Companionship and help around the house in the beautiful Gower in Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 273 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.09.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    58.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 14 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

  • Abzeichen

 
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    UPDATE
    We are still forming our team and due to a change in circumstances will need one more lady to join our little caring community from October onwards for at least 11 month's. The sum up is it's a compensated part time role as a helper, working to support my gran, the house, garden and each other! (Most of the job consists of having tea with my grandma by the sea haha)

    The non negotiables are:
    - only for 1 female helper
    - you must have a good level of English
    - you must be self employed in the UK
    - we can discuss accomodation if you wish to live-in or you can live elsewhere and come in as a part time role.
    - You must be calm and enjoy a peaceful daily rythum, best suited for someone who wants to grow through community living, who loves nature, cooking, growing and understands self-time.

    Current team members:
    Ellie: part time Carer lives elsewhere (age 61)
    Jenny: live-in helper (age 71)
    Emma: part time- lives elsewhere and will be leaving the team from the end of September. This will be the available role.
    Isabella: I have been Caring for my grandparents for 5 years, I coordinate things now and will be your introductory Elven assistant (29)
    Rosie: Also Caring for grandparents for many years, helps out when possible (26)

    Please read on to find out more!

    Overview:

    Hello and welcome to our profile, my name is Isabella and I live on the Gower in South Wales with my grandmother Rosemary. Rosemary has a condition of vascular dementia, but doesn't let that stop her from exploring, going on road trips, gardening, doing artwork and visiting lots of little seaside or woodland coffee shops. We are in a beautiful house looking over a valley with a river and a church dating back to the 13th Century. We are 20min walk from the best Gower beach for swimming and surfing! I will be studying a masters degree so I need someone to support iny place. It's a great opportunity to discover the Welsh culture and Gower beach culture and get involved with our creative family!

    Our family are looking for someone who is looking for a long-term job, one year and we will then re-evaluate, we will pay at least the national minimum wage and possibly accomodation, no personal care is involved or medication aid- it's a companion and help around the house role. We have had workawayers live here for the past 6+ months helping around the house, however we feel to invite one lady to stay for a longer time and compensate fairly for the time and responsibility. The conditions are minimum 11 months due to the nature of the job and creating a calm community environment.

    Your job would consist of:
    - keeping my gran companion, she is naughty and sweet and a joy to be around.
    - cooking once a day
    - helping with cleaning
    - daily coffee trips/walk adventure with Rosemary
    - team building with the other ladies

    Hours:
    Week 1&3
    - Monday 12:30-6:30pm
    - Saturday 2pm-8pm
    - Sunday 2pm-8pm

    Week 2&4
    - Friday 6:30pm + night till 10am
    - Saturday 2pm-8pm + night till 10am
    - Sunday 2pm-8pm
    - Monday 12:30-6:30pm

    If we agree on a live-in basis then the other days not on shift will be a workaway exchange experience for food and accommodation and will entail different jobs.

    Fun tasks include having random tea parties, going on little walk or a trip to the sea, visiting local castles, and we have an art studio downstairs and a electronic/woodworking room that needs some tlc and tidying- so lot's of project spaces too. We have a big beautiful garden where you can plant thing's, we have fruit bushes, sage and apples and even figs if summer is hot enough! We have a gardener, so it's really leisure and planting food in the garden if your inspired to have fresh salad.

    Breakdown:

    Expected tasks: Elderly companion, light housework, cooking.

    Transport: If you have access to your own vehicle it's ideal, however there are options in process, one Carer brought an electric bike and uses buses, which are 3 mins to the bus stop.

    Food: We eat mostly vegetarian, however grandma is not vegetarian and is happy with anything. We buy local and organic where possible, we have a lovely farm shop 10mins walk from the house. We cook everything from fresh with the exception of a few frozen goodies like veggie sausages! Dementia means certain foods are good for the mind, for example, we only cook with olive oil or coconut oil and stay away from anything too processed! A healthy diet keeps the eyes and soul bright!

    Experience: Experience with caring and housekeeping is necessary, as well as a background check and references or if you have reviews on your profile related to similar work, that's fine.

    Key points:
    - You must be a calm and tidy person
    - Have experience in caring, dementia or housekeeping- I will offer training on dementia awareness.
    - non-smoking household, my grans slightly asthmatic, so no smokers sorry.
    - you must be happy to sit with an elderly person for a time without getting bored, this means chatting, drawing and being active, or going for a walk together etc.
    - You must like organising and making things beautiful!
    *We will do a trial for 1 month
    - We are 20mins drive from Swansea, so easy to pop into the shops and get a train

    If you love art and nature, and tranquility, and like reading or writing or work part time online, this job will be perfect for you, there is nothing like swimming in the sea, then having a cuppa with grandma and a giggle, and curling up with a blanket in the attic rooms to read a book or work on your projects!

    Please write to me once you have read this and think it might be a job for you. Please say the word 'Eagle' in the first sentence so I can filter out people who are copy-pasting their messages.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will be welcomed into our joyfull community, we love to laugh and we have vibrant network of friends who visit and I am the 'hairy godmother' of a cocker spaniel puppy called Cadi, who also frequently visits us. You will get to know people within the Gower community, we often go out and sing together in caves or at the beach or do BBQ's in the garden. Gower is one of the UK'S top holiday destinations, so this is a chance for you to explore the Gower which is beautiful all year round. I am studying in Devon so there we may rent a cottage all together up here for a few weeks maybe a month at some point as grandma loves Devonshire cream tea!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our family are looking for someone who is looking for a long-term job, the conditions are minimum 6 months.
    Your job would consist of keeping my gran companion in the mornings, she has her long term memories and has lived and taught in Nigeria and has lot's of stories! as well as light house work and cooking.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Either the attic or a garden extension which is currently an art studio, we will need to discuss options if you want to live-in.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Everything the Gower and Wales has to offer. We have a big beach culture, Swansea is a sea-side town, and also plenty of historic places and pubs to explore. Now that things are opening up there is also a great music scene in Swansea, our local town, and further afield great places in Cardiff, Bristol and London, which are all on a direct train lines that start from Swansea. I'm often going to events like cacao or ecstatic dance, art workshops, ceremonies etc. and you are welcome to join my adventures

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I really encourage people to have their own projects and work, I work online as well as in person and have a studio-space downstairs for creative work. It is quiet, looking out at the garden and a great working environment.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    A car will fit on our driveway and there is a parking space where the village tends to park larger vans 1 min walk up the road.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Please talk to me about this to consider it!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    We can discuss this. You will have a good amount of free time.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 168655485155