Can you help me with some building, and hay making on my farm in foothills of the Comeragh Mountains Ireland

aktualisiert
Country

Irland

Bisher 38 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.06.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello, I live on a 55acre farm in the foothills of the Comeragh mountains. The main project I'd like some help with is constructing a loft apartment in the farm's main barn - we're a good way done - mostly woodwork, but also painting and finishing. We also need to erect a steel staircase up to it, and roof a separate building.
    I have recently broken my ribs so I need help with lots of jobs I'd normally be able to do on the farm. The big one coming up is haymaking hopefully coming up in early june. So if any of you could help with that and some of the building work in first three weeks of June I'd really appreciate it.
    But there will be plenty of other jobs that can be done too. Such as working with my breeding herd of Kerry Bog ponies, stone wall building, hedging, gardening, maintaining trees, general maintenance and what ever else comes up. So lots of variety and opportunities to learn new skills and with a song in your heart you'll probably enjoy yourself here, even if the work is demanding sometimes.
    Your accommodation will be an old stone cottage which I have lived in for nearly 40 years with my family, but I now live in a cabin up the fields, so you can relax in peace, when the works done. Good home cooked food will keep you and me going. Its a quiet location with amazing walks and views, about 9 miles from the town of Clonmel, Either I or my neighbours, who are a kind lot, can give you a lift if you want to get there. Clonmel is well connected to public transport.
    I may be a new host to workaway, with only four to stay so far, but I was a volunteer host for over 14 years continually when my two girls were young and I have worked as a volunteer too. So I hope you'll find my farm welcoming.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The area around my farm is traditional rural Ireland. Being a hilly and mountainous area it has not been 'modernised' as much as other parts of Ireland. There is plenty to explore, castles, old cottages, Irish music, and craic in the pubs about. The farm is 20km from the beautiful rugged and beached coast, and Dungarvan the nearest town on the coast is an old harbour town and is on the e.dge of a Gaeltacht region

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Anybody who likes to work with their hands will find plenty to do. It also will be helpful if you are open to learning new things. Experience is not necessary but willingness and joy are.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    english

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Stone cottage with open fire and range to keep it good and cosy

    I will supply the food for all meals. Mostly vegetarian but can cater for other diets generally. main meal will be eaten together and the rest can be worked out to suit

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I have farmed organically for 30 years and I am constantly exploring new ways to understand sustainability - a very complex subject!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 767395173348