Varied tasks in the quiet countryside of Aurland, Norway



Bisher 355 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    I live together with my boyfriend Kristjan (from Iceland) on a small farm with my dog, cat, 3 icelandic horses, and some chickens. The farm is 5 km from the village/shops. It is situated 100m above sea level, surrounded by beautiful mountains and close to the fjords.
    It is also possible to go for a ride with one of the horses. About 15km away is Flåm where the railway to Myrdal goes from, making a connection between the Bergen-Oslo railway.
    It is possible for you to borrow a bike whilst you are here.
    In the winter temperaturea vary; it can be as cold as minus 10 degrees C! Although it is more often that temperatures vary between plus 7 and minus 5. It also snows sometimes.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am very fond of handcraft; of making things of leather, tanning skins, brewing beer the traditional way, and making wine from the start (as opposed to from a kit). I am very engaged in aquiring my own food; most of the meat I eat is from animals that I have slaughtered myself or exchanged with the neighbours. I am British and speak Norwegian fluently, so you have the opportunity to improve your English or learn Norwegian. If you have been stuck "in the fast lane" then this is the perfect place to be to take "time out" and see life from another perspective together with a slightly mad English woman who thinks it's completely normal to tan a goat and use it as a handbag, is 47 and has just bought a hoverboard that she is trying to tame :)
    It is possible to take a walk in the nearby area; enjoy the forest and the nature, listen to the owls calling in the evening. My work includes teaching students how to milk cows, feed and care for the animals at school (cows, goats, sheep and horses). I am also the workhorse teacher, and am a trained hoof trimmer, so as a hobby job I trim the hooves of unshod horses.
    Depending on the time of year you may be able to join me on a trip to the mountains with a packhorse, to go fishing :)

  • Arbeit


    You should be able to, and enjoy helping independantly as I have a full time job teaching at the farming school 5 km away.
    As I live in an old house there is quite a bit of maintenance work to do, and all sorts of odd chores, painting, general maintenance, also fixing fences. It is useful if you have carpentry and handy skills, but there are tasks here to suit most people. Other tasks may include cutting and splitting wood, training horses, picking up horse dung. Sometimes you are welcome to join me at my work, as a variation, and as it's nice to meet other people :) The average age of the students is about 25.

    I have a cabin in the mountains, beside the main road. It has no electricity, so cooking is done on the wood burner oven or gas. There is some work that needs doing on it (for example painting the outside). It is 14 km from my home. So it is possible for someone to stay there for a few days in the summer to help, and take trips in the nearby mountains 😊

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Icelandic: Fließend
    Norwegian: Fließend
    Mongolian: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    I live in an old farmhouse; some parts are 200 yrs old. You wil have your own bedroom (not heated). There is a modern bathroom and toilet (!). My meals consist of a variety of meat, fish, beans, lentils, egg, vegetables. I can cater for a vegetarian, but not for a vegan. I do not use wheat flour; but I do use dinkel/spelt and rye. I also use dairy products in cooking. I will make most of the meals but if you enjoy cooking then it would be great to take turns and to have help with the washing up, and general houswork. Heating in the house is from a woodburner oven (apart from in the bathroom). It can be cold in the winter as improving the insulation is still on the "to do" list!
    I do not have internet (only via my phone) or a TV at home, but it is possible to go to the cafè in the village 5.5 km away on bike and get access to the internet.
    I live slightly out in the countryside, although I do have neighbours. Good neighbours :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I have a bike that is possible to borrow. Take a hike to the fjord or the mountains. Skiing is also possible :)
    It is possible to hire a kayak and paddle on the fjord.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 192213482579