Gardening and cottage maintenance in the beautiful Dorset & Somerset countryside in England, UK



Bisher 221 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    69.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    In Summer 2020 ... we would welcome a COUPLE or a PAIR OF FRIENDS - travelling together to come and stay and help for a few weeks or so. There could be an opportunity to stay for longer - if the environment and relationship works for both of us. A month would be ideal for us.
    My name is Laura and my family and myself live in the beautiful Dorset & Somerset countryside in the South West of England. There are three children in their 20's who come home sometimes...when not studying or travelling. Hence, from time to time, we have spare bedrooms ! We have a soppy family dog called Whoopie Doo who is very entertaining and loves visitors and who likes to go for playful walks. We live in a rural, detached house with a garden full of fruit trees. There are farm animals and horses all around us.

    We are situated in the WEST COUNTRY - 2 hours from London and close to the historic towns of Wincanton & Sherborne & Shaftesbury. There is a mainline station in our village TEMPLECOMBE - from where you can get anywhere. Our house is a 5 minute walk to the station. The trains run about every 30 minutes in all directions and there are also local buses. We can provide a bike so you can cycle too....although you will need to understand basic bike maintenance... be able pump up your own tyres etc. We have use of a car for those of you who are insurable... with correct driving licence credentials and age etc

    Local sightseeing is good: Stonehenge is not far away (40 mins). Bath & Salisbury about an hour away. The nearest south coast beaches & harbours (Poole, Bournemouth, Bridport, ) are approx a 75 minute drive. We have some lovely historic towns around us with fascinating architecture like...Bruton & Sherborne.

    At home we are needing some general maintenance help around the house and garden. There might be lifting and moving objects and furniture as we plan to paint some areas of the house this summer - and they may need to be emptied of furniture first...into another space. Any experience with painting walls would be very useful. A couple preferring manual tasks and not minding being outside and who have practical skills would be best suited for this volunteering. We have both hand and power tools and gardening tools (lawnmower, strimmer etc) and it would help if volunteers are happy to use these.

    The most important skills are a positive attitude and to be physically fit.
    Obviously we would prefer you to have some English but we appreciate you are coming to the UK to further your English conversation skills.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    - You could improve your English.
    - Understand English family life from a family home
    - Understand doggycare by helping to look after WHOOPIE-DOO.
    - Learn a bit about British cooking
    - Visit local landmarks like Stonehenge & Bath
    - Improve your DIY skills
    - Experience driving or cycling in the UK
    - Laugh and have some fun with us.

  • Arbeit


    Now actively looking for volunteers for Summer 2020 to help with a big tidy-up and preparation of the house and our storage area. This could involve, for instance, putting together instant shelving requiring handling nuts and bolts.
    Possibly a HIM & HER?
    Would suit two healthy and strong persons travelling together - who like fresh air and don't mind physical and manual tasks... and can work together. Much of the help required would be in our small garden or in or outside of our HOUSE.

    If one of the couple had good CARPENTRY & TIMBER CONSTRUCTION professional level skills with proven experience - and could use most power tools this would be amazing and we would be prepared to pay extra for this. The rate would be £10 per hour...or a fixed project cost. There are several WOODWORKING jobs that require a skilled & experienced woodworker

    Otherwise, help would be appreciated with house, garden , general maintenance and re-constructing storage areas.. Previous experience of using lawn mowers / hedge trimmers/ pressure washers screwdrivers, etc would be useful. Also maybe some window cleaning.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Accommodation is in our 4 bed house and you would have ... a double Guest Bedroom with bathroom - with both bath and shower.
    (the bathroom is for your own use unless any of the children come home for a few days...which does sometimes happen). There is also a twin room available with 2 single beds if this experience appeals to 2 friends travelling togther or say, 3 persons.

    The kitchen and cooking areas are shared with the family. Catering would be mutually organised with myself mainly producing most of the evening meals and usually I manage lunch too. You can also organise breakfast and lunch yourselves - from the larder/fridge. Also... we are very happy for you to produce some meals in the evening and you would need to advise us about what foods you would need us to buy. (We prefer not to have fried fish and/or strong curries cooked inside the house...this would need to be be on the outdoor BBQ).
    Usually we all dine together and have language conversation practice.

    If you fit the profile of the volunteers we are seeking ...we can email more information to you in order to help you decide if this could be a good volunteering experience for you.

    The internet in our home is a good and offers unlimited access for phone and data and downloads. It is especially good for running 'What's App' for phone calls. There is no limit to the downloading. We have mobile signal depending on who your provider is. Vodafone and EE are both very good.

    Obviously you may need to quarantine when you first come to the UK and this could be possible as we can accommodate you at another house for the required two weeks.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Depending on your nationality and language we might be able to fix up mutual language conversation-improving sessions with friends and neighbours. If you are trying to improve your English, that is?

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    4 hours a day, 5 days a week or 25pp hours a week split some other way

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 138121214359