Natasha & Michael

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/06/2018 - 31/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! We are Natasha and Michael, both 30 years old. I'm originally from Kent in the UK, and Michael is from Adelaide, Australia. We met in Fremantle, Western Australia in 2015 when I was on my working holiday visa in the backpackers I was working at. I was lucky enough to get sponsored managing the backpackers and this enabled me to stay in Fremantle until May this year. As my visa is drawing to an end, both myself and Michael decided it's time to hit the road and see what other beautiful places there are to visit in this world.
    We are both friendly, easy going people. We love the outside, and like to keep busy and try our best to lead a healthy, active life style. During the cooler months running is a keen interest for us, between us we have completed a few half marathons. During the summer, we enjoy camping and since we were both new to Western Australia when we met, we have spent a lot of our free time exploring this great place. Sporting events is another passion of ours, we are keen cricket and football fans and Michael was quick to introduce me to AFL (Australian football). I am definitely more about watching sports, but Michael loves playing having been part of a local Aussie rules team and a local indoor cricket team. We both love animals and hope some of the places we will encounter on our way will allow us to care for different animals :)
    Working in a backpackers has allowed us to meet people from all over the world, from all different walks of life and it has been great. This has fuelled a spark in wanting to travel more, and upon finding out about workaway, we see it as a perfect fit to meet new people on a new journey.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have worked in both hospitality/tourism and childcare. I have spent the past 2 years managing a backpackers, where I have been responsible for bookings, customer care, staffing, general housekeeping, cashing up, stock take to name but a few. Previous to this I worked in a busy café in New Zealand for almost 3 years and I have been a chalet host in the French Alps. I feel between these 3 positions, I have a wealth of experience in the hospitality/tourism industry which provides me with confidence and experience to take with me to new positions in the future.
    I studied Early Childhood Studies at University in the UK, and spent my time in the UK working in nurseries. Here I would plan individual and group activities for my designated children which would enhance the child's learning through play. I also spent a winter in the French Alps nannying for children who's families were on holiday. During my time in New Zealand, I looked after a little boy and girl together from two separate families from the age of 6 months to just before they turned 3 when I left the country.
    Michael is very hands on. He is a stonemason by trade, and specialises in restoring buildings. Being in the building industry for around 10 years, he has developed knowledge and experience in many fields in the trade. He is confident with heights, and power tools. Here in Australia he has his building licence and is able to operate a cherry picker.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    31 & 31

  • Nationality

    English and Australian

  • What else ...

    I am a vegan- please don't let this put you off if you are not vegan, or if you've not had experience with people of these requirements :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegan

Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback