Off-Grid Permaculture Farm, Homesteading family, developing community, near Bundaberg, Australia

  • Bisher 139 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 3 März 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    We are Jeremy and Jocelyn, a young couple with 3 active kids Tahlia, 9, Emmett, 6 and Arabella, 18 months old.

    We have recently bought 160 acres of farmland, and we have a pretty big vision for it!

    There’s not much here yet, mostly just an old open machinery shed, some cattle yards and a couple of caravans ready to renovate!
    Over the last 6 months we’ve put in water tanks, built composting toilets, cleared up a few spaces, set up a camp kitchen space in the old shed and will very soon have outdoor hot water showers!

    We’ve got lots of different animals, (including goats, pigs, a handful of sheep, cows, turkeys, geese, Guinea fowl, lots of chickens, a horse and a donkey! - which all keep us busy! And lots and lots of projects on the go!

    We’re planning on setting up a campground, hosting lots of various workshops, including permaculture gardening, syntropic food forests as well as eco buildings - all as we develop them on the land! We’re aiming to set up a beautiful intentional community, so options to stay on longer term are available to those who resonate with us and the vision 💖

    We have previously travelled overseas for 4 months with a 2.5 year old, where we had many great experiences with Workaway across Europe and also loved hosting volunteers for 2 years when we returned home to Tassie! We've really enjoyed the company and certainly appreciated the help! We really love having people around!
    Before settling on the farm here, we were travelling around Australia for 3.5 years in our old caravan and absolutely loved it!

    We’re still in the caravan now, while we get things set up here 💗

    Jeremy is a plumber and gas fitter, who loves music and martial arts (Brazilian Juijitsu is his favourite!) he’s also studying his certificate 3 & 4 in fitness and will soon be teaching BJJ at the local hall.

    Jocelyn is a teacher/child carer, fitness instructor, swim instructor, kids and family yoga, meditation and mindfulness teacher and life coach - and we home school and plan to soon host bush kindy here as well!

    We also have a friendly little lap dog, Freyja a snuggly Cavalier King Charles Spaniels. And a young very friendly Mareema dog, who is our livestock guardian.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There is so much to learn in regards to the animals and all of the various gardening and building projects we will soon have going on. Your own ideas and initiatives are also very welcome. Jocelyn is currently studying her Permaculture Design Certificate and is happy to teach you as we go and we’re also both very keen learners and would love if you would like to teach us something that’s of interest to you.

    We would love for you to co-create something wonderful with us here!

    Jeremy is quite musical and is happy to give some basic lessons in guitar, base and mandolin ;)

    I’m happy to share my knowledge on my quest for healthy and sustainable eating, living and traveling.

    We're happy to involve you in our daily life so you'll get to meet locals and see how we live :) There’s a local art class on Tuesday afternoons for $5 that Jocelyn attends and you’re welcome to join. We plan to head to 1770 each Wednesday for a homeschool group catch up, and you’d be welcome to join us there or explore for the day if desired

    You are welcome to any produce grown on the farm (there’s usually plenty of fresh eggs available!) and we stock heaps of sweet potatoes that you’re very welcome to! We also enjoy sharing meals and eating together, we can discuss arrangements in regards to meals - we can’t currently provide meals, but we are often happy to cook extra for you with our family meals, or we’d also love it if you might like to cook a meal for us to share and we can provide ingredients - we do eat a healthy diet of whole foods and avoid processed or very high carbohydrate foods, especially for the kids (please don’t share any bread or sugary foods with them ;) - fruit, vege, meat are fine :) ).

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Some of the projects we’ll have going include:

    * Fencing
    * Weeding
    * Clearing Lantana
    * Removing some barbed wire fences
    * Cleaning up and renovating two old caravans
    * Animal care - feeding and watering, sometimes moving their fencing onto new pastures
    * Building animal shelters and poultry coops
    * Gardening, planting, soon harvesting, etc
    * Whipper snipping
    * Eco buildings
    * AirCrete dome
    * Building with recycled materials and pallets
    * Building shelves and a camp kitchen
    * Cooking
    * Food processing & preserving produce
    * Fermenting
    * Playing with kids
    * Building playgrounds for the children and goats!

