General DIY/Carpentry and Garden clearance project with friendly hosts in Eastbourne, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 6 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are offering any length of stay between now and 20th October, as we have been let down by no-shows. We would like you to help 4-5 hours a day up to 5 days a week (and then two days off if you are staying a whole week).

    I live with my adult son and we are both DBS checked and cheerful, friendly people. We own one cat, but there are several other local cats which frequent our garden. Before Covid, we hosted exchange students and enjoyed the teaching/learning about different cultures. I currently work with adults with learning disabilites and also do some respite fostering of children, hence the garden really needs to be sorted.

    COVID-19: You do not have to be double-vacinated to stay with us, but we do expect a healthy respect and understanding of the risk Covid-19 poses. We therefore expect ALL workaways (vaccinated or not) to respect social distancing within our home and to take a test (free of charge) if starting to present possible Covid symptoms during your stay with us. Please also be aware that I regularly spray our home with a disinfectant spray.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    (If you have special dietry requirements, we will accept 3 hours a day and you to arrange your own meals. The kitchen will be available for this as long as you leave it clean and tidy. We would still like to eat with you in the dining room.) We are happy to chat with our guests, so if you want to improve your English, we are happy to help! The best way to learn a language is to practise it in its country of origin with native people - and that is what you will be doing with us. We will be sharing meals together and - where possible - be gardening together. We have a variety of birds and butterflies in the garden, as well as visiting squirrels as we live next to woodland. You can also learn about the plants we are dealing with.
    I love Eastbourne - a Victorian seaside town - and the surrounding area, and can help you to decide where to visit for places suited to your interests, as well as giving you information on the local history.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are currently seeking help with general DIY home maintenance and carpentry work (such as making lockable shed doors). We are also clearing the end of our overgrown garden by particularly digging out bindweed and bramble roots. At present, what needs doing in the garden does not require skill, just good effort and dedication, so would suit people who want to gain some basic experience to start, or add to, their gardening skills. Although I have a plan of what I want to do with the garden once cleared, any input or ideas from anyone with gardening knowledge or experience would be welcomed! If I am not working, I will be out there with you, helping with the gardening: it's just too time-consuming for me to tackle alone! The English weather is not always good for gardening at this time of the year, so DIY skills indoors would be very good.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Greek: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    All my 'beginner' languages are very basic. I have tried German many times, but the best I can offer with that is to give you a laugh at my pronounciation attempts! (Yes, I have a sense of humour!)

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can offer a single/twin room or a triple room consisting of one single bed and large bunkbeds. All other facilities are shared with us: we have a separate dining room and lounge to socialize in. We also have a kitchen; a bathroom including a bath and separate shower upstairs and a wetroom (shower) downstairs. PLEASE NOTE: We do not have a TV licence and therefore live television or BBC catchup may not be watched - even through your own devices. However, you are here to chat and learn with us, are you not? 😉 (All other forms of downloads, films, YouTube, etc, are not affected.)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live next to a lovely park with woods, cafe, skatepark, playing fields (football and rugby) and a pond. The David Lloyds Centre has bowling and lazer quest, but this is expensive. We have a mainline station a five minute walk from our house with trains going to London Victoria, Brighton, and Hastings. We are fairly close to the South Downs Way with good walking country and the famous Beachy Head lighthouse. Eastbourne town and beaches are one train stop away (approx 3 miles). There are three local bus stops close by. The area also has good cycle routes. The Sovereign Centre with indoor swimming facilities is a bus ride away (can be walked/cycled). We will happily recommend places of interest to visit.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    A small campervan, such as a VW, could be parked on our driveway (we have space for two vehicles and I only have one car myself).

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (or 3hrs a day, 5days a week and provide your own meals, if you have special dietry needs),




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 217579789613