Stay in a Tree House in Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica and help us with our French

Country

Costa Rica

Bisher 125 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.04.2022

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a Spanish/English fluent family of three who has lived in Puerto Jiménez for over 4 years. In addition to schooling our six-year old son, we work with a local NGO with whom we founded a community center and renovated the local library. We are a drug-free and waste-free family --excepting the occasional toke and the occasional old appliance we can't recycle. We value community, environment, equality, education, and peace.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    In 2018 we renovated the local library (administered by the NGO), and founded an educationally-focused community center in the middle of town. We are always in need of volunteers, and for those who are interested, we can most certainly put you to work! We can also connect you with everything that is happening in town, as well as help you plan your time in the Osa. We are fluent in English and Spanish.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Hola! We are looking for french speakers to help our six-year old son and me (dad) on our journey to french fluency. We do not demand professional teachers or even people with teaching experience. What's most important to us is positive, family-friendly energy. Both of us are intermediate speakers, enthusiastic learners (my son is an absolute dream to teach) and we have a respectable collection of french-language materials already, so no lesson-plans are necessary. I am looking for conversation classes, and my son thrives simply by playing while using the French language. Total instruction time : 3 hours/day.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will be staying in a treehouse built into the largest tree in Puerto Jiménez. We are right in town, just a few minutes' walk from the main supermarket, but we are set back from the road so that our property feels private. The treehouse is reached by one set of normal stairs and then one set of steep stairs, and may not be appropriate for everyone! The treehouse has electricity (an overhead fan, a bedside light) and is furnished with a hammock and a comfortable double-bed protected by an insect net (although, honestly, insects aren't much a problem). Our home internet reaches the treehouse (most of the time!). BUT! There is no bathroom! You will have access to the main house and can use the bathroom there (although #1 can be accomplished from up in the branches). You also have access to an outdoor shower, as well as the house shower, refrigerator, and water. As far as privacy, it's probably important to know the tree-house walls only a 1.3 meters high, but when the leaves are on the tree, no-one can see you; and, when the leaves are off the tree, you are still well hidden. All in all, you will definitely not feel exposed.

    Food: you are invited to breakfast and dinner. We eat very well, definitely on the healthy side, but we are not vegetarian. We also eat on a very fixed schedule. Breakfast always includes eggs, smoothie, and coffee, and sometimes platanos, and about twice a week: bacon/sausage. Dinner varies greatly, but it's no exaggeration to say it's the best meal in town, and by a fair margin. You're free to provide your own wine/beer. We will ask for help with prep/clean-up.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are in a prime location for swimming, rainforest hiking, kayaking, bird-watching, monkey-watching, surfing, and naturalist training. It's really hard to explain just how incredible the nature is here. We strongly recommend you rent a bike in town ($10/day) because then you are 10 minutes away from all these activities (except surfing, which is a 30 minute bike ride away). Unfortunately, we don't have a spare bike at present, or we would happily loan it. However, we are happy to recommend both free and guided activities. It may be worth noting that Jimenez is not much of a party town, and those who come here looking for that scene are oft disappointed. However, it is a unique place, about 50 years behind Europe, for better and worse, and fwiw it reminds me of a Latin American Twin Peaks.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    3 hours/day, 5 days


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 134239272176