Help us out around our family home and garden, Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Wales



Bisher 116 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    January 2020 - update - currently we have available a private room inside our home (caravan too cold), with a single mattress on the floor and plenty of blankets etc. Shared bathroom and kitchen, WiFi available. We need help with shed building, housework, cooking, children entertaining, all welcome for whatever you can offer. 3 weeks maximum stay. 2 hours a day help as swap for accommodation, provide your own food or work more hours to share, to be discussed.

    We live in our detached family home on the popular island of Anglesey, North Wales and have a 4 berth caravan (sleeps 2 sharing comfortably and 2 tiny bunks) in the garden with electric hookup, compost toilet outside and access to our kitchen and bathroom, wifi too. When this is full we sometimes take volunteers for 1-2 weeks in a bedroom in the house, an empty room with a rug and a foam mattress on the floor.

    We live in the famous village of Llanfairpwllgwyngyll which has 2 pubs, coopertive supermarket, post office, bakery, shops, hairdresser, a few take aways. We were both brought up locally and can advise on many places to visit. The village is linked to public transport by bus and train, or taxis. We're friendly and approachable, often busy out and about and understandably need some personal space with our kids, as well as happy to take you with us where possible and advise for your travels, we have had many guests via rentals before and volunteers both singles/couples and families.

    September 2019, we have had some lovely volunteers and achieved a lot!
    We currently need help with laying concrete, building a shed, breaking apart pallets, creating a new raspberry area, chopping and storing logs, mowing, hedge cutting, bramble clearing, nettle removing, garage tidying. Some painting inside on rainy days. Sometimes childcare and dog walks, our kids particularly enjoy other kids staying! Washing up, tidying, sweeping also sometimes. Depends on the day, weather and your skills.

    We encourage you to do 2 hours volunteering in exchange for staying here, and you look after your own food / cook for yourself using our kitchen (there is a toaster, kettle, fridge in caravan).
    If you do need food provided we can talk about this and doing more hours as a swap for food e.g. 4 hours a day, sharing meals can be fun. We prefer to just do this on some days.
    Volunteers have done both before and it has worked well, it depends on the needs each day really so its useful if some days we dont need to provide so we are all free to do our own thing. You can also work longer days to take days off too, that suits us well as we encourage you to go off adventuring! Sometimes we can transport you to assist.

    We have a dog - a springer spaniel, and 3 chickens.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We're very friendly and I imagine you'll pick up lots of English being around us and our kids. We are both fluent Welsh speakers too and use Welsh with our children sometimes, and can share some of the Wales cultural norms and traditions. We have had 8 different sets of volunteers before - they helped out where needed in family life and did lots of specific jobs outside and then spent time on their own relaxing and exploring, hopefully we can find a balance that works for everyone.

  • Arbeit


    We'd like to be flexible and finds the tasks that suit you and us best when you arrive. Cooking and housework always useful, vegetable gardening needed if you have experience, various tasks around the home, bit of painting and patching up here and there, clearing areas of weeds, mowing, hedgecutting, supermarket shop, walking the dog, helping on building projects alongside us, playing with my children alongside me, hanging out washing, tidying. Just examples. Please get in touch to discuss. We encourage you to independently explore the local area and we can sometimes provide lifts / take you with us, we are happy to find a balance that works for everyone - it often depends on whether we all fit in the car.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Welsh: Fließend
    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Private small caravan with sink and electric hookup - compost loo outside, share the main house bathroom (shower etc) and kitchen with us. No heating (to be discussed for Nov-March), no cooking in the caravan. Water from mains tap, fill up containers. Please remove shoes for the caravan and keep it clean to reduce wear and tear. Happy to discuss how we can make it comfortable for your stay - we have had people stay for 4 weeks before.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    It is important not to make too much noise in the evening and night as our children will be going to bed. There's tons to explore on the island and amongst the mountains. Happy to advise. Visitors who have stayed before have usually visited our many local castles and enjoyed beach trips, bird watching, woods, mountains etc.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    2 hours a day for accommodation, please do your own food.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 183192733769