Hilf mit Hunden in Alaska

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 1338 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    38  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    08.08.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello, my name is Elijah my girlfriend's name is Nicole. This is my story:

    My father came up to Alaska to mush a family of dogs through the vast wilderness of Alaska. This was my father's legacy and his life long dream, and it was what some people call a "Spiritual Journey". He was only about two years into completing his legacy and then one early April morning, I got a phone call phone call from a fellow dog musher. This fellow musher began to explain that my father had passed away and told me that there were 56 of his unsocialized, aggressive Chow/ Akita mixes left without an owner. All of them were on 4-foot chains and outside in -30 below weather.

    The musher called me to see what he should do with all of them. He mentioned that I could either come up to Alaska to save them (I was living in LA), or Animal Control could put them all down and just save the puppies. Fear and sadness ran through my body like an electric shock. My life changed in that exact moment, because I decided to do what was right for the dogs, and my family. I decided to hop on the next plane to Alaska. I moved into my fathers trailer and took over my father's legacy with these dogs. These dogs are my family, and I am seeing it through till the end.

    This all happened about 10 years ago. Since then, some of the dogs have been adopted out, and some have passed away. Today, Nicole and I house 16 of these same dogs. After A LOT of hard work, time and dedication, they are all inside, off chains, out of the elements and they are all very well cared for. Because of Workaway and getting them off of their 4 foot chains, they have all been socialized and are all very sweet and loving. They are all between the ages of 11-15 years old and we are just giving them the most love and attention we can before they journey home to another universe. They live downstairs, in our unfinished 40 x 60 foot warehouse.

    It has been through the kindness of strangers and the compassion of animal lovers that has allowed this situation to continue forward. It is through these experiences that we have finally come to file for a Not For Profit 501 C3, called the Planetary Health Zone, where we hope to continue to channel compassionate animal volunteers to make a difference to these animals, as well as other animals in need, in the state of Alaska.

    Currently, we are looking for volunteers who want to hang out and care for our 16 dogs. We are looking for someone who is self reliant and can find and do projects on their own. A digital nomad is ideal!


    We are looking for volunteers with experience in (but not limited to):
    - Fundraising
    - Non-profit experience
    - Construction
    - Graphic design
    - Social media
    - Editing
    - Animal rights activism
    - Creative writing

    We are finally at a turning point with the dogs and the building itself. We are establishing a good cause that we want to see last for 100 years.

    Projects to complete:

    -Finish the downstairs kitchen and house projects. Our house that we live in is about 80% finished. We would like to make a lager kitchen to house and cook for more volunteers.

    - Fundraising/Website work: We have been doing it alone for so long. Now, we are hoping to find compassionate people around the world that would like to donate to a good cause.

    This situation is very dynamic and has many places to help out. Tell me about yourself what you are good at and how you think you could help. Being a LAID BACK/ EASY GOING ANIMAL LOVER AND SPENDING LOTS OF TIME WITH OUR DOGS IS ESSENTIAL TO US.

    If you are interested in experiencing Alaska and helping out with a good cause, along with making a big difference in the lives of these elderly dogs, as well as my own, please contact me.

    Be Well. Elijah.


    -------I DO NOT ACCEPT ANYONE UNDER THE AGE OF 21---------------
    -NICOLE AND I DO NOT DRINK ALCOHOL, AND WE DO NOT WANT IT IN OUR HOME--------------

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    petting dogs, feeding dogs, walking dogs, pet training, grooming dogs, cleaning up dog poop, fundraising, office help (filming/editing/transcribing), cleaning, media internet outreach, Facebook updates, LOVING THE DOGS and our 4 CATS.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Shared warehouse space with shared bedroom above kennel. Internet, laundry, kitchen and creative space.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Things to do with time off: See Anchorage, Hatcher Pass, Norther Lights (winter), go fishing, hiking, canoeing, berry picking, bicycle, bowling, movie theater, Eklutna

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Max 25 hours a week

Elijah, Nicole, Suzanna, Guen and Omi
Overlooking the downstairs from the upstairs. Yes, there is a huge net to relax on after a days work. There is also an exercise bike and a stair climbing machine to those that want to workout. We also have a projector that plays DVD's and VHS's. Movie time with the dogs is a common occurrence.
Kitchen. This will be one of our next big projects happening here.
Upstairs
Laundry, Sink and upstairs bathroom to the right.
These are four packs/groups of dogs that can go outside together.
GUENAVIER!
A fellow Workaway giving miss Guenavier some love and attention. This is by far one of the most important jobs to do around here.
SUNNY BOY!
Jamba enjoying life and is gratefull she is no longer attached to a 4 foot chain.
Blue!
Chena, playing in the snow!
OMI!
L.G. (Little Guy, flying high!)
SHIVA BOYY!

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 141881521341