Come and be part of a small off grid community, nestled in the beautiful Portugese countryside.

Country

Portugal

aktualisiert  

Bisher 58 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.08.2019

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello, we are part of a small off grid community, nestled in the beautiful Portugese countryside. Our community currently consists of 9 full time members and many more friends, visitors, retreat participants and volunteers visit throughout the year. The community was established 4 years ago so we are still growing, building, finding our way and trying to establish a more enjoyable lifestyle than the ones we left behind.

    We have 4 separate plots of land dotted around a mountain and central hub which has accommodation for retreats, visitors and volunteers. This gives people the benefit of balancing the freedom of a private place to call home and the many advantages of community life. We grow some fruit and veg, have dogs, cats, a couple chickens and some horses. We (Jamie, 35, Hannah, 33 and Phoenix, 17 months) have been part of the project for a few years (except little Phoenix with just 17 months service recorded). In 2017 we bought some land with an old ruin and space for a couple of horses. We parked up a caravan and got to work. Now, we have a useable bedroom and functional bathroom in the house. We will soon have our lovely caravan (the goddess) available as stand alone accommodation. We share the land with our 2 small/medium size pooches (very friendly) and 2 horses. It's been a rewarding experience with its share of challanges along the way. The community quadrupled from 1 to 4 plots in 18 months and we hope steady growth will continue over the coming years. Our structure is relatively independent. We have regular bring a dish, skillswaps and workshops.
    Over the Spring/Summer we host retreats, guests and volunteers with the Winter months being quieter. The community is mostly but not exclusively vegetarian. We come from a diverse range of backgrounds, Countries (UK, Germany, Belgium) and professions.

    Together and individually, we aim to live a bit closer to nature, enjoy the feeling of freedom that comes with being off grid and to make purposeful step away from governments and hierarchy that have proven themselves unfit to govern on too many occasions to be ignored.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kinderbetreuung
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Be part of a growing community, make new friends, healthy (mostly organic) food. Private, self contained accommodation (caravan). We have life coaches, builders, health and cleanse specialists, dog trainers, fire walkers and yoga teachers who live here and offer skill shares as required. Learn about off grid life and farming in a very beautiful part of rural Portugal, great climate and local produce.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for someone (or a couple) to offer support with childcare, cooking general domestic/light farm work.
    Must have experience (not professional) with and a passion for childcare and a reasonable level of cooking expertise.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Modern (2012) 4 birth caravan with a fixed bed, kitchen, toilet with shower, sofas etc. The caravan is in it's own field close to the main house with a small decking area and fire pit. There is a pond and a stunning view. The rest of the community is all contained in less than a kilometer.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Great hikes with food foraging and beautiful scenery, Bike available and can offer transport to visit local towns/city's if required, community skill shares. Many lakes, mountains traditional Portugese treats to be enjoyed. The ideal person will be happy to live relatively independently, there are always people around but we can be busy at times so will not always be able to socialise. Our closest town, Fundao, is 25 minutes away by car, there is a small cafe within walking distance. If you dont have transport you should be happy to live remotely.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 197692777571