1 / 5

English and French speaking family living in the beautiful Livradois Forez national park, France!

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 111 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 16.01.2023




  • Beschreibung


    We are an English-speaking family living in the beautiful Puy De Dome, France. We are currently updating a 1930's house back into a family home and we have 4 children - a boy aged 11 and three girls aged 13, 15, and 17. It's a big friendly house with amazing mountain and forest views. We also have an enormous garden that we are trying to tame and to establish a kitchen garden. We love to cook and make everything ourselves from wild yeast bread to homemade butter and cakes with homemade clotted cream. Aside from running a B&B and a cheese tasting experience, we write and broadcast about food, drink, and family travel, however, we are only asking for workaway assistance within the family home and not with any of our professional projects.

    Nous sommes une famille anglophone vivant dans le magnifique Puy De Dôme, France. Nous avons 4 enfants, un garçon de 9 et 3 filles de 11, 13 et 16 ans. C'est une grande maison conviviale avec des vues incroyables sur la montagne et la forêt. Nous avons également un énorme jardin que nous essayons de maintenir, mettre à jour l'ancienne cabane dans les arbres, l'ancienne piscine et établir un potager. Nous aimons cuisiner et faire tout nous-mêmes - du pain de levure sauvage, du beurre fait maison et des gâteaux britanniques. En dehors de la chambre d'hôte, nous écrivons sur la nourriture, les boissons et les voyages en famille.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Being an English-speaking household, you would be immersed in the English language! The children would help anyone improve their English and I teach an advanced English class in the village. Whether you need conversational practice or formal lessons, it would not be a problem. I have also coached a student in English Literature for the BAC and assisted others with business English. If you are interested in food, wine, or French life, we would be more than happy to show you around the markets, introduce you to the world-famous Auvergne produce, or even teach you to cook. Tap dancing classes are also possible but you'll need your own shoes!

    Être un ménage parlant anglais, vous seriez certainement immergé dans la langue anglaise! Les enfants aideront toute personne à améliorer son anglais et J'enseigne un cours d'anglais avancé dans le village. Si vous voulez des leçons formelles, ce n'est pas un problème. J'ai également entraîné un étudiant en littérature anglaise pour le BAC et aidé d'autres personnes en anglais des affaires. Nous pouvons également vous apprendre à cuisiner, faire du fromage, du cidre et d'autres délices de la France et de la Grande-Bretagne.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for French speakers that would help us improve our French conversation and to assist our youngest child with their French homework and pronunciation when reading in French. Someone who is happy to play with the children (in French!) help with homework, general day-to-day communication skills and assist with any creative educational projects we dream up along the way! All the children attend the village school but as we are an English speaking household it is hard to maintain our language skills on the long breaks from school.

    We are also happy to host those with other languages and cultures. Two of my children are currently studying Spanish and all of us would love to learn some Polish so we can better communicate with our family in Poland!
    There's always lots to do around the house and garden, but we try to do most projects as a family. Everyone helps, whether it is designing the wallpaper, stenciling the floor, or planting pumpkins, we try to make the 'work' fun (whilst being educational). It might take a while and not be perfect, but we all end up with the satisfaction of having 'done it ourselves!

    We all keep the house tidy but the offer to help with the washing up never goes amiss!! Gardening is another area we really need help – I would love to have a kitchen potager that actually survives a season and am desperately in need of any advice!

    Nous recherchons des francophones qui nous aident à améliorer notre français - quelqu'un qui est heureux de jouer avec les enfants (en français!) Aider avec les devoirs, les compétences de communication au jour le jour et aider à tous les projets éducatifs créatifs que nous rêvons! Tous les enfants fréquentent l'école du village mais comme nous sommes un ménage anglophone, il est difficile de maintenir nos compétences linguistiques sur les longues pauses de l'école.

