Looking for someone who is enthusiastic and creative to come and join our exciting project in Southern Normandy, France!

updated
Country

France

Favourited 219 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    656

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for someone who is enthusiastic and creative to come and join our exciting project in Southern Normandy!

    We have bought a beautiful 6 bedroom house in 'Le Perche' in Normandy, with 3.5 acres of land. We have renovated most of the house (with the help of Workaway!) but there are still lots of 'finishing jobs' and lots to do in the garden and outbuildings. We have just started work in 'La Petite Maison', which is a small gatehouse at the bottom of the drive. We're hoping to renovate this into a two bedroom Gite.

    This summer, I want to get some chickens and possibly a goat, but first they need a little house! So anyone with these skills would be very welcome indeed!

    I am a doctor, but am currently taking a career break to get the house ready. My husband is in the army and is based in Germany at the moment, but he will come and join us for weekends when he can. We have a 3 year old daughter, called Viola, who is full of life and the happiest little person I know. We have a dog, called Aloysius (or shi-shi for short!), who is a German Shorthaired Pointer. He needs lots of exercise and loves joining people on runs or bike rides.... the faster the better! He's very very friendly and completely soft, so soft that our cats are the boss of him! We have two cats, Gustav and Beatrix, who are very friendly.

    The house itself is an old 'Maison de Maître' and was built in 1845. It is structurally sound, but just needed decorating. We live in a small village, but the nearest town is 5 mins drive away, where there is a supermarket, lots of shops, cafés and a few restaurants. The market on Saturdays is beautiful and bustling. Le Perche is a National park, known for it's beauty. The forests and countryside are second to none. Our village is very quiet (no shops or bars), so if you’re after somewhere with lots of nightlife, then we are probably not for you! However, if you love the countryside, a slower pace of life etc, then continue reading!

    We are 1.5 hours from Caen port. There is a train to Paris from L'Aigle (half an hour drive), which takes 1hr 15mins and there are lots of towns around us that are worth exploring. The battlefields of the Second World War are approx 1.5 hours away.

    We are looking for someone to join our family for a few weeks/months. We need some help with jobs in the house or the garden (3.5 acres of it!) and general help around the house (ie cleaning, cooking, perhaps watching Viola and walking the dog). We have not yet had any tourists come and stay with us, but once the house is ready then it would be great to have some help with that too. In return, we offer a bedroom with a shared bathroom and all food/drink. We are an English family but will often speak French with friends in the village. Viola understands both English and French. My husband also speaks German and a bit of Spanish. We would be very happy to help you with your language.... be that English or French!

    We are looking for an enthusiastic and creative person, ready to join us for our project in the south of Normandy. Someone who is willing to 'muck in' and contribute to our home and family. We have had such a wonderful experience with all of our workawayers so far and look forward to meeting the next group!

    Please get in touch if you would like to know more information. We look forward to meeting you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come and live with an English family in France! Be a part of an exciting new project and help get a business up and running. Learn about the history of Normandy, especially with regards to the Second World War. Explore the beautiful area of Le Perche. Improve your English or French and be part of a busy family.

  • Help

    Help

    Decorating and general help with renovating the house, especially looking for anyone with carpentry skills.
    Our Drawing Room needs some attention - I would like to build a kitsch cocktail bar in it - somewhere fun to go after supper!
    Help with building a chicken coop and possibly an enclosure for a goat.
    Help in the garden - perhaps helping build a vegetable patch, compost, herb garden or bug hotel! Would love someone with an interest in trees as we have quite the forest! I would also like to create an orchard. We have not done any real work in the garden as yet, so anyone with an interest in garden design or landscaping would be very welcome.
    Walking our dog and help with feeding the animals
    Occasionally babysitting
    Household tasks eg cleaning and cooking, changing beds etc,

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with shared bathroom... you might be asked to move bedrooms if we need to decorate the one you're in or if we have guests staying.

    We like to eat together as a family. I love to cook but it's always nice to have some help. You would be more than welcome to cook too and show us some of your cuisine. With previous workawayers, we have done a rota for lunch and suppers, which was great and a fun way of trying new foods.

    I am pretty easy going as a host but I do have one rule... no mobile phones/tablets at the table! Some of our best times during workaway have been meal times and this has only been possible, I believe, because people have been ‘present’.... call me a Granny if you will, but I won’t budge on this rule! 😊

    We are meat eaters, but not very often... perhaps once or twice a week. We have had lots of workawayers stay with us who have been vegetarian and we’re very happy to go veggie if you would rather.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would be looking for 5hours work a day, 5 days a week, as a maximum.

    In your free time you can explore the local area or just relax in the house. It is preferable if you have your own car as we live in a small village with limited transport options, although I usually go to the main town once a day and can happily take you in if you need. We also have 3 bikes at the house, which you would be welcome to use.

    You can travel North to the coast (1.5 hour drive) to learn about the battles that took place on the Normandy beaches in the Second World War.

    We have had a fair few workawayers now and have absolutely loved having them to stay. The atmosphere in the house has been great, lots of laughter and the house has progressed hugely with their help.

    We are now absolutely positive that workaway is for us and are very keen to continue this wonderful experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our beautiful kitchen is completely unrecognisable thanks to the hard work of our amazing workawayers.
The amazing Liv and Brenton from Australia x
Alice with Zoe & Jenny from Taiwan, sanding and painting cupboards for the kitchen.
Michael and Samantha (& their dog Annie) from the US having a well earned cider after picking lots of redcurrants!
Bastille Day celebration with workawayers and some French friends.
Viola pulling her weight!
Aloysius posing on the stairs
Gustav enjoying the view on a misty morning.
The house in the snow, February 2018
About to sit down for some lunch.
Some of the workawayers learning how to make pasta!
Alice and the workawayers tiling the shower room.
Lucas, one of our workawayers, helping Alice with making some curtains (3.5m long, gold crushed velvet... not very easy!) and Viola wanting to get involved too....!
The day we picked up the keys!
Viola and I at a lake, 10 mins drive from our house.




















Host ref number: 842263475699