DIY help needed in the beautiful village of Eymet, Dordogne, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 179 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.09.2020

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Mark and Paul, together with Toby our black Labrador/X. We have bought a house in Eymet in the Dordogne area of SW France and opened for our 1st season in April 2019.

    We lived in London for 20+ years: Paul was a secondary school Deputy Head Teacher, specialising in History and Classics. Mark was a retail buyer and product manager.

    Toby our Labrador/X is our pride and joy - he is now 5 years old but is still very puppy like - he likes to play with his toys, brings you a cuddly toy when you come home, and enjoys countryside walks. He and his 8 siblings were rescued with their mother at 1 day old, and has become a huge part of our life.

    You should therefore have experience of being in a house with a dog !

    We moved to France in 2015, and rented a house for 3 years in which we ran a B&B and so we are now excited to have bought our own house which is our B&B.

    Eymet is a large village, around 30 mins south of Bergerac and 1hr30 east of Bordeaux. The village itself has lovely bars, restaurants, and small shops, as well as a weekly market. There are lots of lovely places to visit in the local area.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Workawayers would have plenty of time to explore the magnificent area of this part of SW France.

    Eymet is a wonderful bastide town surrounded by lovely countryside. The town itself has a good mix of both French residents and English speaking expats, so there will always be someone to chat to if you go out for a drink or meal.

    Bergerac is 30mins drive away and Bordeaux about 90mins by train.

    The area is great for cycling, running, walking (both with and without a dog !)

    We are a friendly sociable couple and we hope would enjoy your stay with us, as well as enjoying the area in which we live

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking to host a single person or couple for 1 or 2 weeks during September to December 2020 to help us with a particular project to render a small outside wall in our garden and repaint it. Ideally we need someone with prior experience with this type of work - we will provide all the materials and be the willing labourers, but as we haven't done this before, we need someone who can lead the way and show us by example.

    There will always be other small DIY type jobs to be done around the house if time permits.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our house is split over 2 floors :

    On the Ground floor is an entrance hall, kitchen, living room/dining room, conservatory, as well as our bedroom/shower room

    On the 1st floor are 3 x bedrooms, each with ensuite shower room/WC and also a guest sitting room

    We have a small garden to relax in.

    Workawayers will have their own bedroom and ensuite bathroom on the 1st floor (one of the B&B rooms) , but will of course have access to the whole house.

    We look forward to sharing our house with you - Paul is a great cook, but he would love to have someone help with cooking from time to time

    Mark is a hopeless cook, but is good at loading the dishwasher, and serving a cold beer or wine to the chef !

    Please note the WHOLE house AND garden are non-smoking. There is good wi-fi throughout the house.

    We are not vegetarians and enjoy cooking meals with chicken/red meat, so if you are a vegetarian, we would not be right hosts for you. We enjoy the fine wine that France has to offer so tee-totallers would also not be the right fit with us.

    We try to be neat and tidy - (as much as one can be with a young Labrador) and bearing in mind that we are doing work on the house !! and so we are looking to accommodate workawayers who are of a similar outlook.

    The house is a 2 min walk to the centre of the village which has lovely bars, restaurants and small shops

    We have so far hosted 2 x workaway couples, and both times, we very much enjoyed the experience. Indeed, the second couple enjoyed staying with us so much, that over the course of 2016, they stayed with us on 4 x different occasions !!

    We hope to offer an enjoyable, friendly household and hope you will come and stay with us

    Mark & Paul & Toby

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Eymet is 30 mins from Bergerac or Marmande (both with railway stations ) - so we are more than happy to collect you if you are coming to Eymet by train. Our garden has space for a motorbike to be safely stored at night and there is lots of free parking right outside the house if you do bring your own car.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have good wifi throughout the house - the speed can vary but generally very good (typically 5 - 20 Mbs) but fine for home working. The bedrooms each have a desk/chair.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day, 5 days per week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 146192134865