastly ....... Please ignore our reply rate. We kind of switched off from the world and focused on our little family during these weird times. Check out our reviews.... We are lovely, promise :)

    Also please check the skills we need, we are chilled and fair but this isn't a holiday camp...... We have a lot to do, our life is busy so please read through everything and make sure we are going to 'fit'

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Enjoy a part of Croatia you would never usually see.... This is true rural Croatia, untouched by tourism.

    Explore the wilderness we are surrounded by, listen to the silence (when the kids are asleep or at school!), get lost in the fields, find peace and relax. Work along side nature and explore your creativity.

    We are happy to pass on all that we know and have experienced but what we most look forward to is the knowledge, experience and ideas you can bring.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    So here's where we are at.....

    The main house renovations are nearly complete but there is a lot of finishing to do and character yet to inject.....

    The beautiful original outbuildings...... All need major renovation work... oak framing, ground works, brick work, roofing, internal finishing, plumbing, electrics... We want to make this work as sustainable as possible and maintain the original 'soul' of the structures.

    The grounds..... We have a lot of land, loads. This gives us a world of opportunities but also means a lot of maintenance.... One thing we are not short of is grass! General maintenance of the land is high on the list...

    Other projects for the land include

    :The design and construction of a kids adventure playground
    :Fruit/Vegetable harvesting (and processing) when in season
    :The ongoing design and creation of an outside social/party space.... Fire pit, BBQ, pizza oven, stone and timber seating
    : The planting of trees to create a wild forest (we'd kind of like everyone who comes to plant a tree, to leave their mark here)
    :Fencing/hedging....loads of fencing
    : Building animal shelters to house all the animals we will no doubt rescue in the coming years.

    Our Timber reclamation business is based on our grounds to and there are workshop renovation works to complete there.

    We have two children, three dogs and two cats, all rescues (the animals, not the kids :) ) Our daughter is 8 and our son is 5. We are keen for them to interact, learn and play with people from varied and diverse backgrounds. They are great fun, full of mischief and personality and demand more energy than any other 'project' on site!

    We try to do as much as we can by recycling materials and working with what we have here. We have a full woodworking machinery workshop on site and a digger and all terrain forklift so skills in the use of these would be great.... They certainly make life easier and give us a world of opportunity.

    We are keen to reduce our use of chemicals in the home (outside is completely organic) by creating our own cleaning products and cosmetics...... This is ongoing and something we are exploring so any knowledge in this area would be welcome.

    So come give us a hand, bring your creativity and enjoy some time in beautiful rural Croatia.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have plenty of land so you can pitch a tent/campervan as close or as or far away from us as you like!

    We also have a cosy room in the main house set up with a bed with fresh sheets/towels etc. We can set it up to sleep 1or 2 people.

    You'll have use of the family kitchen and are welcome to eat with us, cook or help out and hang out with us whenever you like. We have two bathrooms with showers so plenty to go around.

    We eat well and love our food, particularly Asian and north African cuisine. All meals provided but you are also welcome to cook and share your recipes.

    Unlimited WiFi so you are welcome to hook up to that.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located in Dubrava, near Vrbovec. The town has a bus station with buses running to Vrbovec (which has a mainline train station) and Zagreb.... Plus various other places.

    We can pick you up from Zagreb if know in advance........

    We often drive to the lesser seen parts of Croatia to source timber so you are welcome to tag along on those trips if you fancy an adventure.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have huge amounts of space, you can park up where you want...... We can provide some sort of electrical hook up.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 226238522992

Feedback (12)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

















Help at our non-profit Hostel and enjoy the rich natural and cultural heritage in Rijeka, Croatia
Help us with chores, learn to sail, practice yoga, meditation & more at the Retreat, island Pag, Croatia