Help us with permaculture, agroforest work and other tasks in Tatuí, a town southwest of São Paulo, Brazil

Country

Brazil

updated  

Favourited 463 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Fabrício and I live in Tatuí, a pitoresque town located 100km southwest of São Paulo.

    Tatuí has such a historical and cultural legacy.
    - It’s almost 200 years old,
    - it was the first city in Brazil to have electricity,
    - we were the first place in Brazil to abolish slavery years before it was abolished nationwide,
    -we use to have the world’s largest natural Christmas Tree,
    -the Tropic of Capricorn crosses exactly here,
    -The town also hosts the biggest music school in South America! There are aproximately 4000 musicians and artists studying and living here,
    - there’s a public university where the subject of Phonographic Production is taught. The largest public recording studio of South America is here..
    - we are on a Atlantic Forest area, which is one of the worlds most endemic, biodiverse and vulnerable forests which makes here an environmental hotspot.

    We are known as "caipiras" (that's where the word caipirinha comes from) so our history is strongly related to the land.

    I decided back in 2012 to leave the madness of São Paulo to a farm on the rural area of Tatuí, in order to help preserve wildlife and to develop sustainability on different levels, from organic food producing, permacultural practices, healthy cooking and bioarquitecture.

    About me, your host, I studied International Relations and started a post-degree on Environment Management. I like meditating, cooking (vegan chef), yoga, singing, I've studied astrology and worked as an English teacher for years - I still teach private classes. I have a passion for the unconventional and I am very creative. I like hosting and interacting. Mutual respect and a good sense of responsibility is a must.

    I’m guided by the logic that abundance is the key to peace. Therefore, Permacultural practices are put into work to achieve a more sustainable, abundant and inclusive future. Im happy to serve great food and a full cultural food experience, to provide room for education, workshops, meditation, music and music festivals, collaboration and vegetarianism - always respecting people's stages of development regarding that.

    I expect volunteers to give their best but no previous experience is required. The minimum stay is a month aproximately. It’s a good balance between having a good time and not making it hard for me to explain how things work too often.

    I’ve been hosting for two years now and more than 30 people from 20+ different countries have come to share their lights here.

    LGBTQ+ community is totally welcome here 🏳️‍🌈

    The area has 96.000m² and a third of it is original preserved forest. Many animals find shelter here and it's not unnusual for us to see anteaters, iraras, quatis, armadillos, toucans, parrots... There are even felines such as the beautiful jaguar, mountain lion, jaguatirica just to name a few... There’s an anteater living in the camping 💜
    Empathy and respect for all living creatures is the place’s mantra 😉.

    Activities around here range mostly from the simple upkeeping of the farm to agroforest food production. There is an eco-house here and an ongoing development of new bioconstructing materials and techniques.

    What help is needed:
    - permacultural practices, farming
    -woodwork
    - workshop assistance (helping to host a group or even teaching a skill you have and like sharing)
    - bioarchitecture (cob, treehouse, wood etc, we are working on the deck right now)
    - food production
    - different art expressions
    - music events (we host music/food/sustainability events from time to time)

    Most of the work is farmwork, some woodwork experience would also be great.

    Work hours are usually from 7h30 to 12h30 Monday to Friday, depending on the demands, events and availability.

    Volunteers are expected to do their dishes and keep the place tidy. Proactivity is a must too.

    I offer breakfast and lunch on the days we work. Snacks are on the volunteers - it's a great way for people to try different stuff and support local economy, and it also lessens the pressure on me providing everything. If you can collaborate with something it's best for everyone.

    The internet is for emergencies only but town is never too far.

    I'm setting fruit production and also grains and roots, from corn to maniocs, pineapples to coconut, vanilla, avocados ... more than 100 different varieties. I’m a self taught chef and I offer a full gastronomical experience including local products and local traditional dishes made vegetarian or vegan. My cooking gets a lot of compliments and I’m happy to share my knowledge, whether with friends, customers or hosting workshops.

    The farm also hosts events and our agenda is very diversified. We support actively local artists, other farms and small producers and the events reflect that.

    We recently started working as a full time camping too for travelers who are not exchanging work for accommodation.

    If you like being in touch with nature, and want to ride the road less travelled this experience is for you.

    You can check some of our activities on Instagram @reservatatui

    Thank you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have some experience on organic farming and ecobuildings, vegetarian food, food processing, bakery.

    Nature is impressive and the weather could not be better. The soil is among the planet's richest soil, the earth here has a unique blood-red colour.

    I meditate often and sometimes friends come by so we meditate on full moons, solstice and other astrological events.

    The biggest music school in south America is here and often my musician friends meet and play here.

    I worked with tourism before so I always provide information regarding our history and culture.

    The previous volunteers loved the food.

    Weekly traditional street market (feira).

    Cachaça production place nearby where you see how it is made and also savour some great cachaça - more than 20 types

    The woods and surroundings are great for walking and trying to spot animals or bathe in the river.

    The area is great for bike riding. There are two bikes at the farm for you to use

  • Help

    Help

    Permacultural practices Woodwork/Carpentry
    Art
    Cultural Exchange
    Natural building
    Organic farming
    Music
    Events
    Therapys

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Portuguese fluently. Some basics in French and Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping- I only have one tent to lend so if you can bring yours it helps a lot!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport is super easy, you'd be 100km away from two major airports and there are bus terminals.
    There's cachaça production nearby
    We have the largest music school in Latin America here
    Parachute and baloon Center less than 20min away
    Close to Petar, the largest set of caves in the world
    Traditional festivities
    Great food low prices around town
    There's public transport to the farm so it's easy to get around

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

More than a hundred years old Copaíba tree
Native pineapple - Ananas
















Host ref number: 485218867456