    Il y a beaucoup à faire autour de la maison et du jardin, mais nous essayons de faire la plupart des projets en famille. Tout le monde y contribue, qu'il s'agisse de la conception du papier peint, du mobilier recyclé ou de la plantation de citrouilles, nous essayons de rendre le «travail» amusant (tout en étant éducatif). Cela peut prendre du temps et ne pas être parfait, mais nous finissons tous avec la satisfaction d'avoir «fait nous-mêmes» !!

    Nous gardons tous la maison bien rangée, mais l'offre d'aide à la vaisselle ne va jamais de travers !! Le jardinage est un autre domaine où nous avons vraiment besoin d'aide - j'adorerais avoir un potager de cuisine qui survit à une saison et j'ai désespérément besoin de conseils !

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We are very happy to teach/converse in English and would love to learn and improve other languages - especially French, Spanish and Polish.

  • Unterkunft


    You would have a private bedroom with connecting private bathroom (shower, w.c. and washbasin). Living as one of the family, we all eat together. Mostly everything is homemade from fresh locally sourced produce and we especially love cheese!! In the summer we mostly eat outside and BBQ quite a bit. Eventually, we hope to build an outside kitchen complete with bread/pizza oven. As a professional chef, I have experience of adapting dishes for vegetarians, coeliacs, and those with other dietary requirements - but please let us know in advance!!

    The household is non-smoking.

    Vous avez une chambre double privée avec salle de bain privée (douche, w.c. et lavabo). Vivant comme un membre de la famille, nous mangeons tous ensemble. Surtout tout est fait maison avec des produits frais et locaux et nous aimons particulièrement le fromage! En été, nous mangeons surtout à l'extérieur et barbecue un peu. Finalement, nous espérons construire une cuisine extérieure complète avec four à pain / pizza. En tant que chef professionnel, j'ai l'expérience de l'adaptation des plats pour les végétariens, les cœliaques et ceux qui ont d'autres besoins alimentaires - mais s'il vous plaît laissez-nous savoir à l'avance.

    La maison est non-fumeur.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The village of Olliergues is just a few minutes walk down the hill (takes longer walking back up!!) and has plenty of shops, bars, a pizzeria, hairdressers, library and even a beauty spa. There is a small market on a Saturday and an artisanal market on Sundays in the summer. The towns of Ambert and Thiers are only 30 minutes away with regular busses. There are lots of things to do in the local area including lake swimming, climbing, hang gliding, zip-wires, horse riding, fishing and we are less than 30 minutes for several ski stations and sledging areas.
    The cities Clermont Ferrand and Vichy are just an hour away and central Lyon is 90 minutes.

    We often go on adventures with the children - to museums, parks, galleries, ice-skating or swimming - and you would be welcome to join us. There are also many events during the year including music festivals and firework displays.

    Le village d'Olliergues est à quelques minutes à pied de la colline (il faut plus de temps pour monter la colline!) Il y a des magasins, des bars, une pizzeria, des coiffeurs, une bibliothèque et un salon de beauté. Il y a un petit marché le samedi et un marché artisanal le dimanche en été. Les villes d'Ambert et Thiers sont à seulement 30 minutes avec des bus réguliers. Il ya beaucoup de choses à faire dans la région, y compris la natation, l'escalade, le deltaplane, les tyroliennes, l'équitation, la pêche et nous sommes à moins de 30 minutes pour plusieurs stations de ski et des zones de luge.
    Les villes de Clermont Ferrand et Vichy sont à seulement une heure et le centre de Lyon est à 90 minutes.

    Nous partons souvent en aventure avec les enfants - dans les musées, les parcs, les galeries, le patin à glace ou la natation - et vous êtes invités à vous joindre à nous. Il y a aussi de nombreux événements au cours de l'année, y compris des festivals de musique et des feux d'artifice.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have a good wifi connection and there is access to office equipment and lots of areas in which to work quietly.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 199489477385

Feedback (2)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Help me improve my English and exchange cultures close to Lille, France
Looking for help tidying up our fields in Saint Michel, France