Help me create a dry organic garden in the heart of the Minervois, the South of France

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 36 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 28 Juni 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    I am evolving a garden into a dry garden to make it more climate appropriate and preserve water resource. About two-thirds of the garden was planted with mediterranean plants in Feb 2022 and I will do more planting in March 2023. I want to plant a wild flower enclosure for my two native tortoise. The garden is managed organically and no pesticides have been used for over 2 years. The garden was designed by a renowned local organic garden landscape team who are guiding me through the process. Jobs include clearing, weeding, pruning, planting.

    The garden belongs to a "Maison de Maître" built in 1880. I am renovating the house to lower carbon emissions and improve energy efficiency

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I came here from London, looking for a change of lifestyle after many years working in media for a well-known environmental brand where I developed my interest in sustainable tourism. I have worked in Paris and before that in Italy.

    My overall ambition is to create a small, sustainable hospitality business that is rooted in its local context. I work with local builders and businesses and use local and/or local suppliers where I can. I am trying to develop along the lines of "slow tourism" championed by the local tourist office.

    I have learned a lot and am continuing to learn about building renovation and the challenges of our local climate (floods and drought !)

    I would love to host workawayers who are interested in sustainable tourism but am happy to host anyone who would just like to find out more about a historic rural area.

  • Arbeit


    I am looking for people who are interested in exploring this very peaceful and authentic area of rural France and who are happy to help out with gardening and small DIY jobs (painting, carpentry etc.).

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am a qualified TEFL teacher. I do about 6 hours a week teaching online.

  • Unterkunft


    Double room with own bathroom available. All food provided through the stay including days off.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The house is in a village in the heart of the Minervois which is a wine-growing region. Its a great place to experience rural France. There are many farms and wineries that practice innovative bio-dynamic and organic techniques. Driving licence and car a plus to explore the area but I can also lend bicycles. My mother tongue is English but I speak good French and can speak either. There are beautiful walks in the countryside and lots of villages and towns to explore. The village has shops, a bar / bistro and a heated indoor swimming pool. Several other villages within cycling / hiking distance. The village is approximately one hours drive from the coast. Toulouse and Montpellier are approximately an hour and a half away by car. Train stations at Carcassonne (30 mins by car) and Narbonne (40 mins by car). Barcelona is 3 hours drive or a direct train from Narbonne.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Good internet connection

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is parking in front of the house and 2 minutes away which can accommodate camper vans but there are no electric or water hook ups.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 169264627599

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder