Come and help us to grow vegetables and fruits, live a creative and free rural life. Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 43 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.02.2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am on a quest of creating a self sustainable lifestyle, in which I don't require a paid job for survival, and can thus live independently.
    It is a family farm, in the south east of Australia, two hours east of Melbourne. The region is called Gippsland, and is renowned for its beautiful natural wonders, and agriculture.
    To the north, we look to the base of the Great Dividing Range, and in the winter, "snow-capped peaks" brush the horizon.

    Over the last 7 years or so I have been living and traveling around Australia and other parts of the world. These trips involved a lot of couch surfing, hitch hiking, workawaying, and living on the street. I have been so well looked after and welcomed by people in their home land, and consequently gained many ideas and different perspectives on how to be living our life. Not only do I want to share my hospitality with you and show you my life, but also have your help for any period of time to work, create and laugh.

    You can enjoy the bar to drink or smoke, play music and dance, watch the stars or fire. You can build a tree house, dig a cave, paint, swim in the dam, ride the horse. There is a lot of space for you to enjoy life, and we can start building a beautiful, cohesive community.

    You don't need ANY practical skills or experience, as I am giving you opportunity to learn and try.
    However if you do have some skills to use outdoors, this will give us more options and you will be able to work more independently.

    My father, sister and one of my brothers live on the farm as well. They all have great interest in this lifestyle, however their working commitments limit their time available.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in rural Victoria, and although we are creating our own culture somewhat, we are living closely with the land and surrounds. To learn from the natural world around you is as beneficial as learning off each other. Here you can learn how to build soil fertility, grow vegetables and herbs from seed, concrete, drive a tractor, learn about the native birds and trees. In exchange maybe you can tell me how you do it in your homeland.

    I have so much freedom here with how I spend my time. You will have the same chance to sit back and think of what they really want to do.
    We also have an airstrip on the farm, so I could take you for a birds-eye view over Gippsland.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Like I mentioned, I am growing vegetables and some fruit to feed myself and my family. This requires lots of time and patience, and in order to be sustainable, more hands! We also have chickens, ducks, dogs, birds, and a horse. On the farms is some cows and sheep. The farm spans a few hundred acres, so loads of space to let your mind and feet wander. There are many jobs that involve cleaning up the garden, houses and sheds; weeding, pruning, planting, sorting and disposing of junk, organising sheds and contents.

    There are also innumerable jobs across the farm like fencing, chainsaw work, cattle work, concreting.
    The main idea that I have, is to have fun, be creative and environmentally mindful, and give you the opportunity to do the same. That way, when we all use our imagination, the opportunities are endless.

    I have some other projects underway, and one of them involves planting a lot of trees, to try and heal the surrounding lands. Both in town and on peoples farms. This year I will be planting 600 or so trees on our farm, and hopefully more around the community.
    I am also aspiring to create a community vegetable garden in Glengarry which will be a really fun project.

    I hope to over the next few months develop a vegetable garden down on the river, in which we could sell or give away.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The choices are between your own bedroom in the main house, or in a caravan. (We will be working to fix another caravan soon).
    One of my highest priorities is to cook and consume wholesome, healthy and happy food. I generally have muesli or cooked breakfast, which will be provided. Salad or leftovers for lunch, and then cook usually a vegetarian dinner. I don't expect you to supply your own food, however, some fresh fruit or bread is welcome on arrival. I eat meat infrequently, and generally only on request or if is cooked for me. The sheep and beef is produced here on the farm, and is very tasty.
    I don't booze very much, however I understand if you like to. we generally have limited beer available, so if you want to drink a lot, I suggest you buy it when we venture into town.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    As mentioned, Gippsland and the surrounds feature many beautiful places. There are heaps of National Parks which are all free, and within a couple of hours drive. The Ninety mile beach, Wilson's Promontory, Tarra Bulga, Gippsland Lakes, Baw Baw ranges, the Southern Alps, the Buchan Caves. There are so many places to feast your eyes and soul. There will sometimes be car available for your use, however I will be interested and available to show you these places too. Also bicycles to ride.

    If you are not wanting to cross the country side, there is also a river at the bottom of the farm to kayak and explore, trees to climb, art to create, or music to play. We can go to the Glengarry Pub(the nearest town) to soak up the culture and local chit chat.
    Glengarry is 8km away, and takes about 20minutes by bike.

    We also have lots of books in which I enjoy reading, and musical instruments.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.5)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 215293922842