Help tutoring 3 bright cheerful American kids in Dharamshala, India, foothills of the Himalayas



Bisher 59 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    54.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 30 Tage


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    I am a happy mom living with my three children in the foothills of the Indian Himalayas. Our home looks out across terraced fields to snowy mountain peaks... a stunning backdrop to our peaceful rural life. But we are not isolated! Just a half hour drive from McLeodganj, India, home of the Dalai Lama, this area is a not just a gorgeous hill station, but a diverse cultural melting pot of local Indians, Tibetan refugees, Western expats, and tourists...
    My kids run around the local village, ride their bikes through the fields, swim in the nearby river, go trekking in the mountains... They love to travel, are super social and accepting of the many guests who come to stay.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit


  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in an incredible place. There is something for everyone here... This part of India is warm and welcoming to foreigners. There are lovely little walking paths through the villages to explore- you will get invited for cups of chai everywhere you go... as well as weddings and poojas and family feasts! If you are intrigued by Buddhism, there are classes and teachings not far away. If you are interested in Indian culture, you are surrounded by it! If you want to learn a bit of Hindi, we can help you get started, and there are plenty of opportunities to practice.

  • Arbeit


    While my kids are enrolled in a decent International school locally, I am looking for a bit of extra help for each of them. My eldest son (13) is super intelligent, but needs help learning literature, essay writing and creative writing. My youngest son (8) is a bit developmentally behind... he is bright, enthusiastic about learning, but needs some individual attention to help him with the basics. And my daughter (12) would love someone to help look over her studies with her.
    While I help as much as I can with the kids' studies, I think it would be amazing to have someone fun living here with us and working with them. They can work in the afternoons after school, weekends, or even take the occasional day off school.
    My kids love people, and really respond well to the friends and family who have lent a hand in the past. Sometimes Mom is just not the right person!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Hindi

  • Unterkunft


    We have a separate house for guests. It is sometimes shared with other people coming to work or visit... but it is a huge space and you will have your own room.
    We have staff for cooking and cleaning... you will be very well fed!
    We typically eat both western and Indian foods... but they can learn anything you teach them! So if there are dishes you miss, just spend some time in the kitchen helping them to learn... and add to the repertoire. Fresh bread, homemade hummus and pesto... these are some of the things you don't normally find in a home in India!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have two vehicles going up the hill to town at various times of the day for work and school drop-off/pick-up. You can catch a ride with us or grab a bus fairly easily. It's lovely to wander through villages and swim in the local river, but you might want to meet some other expats and enjoy a cappuccino at one of the many cafes in town. It is just half hour up the hill by car!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 183661933119