Help transform my family home into a sanctuary for global Gaians, near Cumberland, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 34 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.08.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello and welcome to my nest in the charming village of Cumberland B.C. My cosy home is my sanctuary, nestled on a quiet street, next to a forest and minutes from the hip and funky downtown heart of Cumberland. We are a short bike ride to a huge lake in one direction, and the ocean in the other direction. We are blessed to be located near ski hills and surrounded by a Community forest.
    I’m a self-employed musician, writer, teacher and body worker who offers Embodied Sound Movement treatments and classes from my in-house studio. I’ve travelled extensively; most recently to a Holistic Retreat Centre in China where I was hired to write and record music and hold special ceremonies as the Ceremonialist. Meditation, yoga, singing and dance are my daily practices. I am a member of the International Holistic Centres Network as an individual with a dream to offer creative sanctuary and education though my emerging centre.
    Home grown organic food is the foundation of a healthy life, so growing, harvesting and cooking and is an essential part of my life. Delicious food comes from my small kitchen, and I love to cook for others as an act of service. Hosting Dinner parties and house concerts are my winter passion.
    I’ve got a big beautiful yard that I’m transforming into a meditation garden with a cabin and a yurt, with the intention of hosting foreign travellers who seek a peaceful reprieve from their busy lives. This has been my home for over 30 years and it’s full of love, music, parties, and the energy of my daughters and grandchildren. It is a place where dreamers dream and artists find inspiration.
    In welcoming work-away travellers, I am looking forward to sharing stories of travel, and learning about your customs and interests. I’m grateful for the experience and expertise of landscapers, builders, artisans, cooks and technology geeks. At this time my exchange is to feed and accommodate you; in the future there may be paid positions. No matter what your skill or interests are, you will be welcome to contribute your unique talents for the duration of your stay. This home and host welcomes diversity of gender, race, age and ability. It is wheelchair accessible.
    Warmly,
    Joanna

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I’m very familiar with wild plants, living off the grid, chopping wood, living as an eco conscious steward of Vancouver Island. I can show you where to forage for wild food.

    I’m a fifth generation Vancouver Islander; I love sharing history and the customs passed down from the early settlers.

    I’m familiar with First Nations history and customs; I’ve lived in remote First Nations communities and can take you to meet indigenous elders.

    I love to bike, hike, canoe, swim and explore wild places. I’ll share the beauty of my island with you.

    I can communicate in English and French; I know some Spanish, Italian and Mandarin.

    I play several instruments and can teach music, songwriting and voice technique. I’m a poet and published writer; I can help you with English communication.

    If you'd like to improve your cooking abilities, I can teach everything from bread baking to gourmet five course meals, while cooking on a limited budget.

    I’m an expert at conservation and encourage my guests to be mindful of water consumption, and wastefulness in every way. My motto is “Live Simply and Flourish”

    I’m curious to learn from you too. What can you teach me? I’d like to learn how to build a cabin. I’d like to learn songs and dances from your country, and anything else that you feel passionate about.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Thanks for your services! I mostly need help with general maintenance, gardening, and building. I could really benefit from a tech wizard to clear up some computer issues and web/ graphic design. Housework help is always appreciated and if you’re a wonderful cook I’d be happy to take days off from cooking. As a bonus, if you're a musician, dancer or yoga instructor, I always enjoy communication through sound and movement.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Chinesisch (Mandarin): Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Single occupancy private home with two guest bedrooms upstairs, or the option to sleep in a tent in the yard, with bedding and mattress provided.
    I live here full time, so we share the house. There is one very large bathroom, a small kitchen, (I prefer to do most of the cooking, as my kitchen is my sanctuary) a dining room, a music room with piano, harp, guitar, percussion instruments, penny whistles and a ukulele; a back porch with table and chairs, a front porch with chairs, a basement with laundry facilities (I use the clothes line whenever possible and encourage guests to do the same) My massage studio and bedroom are the only private areas in the house. Guests have access to all other places.

    During your stay in exchange for 4-5 hours of work every day, except one day a week, I will provide all your meals. If you need two days or more off each week we can adjust the number of meals I provide- maybe cut out lunch or dinner. Together we will decide what works best for us both. There are no rules; just agreements.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Cumberland is full of restaurants offering a wide variety of culinary options, artisan shops, a brew pub, a museum and lots of interesting local characters. It’s historically a mining town and remnants of this lifestyle can be found in the landscape.

    There are buses into town (Courtenay/Comox) and bike rental shops.

    Comox lake is a 10 minute bike ride away where you can rent paddle boards or canoës. Cumberland is renowned for its mountain biking trails and beautiful river walks.

    The whole valley is exceptionally beautiful with ocean beaches, lakes, rivers, farms, a ski hill, a university, sports centres, theatres and home to many festivals all throughout the year. It’s a mostly caucasian resource and arts community but slowly more people from diverse cultures and lifestyles are making the Comox Valley home.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I have good internet action and there’s time every day for you to work on your own projects. I prefer my Workaway guests to work in the morning from 8:30-12:30 and take the afternoon off. Depending on weather, and the season.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 173231796228