    If there is anything at all you don't feel comfortable with or simply don't want to do, no problem! We like to be as welcoming, accommodating and easy going as possible!

    Work hours are also quite flexible, we tend to like to get stuck in during the mornings over the warmer months particularly, but depending on the task, we’re not too fussed and you’ll have quite a lot of autonomy. We appreciate initiative and will have a list of jobs on a small whiteboard in the shed that you can choose from to complete, some working alongside one of us, some you can do independently when you choose to, but we certainly don't want you to feel pressured and we completely understand that this is your holiday too! We are currently asking 7 hours per week per adult, divided amongst couples however you choose, in the times that suit you and on projects you wish to undertake! There is no expected start time and you are flexible to work whenever suits you. We don’t log work hours around here ;) We trust you to contribute as much as you deem fit and are happy with - we like to provide a fair and rewarding exchange - with lots of opportunities to participate in things of interest to you ☺️

    Families are very welcome and there’s many little things for the kids to get involved in if they wish 💖

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We would love to learn some other languages! We have some basic Deutsch and a few other bits and pieces. Jeremy is great at picking up languages! Jocelyn struggles a little more… we’re very happy to help you with practicing English and we’d absolutely love it if you’d like to teach our kids some bits a pieces of any languages you know!

  • Unterkunft


    At this stage we can only really welcome people with their own accommodation, though we do also have a 6m Bell Tent that can be set up for glamping, and later we should have a caravan or two available, and we’ll be building the main /community house in the coming months. Please reach out and we’ll see what we can organise for you :)

    We have just finished building some composting toilets and are about to start on some outdoor gas hot water showers

    We have tank water, both rain and drinkable bore water (tested) - with two solar bores and 4 or 5 dams on the property

    There’s also a shallow creek towards the back of the property which is lovely to spend time by, and there’s a permanent water hole at the beginning, which you could likely swim in, or have a go in the kayaks! (You’re also welcome to camp back there if you wish).

    We are off grid, but have solar set up in the shed for charging and washing machine etc (please only use the washing machine while the sun is shining on the roof of the shed - approx 10am-3pm during winter months - there’s a big shady tree that casts shadows in the arvo)

    You’ll also have access to an outdoor gas oven with stove top, big BBQ and fire pits with cooking plates

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We’re located in Rosedale, about 40 minutes from Bundaberg, where you can see turtles nesting and hatchlings emerging from November up until the end of March at Mon Repos (amazing experience!)

    We’re 50mins from Agnes Waters, and 20mins from Baffle creek.

    We’re only 5 mins out of the small country town of Rosedale, which has a pub with nice affordable meals, a little coffee shop, general store, hardware and post office, playground, school, etc

    And there’s great fishing and crabbing at Baffle Creek about 20mins or so away

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes! We’re very flexible and so is your time and the tasks you work on - we’ll have a long list of projects to choose from and would love you to help out with anything you feel called to - sometimes working on your own, sometimes with us on a project, sometimes playing with the kids (if you’d like to!) while we get stuck into a job - but you’ll also have plenty of time to do your own thing as well of course

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have plenty of spaces for you to park your van/bus etc with as much privacy as you like, or closer to us and the animals if you’d rather :)

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Pets are welcome, as long as they don’t chase the livestock and can get along with the other dogs here Cats will need to be contained and not free roaming, as we would also like to protect the wildlife

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Currently asking 7 hours a week per adult - in whatever time frame that suits

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 132234791293

Feedback (11)

Weitere Bilder


Join our family for culture exchange and deeper bond to become friends for life in Wodonga, regional Australia
Helfer, die sich fur Lehmbau, Earthship und ökologischem Landbau interessieren, in Chinchilla, Australien, gesucht!